
Sweet potato, raw
Checked by us One serving: 110 g (about ¾ cup cubed) · 85 kcal
Lots of vitamin A.
Nothing to watch.
Good for
How we counted this
What one serving (110 g) gives you.
Your body needs enough of each of these. Past enough, more doesn’t help. Amounts are what the food databases list, not what your body absorbs, unless a row says it was measured.
The words: “A lot” means one serving gives 20% or more of Health Canada’s daily amount, “Some” 10% to 19%, “A little” 2% to 9%, “Almost none” under 2%. Strongest word first; within a word, protein and fibre lead, then the biggest share. ?
A milligram (mg) is a thousandth of a gram, and a microgram (µg) a thousandth of a milligram: 1,000 µg make 1 mg.
- A lot
Vitamin A
Your eyes need it to see in dim light.
Learn more
Getting enough matters; more than enough doesn’t sharpen your sight.
780 µg in one serving: 87% of the 900 µg a day men need, 111% of the 700 µg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin A fact sheet for health professionals
21 more nutrients below “a lot”
- Some
Vitamin C
Your body makes collagen with it, which wounds need to heal. It also helps you absorb iron from plants.
Learn more
16.3 mg in one serving: 18% of the 90 mg a day men need, 22% of the 75 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin C fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Potassium
Your nerves, muscles and kidneys need it to work.
Learn more
535 mg in one serving: 16% of the 3,400 mg a day men need, 21% of the 2,600 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, potassium fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Vitamin B6
Helps you use protein, and your brain needs it to make its chemical messengers.
Learn more
0.14 mg in one serving: 11% of the 1.3 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin B6 fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Fibre
Keeps your gut moving.
Learn more
3.3 g in one serving: 9% of the 38 g a day men need, 13% of the 25 g women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. Institute of Medicine 2005, Dietary Reference Intakes for Energy, Carbohydrate, Fiber, Fat, Fatty Acids, Cholesterol, Protein, and Amino Acids
- A little
Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents)
More than 400 of your enzymes need it to work.
Learn more
1.18 mg in one serving: 7% of the 16 mg a day men need, 8% of the 14 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, niacin fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Magnesium
Your muscles and nerves need it to work.
Learn more
21.1 mg in one serving: 5% of the 400 mg a day men need, 7% of the 310 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, magnesium fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Riboflavin (B2)
Your cells use it to make energy and handle fats. It also helps turn tryptophan into niacin and activate vitamin B6.
Learn more
0.07 mg in one serving: 5% of the 1.3 mg a day men need, 6% of the 1.1 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, riboflavin fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Thiamin (B1)
Your cells use it to get energy from food, and so to grow and work.
Learn more
0.05 mg in one serving: 4% of the 1.2 mg a day men need, 5% of the 1.1 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, thiamin fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Zinc
Your immune system and healing wounds depend on it.
Learn more
0.37 mg in one serving: 3% of the 11 mg a day men need, 5% of the 8 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, zinc fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Protein
Your muscles, and every other tissue, are built and repaired from it.
Learn more
1.74 g in one serving: 3% of the 56 g a day men need, 4% of the 46 g women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. Institute of Medicine 2005, Dietary Reference Intakes for Energy, Carbohydrate, Fiber, Fat, Fatty Acids, Cholesterol, Protein, and Amino Acids
- A little
Folate
Your body needs it to make DNA and to divide new cells.
Learn more
12.1 µg in one serving: 3% of the 400 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, folate fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Choline
Your cells need it for their membranes, and to make acetylcholine, a messenger for memory, mood and muscle control.
Learn more
13.5 mg in one serving: 2% of the 550 mg a day men need, 3% of the 425 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, choline fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Calcium
Builds your bones and teeth.
Learn more
24.6 mg in one serving: 2% of the 1,000 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, calcium fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Iron
Carries oxygen in your blood.
Learn more
0.44 mg in one serving: 6% of the 8 mg a day men need, 2% of the 18 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, iron fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Vitamin E
Shields the fats in your cells from damage; your immune system uses it too.
Learn more
0.29 mg in one serving: 2% of the 15 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin E fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin K1
Your blood needs it to clot.
Learn more
0.22 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 120 µg a day men need, under 1% of the 90 µg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin K fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Omega-3: ALA
The one omega-3 your body can’t make: it must come from food. Your cells build it into their membranes and burn it for energy.
Learn more
1.1 mg in one serving: under 1% of the 1,600 mg a day men need, under 1% of the 1,100 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, omega-3 fatty acids fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Omega-3: EPA + DHA
Long-chain omega-3s, built into your cell membranes. DHA is concentrated in your brain and retinas.
Learn more
0 mg in one serving: under 1% of the 250 mg a day.
Health Canada sets no daily amount for these fats, so the daily figure here is the European Food Safety Authority’s.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, omega-3 fatty acids fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Selenium
Your thyroid uses it to make its hormones.
Learn more
0 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 55 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, selenium fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin B12
Your body needs it to make red blood cells and keep nerves working.
Learn more
0 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 2.4 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin B12 fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin D
Your body needs it to absorb calcium and keep your bones hard.
Learn more
Your skin also makes it in sunlight, so food is only one of its sources.
0 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 15 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin D fact sheet for health professionals
Watch out
How we counted this
Nothing here reaches a limit at ordinary amounts.
Worth knowing
No limit applies, so none is rated.
Sugar
4.6 g of sugar in a 110 g serving, natural and added together.
Learn more
Shown, not rated. The food tables we read give total sugar, and few give added sugar, so the site can’t yet tell sugar added in making a food from the sugar in fruit or milk.
Also measured in it
Figures from the dataset. None has a limit to be rated against, so none is a verdict.
Phytate, as the source gives it: roots, 9 Kenyan varieties: 0.05 g/100 g (SPK031) to 0.42 g/100 g (Vitaa); 2021 raw Kabode 0.85, SPK031 0.95, Yellowsp 0.56 g/100 g mg/100 g (dry weight (freeze-dried powder); basis for phytate not stated explicitly in the text) · Abong 2020 · grade A
Phytate (also written InsP6, IP6 or phytic acid), the form in which plants store phosphorus, is found in whole grains, beans and nuts. It binds zinc in the gut and lowers how much zinc and plant (non-heme) iron you absorb. No limit applies.
Source: NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, Zinc fact sheet · NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, Iron fact sheet
Better options
How we counted this
“Better” here always means better at something the row names: more of one nutrient, more nutrients per serving, or the goal you pick. It never means better in every way.
Every amount below is for the same weight, 110 g, the size of one serving of this food, so a swap compares like with like. A serving of another food can be bigger or smaller.
A food is listed only if it gives clearly more: at least a fifth more than this food, and at least 10% of the daily amount more.
More of what it’s good for
For vitamin A: Sweet potato, baked would lead, in the same 110 g, but is left out (Worth knowing: acrylamide).
Sweet potato, baked would lead this list, but it’s left out (Worth knowing: acrylamide).
Your goal
Your goal changes only this list, not what the food gives you or what to watch.
Losing weight: fewer calories, and more nutrients, protein and fibre for each calorie.
Sweet potato, baked would lead this list, but it’s left out (Worth knowing: acrylamide).
Building muscle: more protein and more calories, per 100 g. In a typical diet most protein comes from other foods; among starchy sides, these help most.
Whole-wheat bread12.3 g protein · 254 kcal per 100 g
White bread, toasted9 g protein · 290 kcal per 100 g
Quinoa, cooked4.4 g protein · 120 kcal per 100 g
Why some foods aren’t suggested
Left out: Sweet potato, baked (Worth knowing: acrylamide).
Bring a tracker export or describe your usual week. The same rules check all of it.
The numbers
Open every value
Name in the database: Sweet potato, raw
How the serving was set: 110 g (Health Canada P.3, potatoes, sweet potatoes, yams, plain, fresh)
Listed nutrients, per 100 g
For each nutrient, the value this page uses is marked “used”. A row marked “second database” is another database’s figure for a matching food, kept so you can see how far databases disagree (they can differ in the samples analysed, lab methods and rounding). Its own cells are worked out from it, but none of the page’s words or scores are.
| Nutrient | Per serving | Per 100 calories | How | Source | Grade | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Omega-3: ALA | 0.001 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| Calcium | 22.33 mg | 24.56 mg | 28.87 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346404 | C |
| 24 mg | 26.4 mg | 31.02 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-463 | C | |
| 30 mg | 33 mg | 38.78 mg | copy of USDA · not used | Canadian Nutrient File 2026 #2240 | C | |
| Carbohydrate | 17.328 g | 19.06 g | 22.4 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346404 | C |
| Choline | 12.3 mg | 13.53 mg | 15.9 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| Energy | 77.357 kcal | 85.09 kcal | – | FDC Energy (Atwater Specific Factors) used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) | – |
| 86 kcal | 94.6 kcal | – | from SR Legacy · not used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C | |
| Omega-3: EPA + DHA | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| Fat | 0.375 g | 0.41 g | 0.48 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346404 | C |
| 0.3 g | 0.33 g | 0.39 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-463 | C | |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| Fatty acids, total saturated | 0.018 g | 0.02 g | 0.02 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| Fibre | 3 g | 3.3 g | 3.88 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| Folate | 11 µg | 12.1 µg | 14.22 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| 17 µg | 18.7 µg | 21.98 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-463 | C | |
| Iron | 0.398 mg | 0.44 mg | 0.51 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346404 | C |
| 0.7 mg | 0.77 mg | 0.9 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-463 | C | |
| Magnesium | 19.14 mg | 21.05 mg | 24.74 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346404 | C |
| 18 mg | 19.8 mg | 23.27 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-463 | C | |
| Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents) | 1.074 mg | 1.18 mg | 1.39 mg | listed used | Canadian Nutrient File 2026 #2240 | C |
| Phosphorus | 36.73 mg | 40.4 mg | 47.48 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346404 | C |
| 50 mg | 55 mg | 64.64 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-463 | C | |
| Potassium | 486.4 mg | 535.04 mg | 628.77 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346404 | C |
| 370 mg | 407 mg | 478.3 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-463 | C | |
| Protein | 1.578 g | 1.74 g | 2.04 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346404 | C |
| 1.2 g | 1.32 g | 1.55 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-463 | C | |
| Riboflavin (B2) | 0.061 mg | 0.07 mg | 0.08 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| Selenium | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346404 | C |
| 1 µg | 1.1 µg | 1.29 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-463 | C | |
| Sodium | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346404 | C |
| 40 mg | 44 mg | 51.71 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-463 | C | |
| Sugars | 4.18 g | 4.6 g | 5.4 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| 5.7 g | 6.27 g | 7.37 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-463 | C | |
| Thiamin (B1) | 0.045 mg | 0.05 mg | 0.06 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346404 | C |
| 0.17 mg | 0.19 mg | 0.22 mg | second database · not used · 3.8× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-463 | C | |
| Vitamin A | 709 µg | 779.9 µg | 916.53 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| Vitamin B12 | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-463 | C | |
| Vitamin B6 | 0.124 mg | 0.14 mg | 0.16 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346404 | C |
| 0.09 mg | 0.1 mg | 0.12 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-463 | C | |
| Vitamin C | 14.84 mg | 16.32 mg | 19.18 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346404 | C |
| 23 mg | 25.3 mg | 29.73 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-463 | C | |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-463 | C | |
| Vitamin E | 0.26 mg | 0.29 mg | 0.34 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| 0.28 mg | 0.31 mg | 0.36 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-463 | C | |
| Vitamin K1 | 0.2 µg | 0.22 µg | 0.26 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346404 | C |
| Water | 79.54 g | 87.49 g | 102.82 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346404 | C |
| 73.7 g | 81.07 g | 95.27 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-463 | C | |
| Zinc | 0.337 mg | 0.37 mg | 0.44 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346404 | C |
| 0.3 mg | 0.33 mg | 0.39 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-463 | C |
| Nutrient | Per 100 g | Per serving | Per 100 calories | How | Source | Grade |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Beta-carotene | 8,509 µg | 9,359.9 µg | 10,999.61 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| 3,960 µg | 4,356 µg | 5,119.1 µg | second database · not used · 2.1× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-463 | C | |
| Copper | 0.187 mg | 0.21 mg | 0.24 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346404 | C |
| 0.14 mg | 0.15 mg | 0.18 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-463 | C | |
| Energy (Atwater general) | 78.999 kcal | 86.9 kcal | 102.12 kcal | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346404 | C |
| Energy (Atwater specific) | 77.357 kcal | 85.09 kcal | 100 kcal | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346404 | C |
| Nitrogen | 0.253 g | 0.28 g | 0.33 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346404 | C |
| Ash | 1.179 g | 1.3 g | 1.52 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346404 | C |
| Starch | 12.65 g | 13.92 g | 16.35 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| Sucrose | 3.056 g | 3.36 g | 3.95 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346404 | C |
| Glucose | 0.976 g | 1.07 g | 1.26 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346404 | C |
| Fructose | 0.928 g | 1.02 g | 1.2 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346404 | C |
| Maltose | 1.099 g | 1.21 g | 1.42 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346404 | C |
| Alcohol, ethyl | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| Caffeine | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| Theobromine | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| Energy | 359 kj | 394.9 kj | 464.08 kj | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| Sugars, Total | 6.059 g | 6.66 g | 7.83 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346404 | C |
| Galactose | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| Molybdenum, Mo | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346404 | C |
| Vitamin A, IU | 14,187 iu | 15,605.7 iu | 18,339.58 iu | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| Carotene, alpha | 7 µg | 7.7 µg | 9.05 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| Vitamin D (D2 + D3), International Units | 0 iu | 0 iu | 0 iu | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| Cryptoxanthin, beta | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| Lycopene | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| Tocopherol, beta | 0.01 mg | 0.01 mg | 0.01 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| Tocopherol, gamma | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| Tocopherol, delta | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| Tocotrienol, alpha | 0.01 mg | 0.01 mg | 0.01 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| Tocotrienol, beta | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| Tocotrienol, gamma | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| Tocotrienol, delta | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| Vitamin K (Menaquinone-4) | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346404 | C |
| Vitamin K (Dihydrophylloquinone) | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346404 | C |
| Folic acid | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| Folate, food | 11 µg | 12.1 µg | 14.22 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| Folate, DFE | 11 µg | 12.1 µg | 14.22 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| Tryptophan | 0.031 g | 0.03 g | 0.04 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| Threonine | 0.083 g | 0.09 g | 0.11 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| Isoleucine | 0.055 g | 0.06 g | 0.07 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| Leucine | 0.092 g | 0.1 g | 0.12 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| Lysine | 0.066 g | 0.07 g | 0.09 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| Methionine | 0.029 g | 0.03 g | 0.04 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| Cystine | 0.022 g | 0.02 g | 0.03 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| Phenylalanine | 0.089 g | 0.1 g | 0.12 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| Tyrosine | 0.034 g | 0.04 g | 0.04 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| Valine | 0.086 g | 0.09 g | 0.11 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| Arginine | 0.055 g | 0.06 g | 0.07 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| Histidine | 0.031 g | 0.03 g | 0.04 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| Alanine | 0.077 g | 0.08 g | 0.1 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| Aspartic acid | 0.382 g | 0.42 g | 0.49 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| Glutamic acid | 0.155 g | 0.17 g | 0.2 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| Glycine | 0.063 g | 0.07 g | 0.08 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| Proline | 0.052 g | 0.06 g | 0.07 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| Serine | 0.088 g | 0.1 g | 0.11 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| Vitamin E, added | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| Vitamin B-12, added | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| Fatty acids, total trans | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| SFA 4:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| SFA 6:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| SFA 8:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| SFA 10:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| SFA 12:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| SFA 14:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| SFA 16:0 | 0.018 g | 0.02 g | 0.02 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| SFA 18:0 | 0.001 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| SFA 20:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| MUFA 18:1 | 0.001 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| PUFA 18:2 | 0.013 g | 0.01 g | 0.02 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| PUFA 18:3 | 0.001 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| PUFA 20:4 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| PUFA 22:6 n-3 (DHA) | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| SFA 22:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| MUFA 14:1 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| MUFA 16:1 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| PUFA 18:4 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| MUFA 20:1 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| PUFA 20:5 n-3 (EPA) | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| MUFA 22:1 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| PUFA 22:5 n-3 (DPA) | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| Phytosterols | 12 mg | 13.2 mg | 15.51 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| Fatty acids, total monounsaturated | 0.001 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| Fatty acids, total polyunsaturated | 0.014 g | 0.02 g | 0.02 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| SFA 15:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| SFA 17:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| SFA 24:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| PUFA 20:2 n-6 c,c | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| MUFA 17:1 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| PUFA 20:3 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| MUFA 15:1 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| Total dietary fiber (AOAC 2011.25) | 4.441 g | 4.89 g | 5.74 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346404 | C |
| High Molecular Weight Dietary Fiber (HMWDF) | 4.251 g | 4.68 g | 5.5 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346404 | C |
| Low Molecular Weight Dietary Fiber (LMWDF) | 0.157 g | 0.17 g | 0.2 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346404 | C |
| Lactose | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346404 | C |
| 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-463 | C | |
| Lutein + zeaxanthin | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| Manganese | 0.417 mg | 0.46 mg | 0.54 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346404 | C |
| 0.4 mg | 0.44 mg | 0.52 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-463 | C | |
| Niacin (B3, preformed) | 0.433 mg | 0.48 mg | 0.56 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346404 | C |
| 0.5 mg | 0.55 mg | 0.65 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-463 | C | |
| Pantothenic acid (B5) | 0.8 mg | 0.88 mg | 1.03 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| 0.59 mg | 0.65 mg | 0.76 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-463 | C | |
| Retinol | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168482 | C |
| 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-463 | C |
Change the amount to rescale the first column. Nutrients a database doesn't list are missing, not zero.
Oxalate, phytate and gut-tolerance measurements
- fodmap excess fructose: none (fructose not above glucose) µg/mg · dry weight (= mg/g DW) · raw (unpeeled whole root; steamed 40 min, boiled 30 min, baked 90 min at 200 C) · grade B · Zhang 2022
- histamine: mean 0.6 · n=3 mg/kg · fresh weight (mg/kg or mg/L, as the review's header) · see variant · grade B · Diniz 2025
- oxalate soluble: 9 Kenyan varieties; per-variety means 25.58 (Vitaa) to 235.01 (Kenspot 4); Table 5 also prints Kabode roots 793.31, contradicting the paper's own text mg/100 g · dry weight (freeze-dried) · raw roots, peeled, diced, freeze-dried · grade A · Abong 2020
- oxalate soluble: mean 76.7 (n = 2) mg/100 g · not stated · raw, homogenised · grade A · Siener 2021
- oxalate total: mean 495.6 (n = 2) mg/100 g · not stated (fresh vs dry not given) · raw, homogenised · grade A · Siener 2021
- oxalate total: control mean 79 (8 accessions); the paper prints g/kg dry flour: mean 0.79, range 0.30-1.84 mg/100 g · dry weight (flour); converted from g/kg x 100 (arithmetic only) · root tuber flour, oven-dried at 65 C for 48 h; not cooked · grade A · Gouveia 2020
- phytate: not detected at a detection limit of 0.003% of fresh weight (< 3 mg/100 g FW, as phytate (InsP6)) mg/100 g · fresh weight · not stated (roots purchased) · grade A · Phillippy 2003
- phytate: roots, 9 Kenyan varieties: 0.05 g/100 g (SPK031) to 0.42 g/100 g (Vitaa); 2021 raw Kabode 0.85, SPK031 0.95, Yellowsp 0.56 g/100 g mg/100 g · dry weight (freeze-dried powder); basis for phytate not stated explicitly in the text · raw roots, peeled, freeze-dried · grade A · Abong 2020
Sources
- Abong' GO, Muzhingi T, Okoth MW, et al. Phytochemicals in leaves and roots of selected Kenyan orange fleshed sweet potato (OFSP) varieties. Int J Food Sci 2020;2020:3567972 · doi:10.1155/2020/3567972 · PMID 32083118
abong2020· full text read · open access (licence not re-checked) - Health Canada, Canadian Nutrient File 2026 (14th edition)
cnf-2026· dataset · Open Government Licence – Canada 2.0 - Public Health England, Composition of Foods Integrated Dataset (CoFID) 2021
cofid-2021· dataset · Open Government Licence v3.0 - Diniz FB, Dala-Paula BM, et al., Gloria MBA. Histamine in Brazilian Foods: A Comprehensive Review of Occurrence and Risk Assessment for Intoxication and Intolerance. Food Sci Nutr 2025;13(11):e71151. · doi:10.1002/fsn3.71151
diniz2025· full text read · CC BY 4.0 - USDA FoodData Central, Foundation Foods, release 2026-04-30
fdc-foundation-2026-04-30· dataset · CC0 1.0 (public domain) - USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy, 2018-04
fdc-sr-legacy-2018-04· dataset · CC0 1.0 (public domain) - Gouveia CSS, Ganança JFT, Lebot V, Pinheiro de Carvalho MAA. Changes in oxalate composition and other nutritive traits in root tubers and shoots of sweet potato under water stress. J Sci Food Agric 2020;100(4):1702-1710 · doi:10.1002/jsfa.10185 · PMID 31803935
gouveia2020· full text read · Publisher copyright (journal article); read via the DigitUMa repository PDF - Phillippy BQ, Bland JM, Evens TJ. Ion chromatography of phytate in roots and tubers. J Agric Food Chem 2003;51(2):350-353 · doi:10.1021/jf025827m · PMID 12517094
phillippy2003· abstract only · Publisher copyright (journal article) - Siener R et al. 2021 (oxalate in legumes and vegetables; CC BY 4.0)
siener2021· full text read · CC BY 4.0 - Zhang R, Chen H, Chen Y, Tang C, Jiang B, Wang Z. Impact of different cooking methods on the flavor and chemical profile of yellow-fleshed table-stock sweetpotatoes (Ipomoea batatas L.). Food Chem X 2023;17. · doi:10.1016/j.fochx.2022.100542 · PMID 36824146
zhang-2022-fochx· full text read · open access (licence not checked)
Body map 2026-10-25.1: each nutrient’s job comes from an agency fact sheet, linked beside it under Good for.
The plain words: “a lot” means one serving (100 g when the food has no serving size) gives at least 20% of the daily amount (the reference intake), “some” at least 10%, “a little” at least 2% (the cut-offs are ours, one set for every page: 20% and 10% are borrowed from the US labelling terms “high” and “good source” and applied to Health Canada’s daily amount, whereas Health Canada’s own shopper rule says 15%; provisional: they may change in a later method version). The daily amount is Health Canada’s Dietary Reference Intake for adults 19–30; where men and women need different amounts we use the higher one (protein: 56 g for men, 46 g for women). The percentage printed under each nutrient is the printed amount as a share of that daily amount, rounded to the nearest whole number, and the word is read from that percentage, so the amount, the percentage and the word always agree. Calcium with a measured absorption is scaled by how well it gets in compared with milk.
The scale: “Nothing to watch” means a serving a day stays under the limit at ordinary amounts; “Go easy” means a serving a day can push past the limit for adults who already take in the most, or fewer than 2 servings reach it; “Limit it” means once a week or less. The dataset’s own rating is under “How we got this”. Provisional: the scale may change in a later method version.
Measured absorption under Good for: grade-A studies in adults that tested this preparation of this food, as a share of the listed amount (the share digested, for protein), quoted once each source has passed our evidence check; animal studies and other variants stay in the table above. Provisional: this screen may change in a later method version.