
Flour tortillas
Checked by us One serving: 55 g · 179 kcal
Lots of thiamin and selenium. Some of that may be added by the maker and depends on the brand: check your label.
Worth knowing: lead.
Worth knowing for some people: gluten.
Good for
How we counted this
What one serving (55 g) gives you.
Your body needs enough of each of these. Past enough, more doesn’t help. Amounts are what the food databases list, not what your body absorbs, unless a row says it was measured.
The words: “A lot” means one serving gives 20% or more of Health Canada’s daily amount, “Some” 10% to 19%, “A little” 2% to 9%, “Almost none” under 2%. Strongest word first; within a word, protein and fibre lead, then the biggest share. ?
A milligram (mg) is a thousandth of a gram, and a microgram (µg) a thousandth of a milligram: 1,000 µg make 1 mg.
- A lot
Thiamin (B1)
Your cells use it to get energy from food, and so to grow and work.
Some or all may be added by the maker, so it varies by brand: check your label.
Learn more
0.29 mg in one serving: 24% of the 1.2 mg a day men need, 26% of the 1.1 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, thiamin fact sheet for health professionals
- A lot
Selenium
Your thyroid uses it to make its hormones.
Some or all may be added by the maker, so it varies by brand: check your label.
Learn more
12.9 µg in one serving: 23% of the 55 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, selenium fact sheet for health professionals
19 more nutrients below “a lot”
- Some
Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents)
More than 400 of your enzymes need it to work.
Some or all may be added by the maker, so it varies by brand: check your label.
Learn more
2.95 mg in one serving: 18% of the 16 mg a day men need, 21% of the 14 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, niacin fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Folate
Your body needs it to make DNA and to divide new cells.
Some or all may be added by the maker, so it varies by brand: check your label.
Learn more
67.7 µg in one serving: 17% of the 400 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, folate fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Riboflavin (B2)
Your cells use it to make energy and handle fats. It also helps turn tryptophan into niacin and activate vitamin B6.
Some or all may be added by the maker, so it varies by brand: check your label.
Learn more
0.16 mg in one serving: 12% of the 1.3 mg a day men need, 15% of the 1.1 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, riboflavin fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Iron
Carries oxygen in your blood.
Some or all may be added by the maker, so it varies by brand: check your label.
Learn more
1.82 mg in one serving: 23% of the 8 mg a day men need, 10% of the 18 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Listed amount only. 1 absorption study of this nutrient is on file for this food, but none is quoted yet. Each one is in The numbers, with the reason. See the studies
Source: NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, iron fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Protein
Your muscles, and every other tissue, are built and repaired from it.
Learn more
4.78 g in one serving: 9% of the 56 g a day men need, 10% of the 46 g women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. Institute of Medicine 2005, Dietary Reference Intakes for Energy, Carbohydrate, Fiber, Fat, Fatty Acids, Cholesterol, Protein, and Amino Acids
- A little
Fibre
Keeps your gut moving.
Learn more
1.82 g in one serving: 5% of the 38 g a day men need, 7% of the 25 g women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. Institute of Medicine 2005, Dietary Reference Intakes for Energy, Carbohydrate, Fiber, Fat, Fatty Acids, Cholesterol, Protein, and Amino Acids
- A little
Magnesium
Your muscles and nerves need it to work.
Some or all may be added by the maker, so it varies by brand: check your label.
Learn more
14.3 mg in one serving: 4% of the 400 mg a day men need, 5% of the 310 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, magnesium fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Zinc
Your immune system and healing wounds depend on it.
Some or all may be added by the maker, so it varies by brand: check your label.
Learn more
0.39 mg in one serving: 4% of the 11 mg a day men need, 5% of the 8 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, zinc fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Vitamin K1
Your blood needs it to clot.
Some or all may be added by the maker, so it varies by brand: check your label.
Learn more
3.96 µg in one serving: 3% of the 120 µg a day men need, 4% of the 90 µg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin K fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Calcium
Builds your bones and teeth.
Some or all may be added by the maker, so it varies by brand: check your label.
Learn more
21.5 mg in one serving: 2% of the 1,000 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, calcium fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Potassium
Your nerves, muscles and kidneys need it to work.
Some or all may be added by the maker, so it varies by brand: check your label.
Learn more
72.1 mg in one serving: 2% of the 3,400 mg a day men need, 3% of the 2,600 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, potassium fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Vitamin B6
Helps you use protein, and your brain needs it to make its chemical messengers.
Some or all may be added by the maker, so it varies by brand: check your label.
Learn more
0.03 mg in one serving: 2% of the 1.3 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin B6 fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Omega-3: ALA
The one omega-3 your body can’t make: it must come from food. Your cells build it into their membranes and burn it for energy.
Learn more
29.7 mg in one serving: 2% of the 1,600 mg a day men need, 3% of the 1,100 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, omega-3 fatty acids fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Choline
Your cells need it for their membranes, and to make acetylcholine, a messenger for memory, mood and muscle control.
Some or all may be added by the maker, so it varies by brand: check your label.
Learn more
4.35 mg in one serving: 1% of the 550 mg a day men need, 1% of the 425 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, choline fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Omega-3: EPA + DHA
Long-chain omega-3s, built into your cell membranes. DHA is concentrated in your brain and retinas.
Learn more
0 mg in one serving: under 1% of the 250 mg a day.
Health Canada sets no daily amount for these fats, so the daily figure here is the European Food Safety Authority’s.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, omega-3 fatty acids fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin A
Your eyes need it to see in dim light.
Some or all may be added by the maker, so it varies by brand: check your label.
Learn more
Getting enough matters; more than enough doesn’t sharpen your sight.
0 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 900 µg a day men need, under 1% of the 700 µg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin A fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin B12
Your body needs it to make red blood cells and keep nerves working.
Some or all may be added by the maker, so it varies by brand: check your label.
Learn more
0 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 2.4 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin B12 fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin C
Your body makes collagen with it, which wounds need to heal. It also helps you absorb iron from plants.
Some or all may be added by the maker, so it varies by brand: check your label.
Learn more
0 mg in one serving: under 1% of the 90 mg a day men need, under 1% of the 75 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin C fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin D
Your body needs it to absorb calcium and keep your bones hard.
Some or all may be added by the maker, so it varies by brand: check your label.
Learn more
Your skin also makes it in sunlight, so food is only one of its sources.
0 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 15 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin D fact sheet for health professionals
Missing from our databases for this food, so left out, not counted as zero: vitamin E.
Watch out
How we counted this
Lead
Worth knowingFlagged: no safe threshold is set for lead, so there is no grams figure. 24 of 27 FDA composites of flour tortilla fell below the 4 ppb reporting limit; the printed mean of 1 ppb fits non-detects counted as zero, but the table does not say so, so the bound is not stated and the figure is not used for a contribution percentage.
Learn more
How we got this
Ochratoxin A
Nothing to watchYou’d need about 9 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the ochratoxin A an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.
Learn more
A serving a day adds 3.3–12% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.
One serving carries 0.01 µg
How we got this
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake
No cap: there is no grams figure. A serving carries 0.0138 µg, 0.0002 µg/kg body weight/day; it adds 3.3% to 11.9% to EFSA's average adult intake (1.66-6.03 ng/kg body weight/day). The figure is a proxy, the CFIA wheat-products category (April 2018 to March 2019, 29 samples, mean 0.2504 ng/g, 11 not detected, max 1.48), not tortilla. Tortilla-specific data also exist (Afacan 2025, Turkish retail wheat tortillas, n 16: 5 positive, mean 0.134 µg/kg).
Checked for deoxynivalenol, cadmium, nickel and acrylamide: fine at normal amounts.
You’d need about 24 servings in a day of this food alone to use up what the highest average adult intake we found leaves under the limit.
Learn more
One serving carries 0.92 µg
How we got this
The highest average adult intake we found already takes up about 70% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.
Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 4,200 g a day would reach the limit.
Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 55 g a day, which stays within the 1,300 g of room left before the limit.
general_acute: 33,000 g in one sitting.
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit
No cap: EFSA's 2017 group tolerable daily intake for deoxynivalenol is 1 µg/kg body weight/day, 70 µg/day. In Turkish retail wheat tortillas (n 16, 1 positive at 158 µg/kg; mean 16.8 µg/kg, lower bound 9.9, upper bound 23.8), about 4,167 g a day eaten alone would reach it (2,941 g at the upper bound); one 55 g serving carries 0.92 µg, 1.3% of the daily limit. This is eight times lower than the bread-category figure (129.97 µg/kg, CFIA 2011-12), which suggests that figure overstates tortilla DON, but one positive in 16 wheat samples is a thin base.
1 other measurement of this food, same verdict
You’d need about 2.9 servings in a day of this food alone to use up what the highest average adult intake we found leaves under the limit.
Learn more
One serving carries 7.15 µg
How we got this
The highest average adult intake we found already takes up about 70% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.
Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 540 g a day would reach the limit.
Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 55 g a day, which stays within the 160 g of room left before the limit.
general_acute: 4,300 g in one sitting.
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit
No cap: EFSA's 2017 group tolerable daily intake for deoxynivalenol is 1 µg/kg body weight/day, 70 µg/day. The figure is a proxy, the CFIA bread category (2011-2012, 53 samples, mean 129.97 ng/g), because the survey has no tortilla product. Eaten alone, about 539 g of tortilla a day would reach it (an upper bound, since the mean is a lower-bound concentration); one 55 g serving carries 7.15 µg, 10% of the daily limit, and 1.3% of the acute limit of 8 µg/kg body weight per sitting. Flour mixes carry more ('Flour - Wheat', 24 samples, averages 339.9 ng/g; 'Wheat Products', 85 samples, 159.8), so a tortilla made from flour could sit above bread; no sourced dough-to-tortilla ratio exists, so none is applied.
Cadmium
Nothing to watchYou’d need about 5.2 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to use up what an average adult’s intake leaves under the limit.
Learn more
One serving carries 1.43 µg
How we got this
A serving a day adds 8.1% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 77% of the limit.
An average adult already takes in about 71% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.
Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 6,700 g a week would reach the limit.
Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 385 g a week, which stays within the 2,000 g of room left before the limit.
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit
A daily serving adds 8.1% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap.
US FDA, Total Diet Study FY2018–FY2020 Elements Report Supplement · grade A
Nickel
Nothing to watchYou’d need more than 100 servings in a day of this food alone to use up what the highest average adult intake we found leaves under the limit.
Learn more
One serving carries 4.62 µg
How we got this
The highest average adult intake we found already takes up about 26% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.
Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 11,000 g a day would reach the limit.
Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 55 g a day, which stays within the 8,000 g of room left before the limit.
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit
No cap: EFSA's 2020 tolerable daily intake for nickel is 13 µg/kg body weight/day, 910 µg a day for 70 kg. Eaten alone, about 10,833 g of tortilla a day would reach it (FDA mean 0.084 µg/g, 27 of 27 detected). One serving carries 4.62 µg, 0.5% of the daily limit.
US FDA, Total Diet Study FY2018–FY2020 Elements Report Supplement · grade A
Acrylamide
Nothing to watchYou’d need about 46 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the acrylamide an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.
Learn more
A serving a day adds 1–2.2% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.
One serving carries 0.62 µg
How we got this
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake
No cap: EFSA's 2015 reference point for acrylamide is a benchmark dose lower limit (BMDL10) of 0.17 mg/kg body weight/day, judged by a margin of exposure; there is no grams figure. One serving carries 0.615 µg, 0.0088 µg/kg body weight/day, which is 1.0-2.2% of the adult mean exposure of 0.4-0.9 µg/kg body weight/day (EFSA 2015). The CFIA mean is 11.18 ng/g across 11 tortilla, wrap and pita samples. A tortilla warmed or toasted could be higher (white bread toasted 61.5 ng/g in Health Canada's 2012 assessment); no tortilla toasting figure was found.
For some people
Flagged for people with celiac disease: wheat flour carries gluten, and the only treatment for celiac disease is a strict gluten-free diet.
Worth knowing
No limit applies, so none is rated.
Sugar
2 g of sugar in a 55 g serving, natural and added together.
Learn more
Shown, not rated. The food tables we read give total sugar, and few give added sugar, so the site can’t yet tell sugar added in making a food from the sugar in fruit or milk.
Also checked (nothing to act on) · 1
Noted for context, or not measured in this food yet.
Context only: total arsenic has no reference value; wheat products carry little arsenic (white bread FDA 5.1 ppb).
Better options
How we counted this
“Better” here always means better at something the row names: more of one nutrient, more nutrients per serving, or the goal you pick. It never means better in every way.
Every amount below is for the same weight, 55 g, the size of one serving of this food, so a swap compares like with like. A serving of another food can be bigger or smaller.
No swaps for thiamin and selenium: they may be added to this food, so its amount varies by brand.
Not compared: this food’s score counts added vitamins and minerals, and those vary by brand. Compare labels instead.
Your goal
Your goal changes only this list, not what the food gives you or what to watch.
Not compared: this food’s score counts added vitamins and minerals, and those vary by brand. Compare labels instead.
None of the 5 other starchy sides we could compare gives clearly more protein, and more calories, per 100 g.
Bring a tracker export or describe your usual week. The same rules check all of it.
The numbers
Open every value
Name in the database: Tortilla, flour, plain (ready to cook or eat)
How the serving was set: 55 g (Health Canada A.2: tea biscuits, scones, rolls, buns, ... tortillas, pita ... 55 g)
Listed nutrients, per 100 g
For each nutrient, the value this page uses is marked “used”. A row marked “second database” is another database’s figure for a matching food, kept so you can see how far databases disagree (they can differ in the samples analysed, lab methods and rounding). Its own cells are worked out from it, but none of the page’s words or scores are.
| Nutrient | Per serving | Per 100 calories | How | Source | Grade | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Omega-3: ALA | 0.054 g | 0.03 g | 0.02 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| Calcium · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 39 mg | 21.45 mg | 12 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| 101.259 mg | 55.69 mg | 31.16 mg | second database · not used · 2.6× | Canadian Nutrient File 2026 #4049 | C | |
| Carbohydrate | 55.6 g | 30.58 g | 17.11 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| Choline · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 7.9 mg | 4.35 mg | 2.43 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175037 | C |
| Energy | 325 kcal | 178.75 kcal | – | FDC Energy (kcal) used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) | – |
| Omega-3: EPA + DHA | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| Fat | 7.1 g | 3.91 g | 2.18 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| Fatty acids, total saturated | 1.745 g | 0.96 g | 0.54 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| Fibre | 3.3 g | 1.82 g | 1.02 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| Folate · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 123 µg | 67.65 µg | 37.85 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| Iron · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 3.3 mg | 1.82 mg | 1.02 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| Magnesium · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 26 mg | 14.3 mg | 8 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents) · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 5.361 mg | 2.95 mg | 1.65 mg | listed used | Canadian Nutrient File 2026 #4049 | C |
| Phosphorus · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 124 mg | 68.2 mg | 38.15 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| Potassium · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 131 mg | 72.05 mg | 40.31 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| Protein | 8.7 g | 4.78 g | 2.68 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| Riboflavin (B2) · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 0.293 mg | 0.16 mg | 0.09 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| Selenium · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 23.4 µg | 12.87 µg | 7.2 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| Sodium | 478 mg | 262.9 mg | 147.08 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| Sugars | 3.71 g | 2.04 g | 1.14 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175037 | C |
| Thiamin (B1) · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 0.531 mg | 0.29 mg | 0.16 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| Vitamin A · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| Vitamin B12 · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| Vitamin B6 · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 0.05 mg | 0.03 mg | 0.02 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| Vitamin C · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| Vitamin D · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | Canadian Nutrient File 2026 #4049 | C |
| Vitamin K1 · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 7.2 µg | 3.96 µg | 2.22 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175037 | C |
| Water | 26.8 g | 14.74 g | 8.25 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| Zinc · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 0.71 mg | 0.39 mg | 0.22 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| Nutrient | Per 100 g | Per serving | Per 100 calories | How | Source | Grade |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Beta-carotene · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175037 | C |
| Copper · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 0.267 mg | 0.15 mg | 0.08 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| Ash | 1.8 g | 0.99 g | 0.55 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| Starch | 38.38 g | 21.11 g | 11.81 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175037 | C |
| Sucrose | 0.6 g | 0.33 g | 0.18 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175037 | C |
| Glucose | 0.38 g | 0.21 g | 0.12 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175037 | C |
| Fructose | 0.28 g | 0.15 g | 0.09 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175037 | C |
| Maltose | 2.45 g | 1.35 g | 0.75 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175037 | C |
| Alcohol, ethyl | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| Caffeine | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175037 | C |
| Theobromine | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175037 | C |
| Energy | 1,360 kj | 748 kj | 418.46 kj | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| Galactose | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175037 | C |
| Vitamin A, IU | 0 iu | 0 iu | 0 iu | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| Carotene, alpha | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175037 | C |
| Cryptoxanthin, beta | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175037 | C |
| Lycopene | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175037 | C |
| Tocopherol, beta | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175037 | C |
| Tocopherol, gamma | 0.84 mg | 0.46 mg | 0.26 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175037 | C |
| Tocopherol, delta | 0.36 mg | 0.2 mg | 0.11 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175037 | C |
| Tocotrienol, alpha | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175037 | C |
| Tocotrienol, beta | 0.15 mg | 0.08 mg | 0.05 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175037 | C |
| Tocotrienol, gamma | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175037 | C |
| Tocotrienol, delta | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175037 | C |
| Vitamin K (Menaquinone-4) | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175037 | C |
| Vitamin K (Dihydrophylloquinone) | 0.1 µg | 0.06 µg | 0.03 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175037 | C |
| Folic acid | 111 µg | 61.05 µg | 34.15 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| Folate, food | 12 µg | 6.6 µg | 3.69 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| Folate, DFE | 201 µg | 110.55 µg | 61.85 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| Betaine | 5.3 mg | 2.92 mg | 1.63 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175037 | C |
| Tryptophan | 0.106 g | 0.06 g | 0.03 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| Threonine | 0.245 g | 0.13 g | 0.08 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| Isoleucine | 0.307 g | 0.17 g | 0.09 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| Leucine | 0.6 g | 0.33 g | 0.18 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| Lysine | 0.213 g | 0.12 g | 0.07 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| Methionine | 0.155 g | 0.09 g | 0.05 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| Cystine | 0.181 g | 0.1 g | 0.06 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| Phenylalanine | 0.435 g | 0.24 g | 0.13 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| Tyrosine | 0.266 g | 0.15 g | 0.08 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| Valine | 0.356 g | 0.2 g | 0.11 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| Arginine | 0.356 g | 0.2 g | 0.11 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| Histidine | 0.195 g | 0.11 g | 0.06 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| Alanine | 0.289 g | 0.16 g | 0.09 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| Aspartic acid | 0.386 g | 0.21 g | 0.12 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| Glutamic acid | 2.85 g | 1.57 g | 0.88 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| Glycine | 0.316 g | 0.17 g | 0.1 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| Proline | 0.979 g | 0.54 g | 0.3 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| Serine | 0.432 g | 0.24 g | 0.13 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| Vitamin E, added | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175037 | C |
| Vitamin B-12, added | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175037 | C |
| Fatty acids, total trans | 0.052 g | 0.03 g | 0.02 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175037 | C |
| SFA 4:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| SFA 6:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| SFA 8:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| SFA 10:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| SFA 12:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| SFA 14:0 | 0.032 g | 0.02 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| SFA 16:0 | 0.937 g | 0.52 g | 0.29 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| SFA 18:0 | 0.776 g | 0.43 g | 0.24 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| SFA 20:0 | 0.024 g | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175037 | C |
| MUFA 18:1 | 3.76 g | 2.07 g | 1.16 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| PUFA 18:2 | 1.009 g | 0.55 g | 0.31 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| PUFA 18:3 | 0.054 g | 0.03 g | 0.02 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| PUFA 20:4 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| PUFA 22:6 n-3 (DHA) | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| SFA 22:0 | 0.014 g | 0.01 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175037 | C |
| MUFA 14:1 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175037 | C |
| MUFA 16:1 | 0.008 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| PUFA 18:4 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| MUFA 20:1 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| PUFA 20:5 n-3 (EPA) | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| MUFA 22:1 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| PUFA 22:5 n-3 (DPA) | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| Fatty acids, total monounsaturated | 3.768 g | 2.07 g | 1.16 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| Fatty acids, total polyunsaturated | 1.063 g | 0.58 g | 0.33 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| SFA 15:0 | 0.005 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175037 | C |
| SFA 17:0 | 0.008 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175037 | C |
| SFA 24:0 | 0.008 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175037 | C |
| TFA 16:1 t | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175037 | C |
| TFA 18:1 t | 0.038 g | 0.02 g | 0.01 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175037 | C |
| TFA 22:1 t | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175037 | C |
| TFA 18:2 t not further defined | 0.014 g | 0.01 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175037 | C |
| PUFA 18:2 CLAs | 0.002 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175037 | C |
| MUFA 24:1 c | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175037 | C |
| PUFA 20:2 n-6 c,c | 0.002 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175037 | C |
| MUFA 16:1 c | 0.007 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175037 | C |
| MUFA 18:1 c | 1.678 g | 0.92 g | 0.52 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175037 | C |
| PUFA 18:2 n-6 c,c | 2.045 g | 1.12 g | 0.63 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175037 | C |
| MUFA 22:1 c | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175037 | C |
| PUFA 18:3 n-6 c,c,c | 0.012 g | 0.01 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175037 | C |
| MUFA 17:1 | 0.003 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175037 | C |
| PUFA 20:3 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175037 | C |
| Fatty acids, total trans-monoenoic | 0.038 g | 0.02 g | 0.01 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175037 | C |
| Fatty acids, total trans-polyenoic | 0.014 g | 0.01 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175037 | C |
| MUFA 15:1 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175037 | C |
| PUFA 18:3 n-3 c,c,c (ALA) | 0.214 g | 0.12 g | 0.07 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175037 | C |
| PUFA 20:3 n-3 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175037 | C |
| PUFA 20:3 n-6 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175037 | C |
| PUFA 18:3i | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175037 | C |
| PUFA 22:4 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175037 | C |
| Lactose | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175037 | C |
| Lutein + zeaxanthin | 9 µg | 4.95 µg | 2.77 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175037 | C |
| Manganese · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 0.462 mg | 0.25 mg | 0.14 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| Niacin (B3, preformed) · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 3.572 mg | 1.96 mg | 1.1 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| Pantothenic acid (B5) · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 0.582 mg | 0.32 mg | 0.18 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
| Retinol · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173242 | C |
Change the amount to rescale the first column. Nutrients a database doesn't list are missing, not zero.
Absorption studies
Studies of how much of a nutrient gets in; those done in animals are marked. This page quotes a figure only from a study that passes our screen: adults, graded A, of this food in this preparation, with a test dose on record and a source that has passed our evidence check. The exception is calcium on our calcium card: its figure comes from the card’s own study, checked with the card, and is marked “used” even where that study misses a step of this screen. The others are listed so nothing is hidden, each with the first check it fails.
No study of this food passes the screen yet, so no absorption figure is quoted.
| Study | Nutrient | Absorbed | Test dose | People | Grade | On this page |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Iron, hydrogen-reduced elemental iron powder (15 um, 58Fe, 4 mg/100 g flour) in white wheat bread rolls, normalised to 40% absorption of an ascorbate reference H2-reduced iron, 15 um (the paper says commercial 45 um powders are likely lower) · white wheat bread rolls from 72% extraction flour, fortified with isotopic iron before baking; NOT a tortilla · 4 mg iron per 100 g flour; load per meal not stated abstract only | Iron | 6.5 % | not reported | 12 | B | Not used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study. |
Hazard rows as the dataset rates them
- Acrylamide · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · No cap: EFSA's 2015 reference point for acrylamide is a benchmark dose lower limit (BMDL10) of 0.17 mg/kg body weight/day, judged by a margin of exposure; there is no grams figure. One serving carries 0.615 µg, 0.0088 µg/kg body weight/day, which is 1.0-2.2% of the adult mean exposure of 0.4-0.9 µg/kg body weight/day (EFSA 2015). The CFIA mean is 11.18 ng/g across 11 tortilla, wrap and pita samples. A tortilla warmed or toasted could be higher (white bread toasted 61.5 ng/g in Health Canada's 2012 assessment); no tortilla toasting figure was found. · CFIA 2013–2015 · B
- Arsenic, all forms · Context · Context only: total arsenic has no reference value; wheat products carry little arsenic (white bread FDA 5.1 ppb). · US FDA Total Diet Study (2018–2020) · A
- Cadmium · Nothing to watch: under the limit · A daily serving adds 8.1% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap. · US FDA Total Diet Study (2018–2020) · A
- Gluten (celiac disease) · Worth knowing · Flagged for people with celiac disease: wheat flour carries gluten, and the only treatment for celiac disease is a strict gluten-free diet. · Health Canada, celiac disease · A
- Deoxynivalenol (vomitoxin) · Nothing to watch: under the limit · No cap: EFSA's 2017 group tolerable daily intake for deoxynivalenol is 1 µg/kg body weight/day, 70 µg/day. The figure is a proxy, the CFIA bread category (2011-2012, 53 samples, mean 129.97 ng/g), because the survey has no tortilla product. Eaten alone, about 539 g of tortilla a day would reach it (an upper bound, since the mean is a lower-bound concentration); one 55 g serving carries 7.15 µg, 10% of the daily limit, and 1.3% of the acute limit of 8 µg/kg body weight per sitting. Flour mixes carry more ('Flour - Wheat', 24 samples, averages 339.9 ng/g; 'Wheat Products', 85 samples, 159.8), so a tortilla made from flour could sit above bread; no sourced dough-to-tortilla ratio exists, so none is applied. · CFIA 2011 · B
- Deoxynivalenol (vomitoxin) · Nothing to watch: under the limit · No cap: EFSA's 2017 group tolerable daily intake for deoxynivalenol is 1 µg/kg body weight/day, 70 µg/day. In Turkish retail wheat tortillas (n 16, 1 positive at 158 µg/kg; mean 16.8 µg/kg, lower bound 9.9, upper bound 23.8), about 4,167 g a day eaten alone would reach it (2,941 g at the upper bound); one 55 g serving carries 0.92 µg, 1.3% of the daily limit. This is eight times lower than the bread-category figure (129.97 µg/kg, CFIA 2011-12), which suggests that figure overstates tortilla DON, but one positive in 16 wheat samples is a thin base. · PubMed 40555889 · B
- Lead · Worth knowing · Flagged: no safe threshold is set for lead, so there is no grams figure. 24 of 27 FDA composites of flour tortilla fell below the 4 ppb reporting limit; the printed mean of 1 ppb fits non-detects counted as zero, but the table does not say so, so the bound is not stated and the figure is not used for a contribution percentage. · US FDA Total Diet Study (2018–2020) · A
- Nickel · Nothing to watch: under the limit · No cap: EFSA's 2020 tolerable daily intake for nickel is 13 µg/kg body weight/day, 910 µg a day for 70 kg. Eaten alone, about 10,833 g of tortilla a day would reach it (FDA mean 0.084 µg/g, 27 of 27 detected). One serving carries 4.62 µg, 0.5% of the daily limit. · US FDA Total Diet Study (2018–2020) · A
- Ochratoxin A · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · No cap: there is no grams figure. A serving carries 0.0138 µg, 0.0002 µg/kg body weight/day; it adds 3.3% to 11.9% to EFSA's average adult intake (1.66-6.03 ng/kg body weight/day). The figure is a proxy, the CFIA wheat-products category (April 2018 to March 2019, 29 samples, mean 0.2504 ng/g, 11 not detected, max 1.48), not tortilla. Tortilla-specific data also exist (Afacan 2025, Turkish retail wheat tortillas, n 16: 5 positive, mean 0.134 µg/kg). · CFIA 2018–2019 · B
- Wheat allergy · Worth knowing · Flagged for people with a wheat allergy: wheat is a Health Canada priority allergen and must be declared on labels. · Health Canada, Wheat & Triticale - Priority food allergens · A
Oxalate, phytate and gut-tolerance measurements
- fodmap fructan: white bread 0.14; wheat flour T500 0.75 (a tortilla lies between; not measured) g/100 g fresh weight · fresh weight, as sold · related products: white bread (moisture 38%) and wheat flour T500; no tortilla measured · grade B · Ferjancic 2024
Sources
- CFIA, FSAP Targeted Survey – Acrylamide 2013–2015
cfia-acrylamide-2013-2015· dataset · Open Government Licence – Canada 2.0 - CFIA, Food Safety Action Plan Targeted Survey - Deoxynivalenol in Selected Foods - 2011-2012, open.canada.ca dataset 30484e10-f94e-4580-999f-3dc54eb75106 (resource cef65485-68e2-4580-8bd4-aa47c5a84c96); report page "2011-2012 Deoxynivalenol in Selected Foods"
cfia-don-2011-12· dataset · Open Government Licence - Canada - CFIA, Ochratoxin A in Wheat Products, Oat Products, Rice Products and Other Grain Products, April 1 2018 to March 31 2019 (495 samples; 99 'Grain - Rice')
cfia-ota-grains-2018-2019· full text read · Open Government Licence - Canada - Health Canada, Canadian Nutrient File 2026 (14th edition)
cnf-2026· dataset · Open Government Licence – Canada 2.0 - US FDA, Total Diet Study FY2018–FY2020 Elements Report Supplement
fda-tds-fy2018-2020· dataset · US government work (17 USC 105), public domain - USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy, 2018-04
fdc-sr-legacy-2018-04· dataset · CC0 1.0 (public domain) - Ferjancic B, Korosec M, Kocevar Baloh A, Bertoncelj J. Fructan content in most commonly consumed Slovenian foods and estimation of daily fructan consumption. Front Nutr 2024;11:1446771. · doi:10.3389/fnut.2024.1446771 · PMID 39155934
ferjancic-2024-fnut· full text read · CC BY 4.0 - Health Canada, Celiac disease
hc-celiac-disease· page · Government of Canada terms (Crown copyright; not OGL) - Health Canada, Wheat & Triticale - Priority food allergens (page details 2017-09-18)
hc-wheat-fact-sheet· page · Government of Canada terms (Crown copyright; not OGL) - Walter T, Pizarro F, Abrams SA. Bioavailability of elemental iron powder in white wheat bread. Eur J Clin Nutr 2004 Mar · PMID 14985696
pmid:14985696· abstract only · Publisher copyright (journal article) - Afacan FO, Odabas E, Yussuf NH, Kabak B. Co-occurrence and risk assessment of ochratoxin A and deoxynivalenol in tortillas. Mycotoxin Res 2025;41(3):475-484 · doi:10.1007/s12550-025-00596-z · PMID 40555889
pmid:40555889· full text read · CC BY 4.0
Body map 2026-10-25.1: each nutrient’s job comes from an agency fact sheet, linked beside it under Good for.
The plain words: “a lot” means one serving (100 g when the food has no serving size) gives at least 20% of the daily amount (the reference intake), “some” at least 10%, “a little” at least 2% (the cut-offs are ours, one set for every page: 20% and 10% are borrowed from the US labelling terms “high” and “good source” and applied to Health Canada’s daily amount, whereas Health Canada’s own shopper rule says 15%; provisional: they may change in a later method version). The daily amount is Health Canada’s Dietary Reference Intake for adults 19–30; where men and women need different amounts we use the higher one (protein: 56 g for men, 46 g for women). The percentage printed under each nutrient is the printed amount as a share of that daily amount, rounded to the nearest whole number, and the word is read from that percentage, so the amount, the percentage and the word always agree. Calcium with a measured absorption is scaled by how well it gets in compared with milk.
The scale: “Nothing to watch” means a serving a day stays under the limit at ordinary amounts; “Go easy” means a serving a day can push past the limit for adults who already take in the most, or fewer than 2 servings reach it; “Limit it” means once a week or less. The dataset’s own rating is under “How we got this”. Provisional: the scale may change in a later method version.
Measured absorption under Good for: grade-A studies in adults that tested this preparation of this food, as a share of the listed amount (the share digested, for protein), quoted once each source has passed our evidence check; animal studies and other variants stay in the table above. Provisional: this screen may change in a later method version.