FoodtopsyFrançais
A glass of liquid coffee creamer

Coffee creamer, flavoured liquid

Checked by us One serving: 15.2 g (about 1 tablespoon) · 38 kcal

Little of the nutrients we score, per serving.

Nothing to watch so far.

Good for

How we counted this

What one serving (15.2 g) gives you.

Your body needs enough of each of these. Past enough, more doesn’t help. Amounts are what the food databases list, not what your body absorbs, unless a row says it was measured.

The words: “A lot” means one serving gives 20% or more of Health Canada’s daily amount, “Some” 10% to 19%, “A little” 2% to 9%, “Almost none” under 2%. Strongest word first; within a word, protein and fibre lead, then the biggest share.

A milligram (mg) is a thousandth of a gram, and a microgram (µg) a thousandth of a milligram: 1,000 µg make 1 mg.

No nutrient we score reaches “some” in one serving. The rest, at “a little” or less, is below.

    22 more nutrients at a little or less

    Watch out

    How we counted this
    Checked for 3-MCPD and its esters, added phosphates, nickel, cadmium, glycidyl esters and lead: fine at normal amounts.
    • 3-MCPD and its esters

      Nothing to watchSingapore 2023, one commercial creamer (measured)

      You’d need about 49 servings in a day of this food alone to use up what the highest average adult intake we found leaves under the limit.

      Learn more

      One serving carries 1.83 µg (3-MCPDEs, basis not stated)

      How we got this

      The highest average adult intake we found already takes up about 35% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.

      Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 1,200 g a day would reach the limit.

      Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 15 g a day, which stays within the 750 g of room left before the limit.

      The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

      No cap: this is one Singapore creamer (2023) at 120.7 µg/kg, and the paper does not say whether that is per kg of creamer or of its fat, so no grams figure is given. For orientation only, if it were on the food's weight, about 1,160 g a day would reach the tolerable daily intake (140 µg for 70 kg), and a serving would carry 1.83 µg, 1.3% of it.

      Shi R, Shen P, Yu W, et al. Occurrence and Dietary Exposure of 3-MCPD Esters and Glycidyl Esters in Domestically and Commercially Prepared Food in Singapore. Foods 2023 · grade B

      Every food with 3-MCPD and its esters

    • 1 other measurement of this food, same verdict
      • 3-MCPD and its esters

        Nothing to watchEFSA 2016, derived from palm oil and the creamer's fat share

        You’d need about 15 servings in a day of this food alone to use up what the highest average adult intake we found leaves under the limit.

        Learn more

        One serving carries 5.98 µg (3-MCPD equivalents, derived)

        How we got this

        A serving a day adds 12–43% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 39–50% of the limit.

        The highest average adult intake we found already takes up about 35% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.

        Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 360 g a day would reach the limit.

        Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 15 g a day, which stays within the 230 g of room left before the limit.

        The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

        No cap. Derived, not measured: EFSA's palm-oil occurrence times the creamer's fat share (palm is the conservative oil; coconut oil would give 1,706 g). The tolerable daily intake for 3-MCPD and its fatty acid esters is 2 µg/kg body weight/day (EFSA 2018), 140 µg for 70 kg; about 356 g of creamer eaten alone would reach it. A serving carries 5.98 µg, 4.3% of it, and adds 12-43% to the average adult's 14-49 µg/day, already under half the limit.

        EFSA CONTAM Panel. Risks for human health related to the presence of 3- and 2-monochloropropanediol (MCPD), and their fatty acid esters, and glycidyl fatty acid esters in food. EFSA Journal 2016;14(5):4426 · grade B

        Every food with 3-MCPD and its esters

    • Added phosphates

      Nothing to watch

      You’d need more than 100 servings in a day of this food alone to reach the limit.

      Learn more

      One serving carries 4.26 mg

      This amount varies a lot from one batch to the next: the figures we hold for this food differ twofold or more. Every figure on this site uses the same one, the food’s listed value.

      How we got this

      A serving a day adds 0.7–1% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit.

      10,000 g a day reaches the limit

      The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

      No cap: EFSA's group acceptable daily intake for phosphates (2019) is 40 mg/kg body weight/day expressed as phosphorus, 2,800 mg a day for 70 kg. It covers phosphorus from all sources, so total phosphorus is the right comparison; the added part alone could not be separated. Eaten alone, about 10,000 g of creamer a day would reach it. A 15.2 g serving carries 4.3 mg phosphorus on the USDA listing (a calculated value), 0.15% of the limit; FDA's Total Diet Study measured more in non-dairy liquid creamer (77 mg per 100 g, 11.7 mg a serving), still well under 1%. The limit does not apply to moderate to severe kidney impairment.

      USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy, 2018-04 · grade C

      Every food with added phosphates

    • Nickel

      Nothing to watch

      You’d need more than 100 servings in a day of this food alone to use up what the highest average adult intake we found leaves under the limit.

      Learn more

      One serving carries 0.61 µg (at the reporting limit, 40 ppb)

      How we got this

      The highest average adult intake we found already takes up about 26% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.

      Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 23,000 g a day would reach the limit.

      Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 15 g a day, which stays within the 17,000 g of room left before the limit.

      The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

      No cap: nickel is rated against EFSA's tolerable daily intake of 13 µg/kg body weight/day (2020). The average adult already takes in 22-26% of it, under half, so a food would have to reach the limit on its own to matter. None was detected (3 samples, limit 40 ppb); at that limit a serving is at most 0.07% of it, and at least 22,750 g a day would reach it.

      US FDA, Total Diet Study FY2018–FY2020 Elements Report Supplement · grade A

      Every food with nickel

    • Cadmium

      Nothing to watch

      You’d need more than 100 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to use up what an average adult’s intake leaves under the limit.

      Learn more

      One serving carries 0.02 µg (at the reporting limit, 1 ppb)

      How we got this

      A serving a day adds 0.1% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 71% of the limit.

      An average adult already takes in about 71% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.

      Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 180,000 g a week would reach the limit.

      Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 106 g a week, which stays within the 51,000 g of room left before the limit.

      The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

      A daily serving adds 0.086% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap.

      US FDA, Total Diet Study FY2018–FY2020 Elements Report Supplement · grade A

      Every food with cadmium

    • Rated without the share a serving adds to an average adult’s intake: the dataset stores no figure to print for this measurement.

      Learn more

      One serving carries 1.44 µg (basis not stated)

      How we got this

      The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: rated by margin of exposure

      No cap: glycidol is a genotoxic carcinogen with no safe threshold, judged by margin of exposure (EFSA: T25 10.2 mg/kg body weight/day; a margin of 25,000 or higher is low concern). One measured creamer (94.9 µg/kg) gives a serving of 1.44 µg, 0.0206 µg/kg body weight/day, a margin of about 494,981. If it were made with palm oil at EFSA's palm-oil average, a serving would carry 8.12 µg, 0.116 µg/kg body weight/day, a margin of about 87,978. That would add 39% to EFSA's highest adult average (0.3 µg/kg body weight/day) and 58% to its lowest (0.2), short of doubling.

      Shi R, Shen P, Yu W, et al. Occurrence and Dietary Exposure of 3-MCPD Esters and Glycidyl Esters in Domestically and Commercially Prepared Food in Singapore. Foods 2023 · grade B

      Every food with glycidyl esters (glycidol)

    • Lead

      Nothing to watch

      You’d need more than 100 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the lead an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.

      Learn more

      A serving a day adds 0–0.2% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.

      One serving carries 0.06 µg (at the reporting limit, 4 ppb)

      How we got this

      The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake

      No cap: no lead was detected (3 samples, limit 4 ppb); at that limit a serving carries at most 0.061 µg, 0.17% of the 35 µg/day adult mean (EFSA). No safe level is set.

      US FDA, Total Diet Study FY2018–FY2020 Elements Report Supplement · grade A

      Every food with lead

    Worth knowing

    No limit applies, so none is rated.

    • Sugar

      5 g of sugar in a 15.2 g serving, natural and added together.

      Learn more

      Shown, not rated. The food tables we read give total sugar, and few give added sugar, so the site can’t yet tell sugar added in making a food from the sugar in fruit or milk.

    Also checked (nothing to act on) · 1

    Noted for context, or not measured in this food yet.

    • Not measured in this food yet. Not rated: no measured trans-fat value for a current Canadian creamer was found. Arcand et al. 2014 (abstract only) found 66.7% of coffee whiteners in Canadian databases analysed in 2005-2011 among the categories with many products over the voluntary limits. Canada has since prohibited partially hydrogenated oils (2017 notice), so that finding is historical. A US powder figure of 5.541 g/100 g would be 0.11 g in a 2.0 g serving.

    Better options

    How we counted this

    “Better” here always means better at something the row names: more of one nutrient, more nutrients per serving, or the goal you pick. It never means better in every way.

    Every amount below is for the same weight, 15.2 g, the size of one serving of this food, so a swap compares like with like. A serving of another food can be bigger or smaller.

    Compared with the other coffee creamers and creams we’ve checked.

    No other coffee creamers and creams we’ve checked to compare with.

    Your goal

    Your goal changes only this list, not what the food gives you or what to watch.

    Losing weight: fewer calories, and more nutrients, protein and fibre for each calorie.

    Half-and-half cream would lead this list, but it’s left out (Worth knowing: dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs).

    Why some foods aren’t suggested

    Left out: Heavy cream (Worth knowing: dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs).

    Left out: Half-and-half cream (Worth knowing: dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs).

    Bring a tracker export or describe your usual week. The same rules check all of it.

    The numbers

    Open every value

    Name in the database: Coffee creamer, non-dairy, flavoured, liquid (category representative)

    How the serving was set: 15 mL = 15.2 g (Health Canada TRA D.6 'Cream, including creamer and milker cups, except those listed as separate item', 15 mL, '1 tbsp (15 mL)'; grams from USDA SR Legacy 173453 '1 tbsp = 15 g' and 1 US tbsp = 14.787 mL)

    Listed nutrients, per 100 g

    For each nutrient, the value this page uses is marked “used”. A row marked “second database” is another database’s figure for a matching food, kept so you can see how far databases disagree (they can differ in the samples analysed, lab methods and rounding). Its own cells are worked out from it, but none of the page’s words or scores are.

    NutrientPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
    Omega-3: ALA0.364 g0.06 g0.15 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Calcium6 mg0.91 mg2.39 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    6 mg0.91 mg2.39 mgcopy of USDA · not usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #6309C
    Carbohydrate35.07 g5.33 g13.97 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Choline0.5 mg0.08 mg0.2 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Energy251 kcal38.15 kcal–FDC Energy (kcal) usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy)–
    Omega-3: EPA + DHA0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Fat13.5 g2.05 g5.38 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Cholesterol0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Fatty acids, total saturated2.635 g0.4 g1.05 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Fibre1.1 g0.17 g0.44 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Folate1 µg0.15 µg0.4 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Iron0.59 mg0.09 mg0.24 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Magnesium19 mg2.89 mg7.57 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents)0.258 mg0.04 mg0.1 mglisted usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #6309C
    Phosphorus28 mg4.26 mg11.16 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Potassium96 mg14.59 mg38.25 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Protein0.69 g0.1 g0.27 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Riboflavin (B2)0.024 mg0 mg0.01 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Selenium0.7 µg0.11 µg0.28 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Sodium67 mg10.18 mg26.69 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Sugars33.04 g5.02 g13.16 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Thiamin (B1)0.004 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Vitamin A0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Vitamin B120 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Vitamin B60.004 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Vitamin C0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Vitamin D0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Vitamin E1.58 mg0.24 mg0.63 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Vitamin K13.3 µg0.5 µg1.31 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Water50.06 g7.61 g19.94 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Zinc0.25 mg0.04 mg0.1 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    NutrientPer 100 gPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
    Beta-carotene0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Copper0.142 mg0.02 mg0.06 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Ash0.55 g0.08 g0.22 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Alcohol, ethyl0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Caffeine3 mg0.46 mg1.2 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Theobromine100 mg15.2 mg39.84 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Energy1,049 kj159.45 kj417.93 kjlisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Fluoride, F35.9 µg5.46 µg14.3 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Vitamin A, IU0 iu0 iu0 iulisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Carotene, alpha0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Vitamin D (D2 + D3), International Units0 iu0 iu0 iulisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Vitamin D3 (cholecalciferol)0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Cryptoxanthin, beta0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Lycopene0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Folic acid0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Folate, food1 µg0.15 µg0.4 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Folate, DFE1 µg0.15 µg0.4 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Betaine0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Tryptophan0.01 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Threonine0.027 g0 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Isoleucine0.027 g0 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Leucine0.042 g0.01 g0.02 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Lysine0.034 g0.01 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Methionine0.007 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Cystine0.008 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Phenylalanine0.033 g0.01 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Tyrosine0.026 g0 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Valine0.041 g0.01 g0.02 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Arginine0.039 g0.01 g0.02 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Histidine0.012 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Alanine0.032 g0 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Aspartic acid0.068 g0.01 g0.03 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Glutamic acid0.103 g0.02 g0.04 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Glycine0.031 g0 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Proline0.029 g0 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Serine0.03 g0 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Vitamin E, added0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Vitamin B-12, added0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    SFA 4:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    SFA 6:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    SFA 8:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    SFA 10:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    SFA 12:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    SFA 14:00.04 g0.01 g0.02 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    SFA 16:01.955 g0.3 g0.78 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    SFA 18:00.636 g0.1 g0.25 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    MUFA 18:13.976 g0.6 g1.58 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    PUFA 18:25.905 g0.9 g2.35 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    PUFA 18:30.364 g0.06 g0.15 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    PUFA 20:40 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    PUFA 22:6 n-3 (DHA)0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    MUFA 16:10.026 g0 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    PUFA 18:40 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    MUFA 20:10 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    PUFA 20:5 n-3 (EPA)0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    MUFA 22:10 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    PUFA 22:5 n-3 (DPA)0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Phytosterols20 mg3.04 mg7.97 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Fatty acids, total monounsaturated4.002 g0.61 g1.59 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Fatty acids, total polyunsaturated6.269 g0.95 g2.5 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Lutein + zeaxanthin1 µg0.15 µg0.4 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Manganese0.142 mg0.02 mg0.06 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Niacin (B3, preformed)0.091 mg0.01 mg0.04 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Pantothenic acid (B5)0.01 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C
    Retinol0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173453C

    Change the amount to rescale the first column. Nutrients a database doesn't list are missing, not zero.

    Hazard rows as the dataset rates them

    • Cadmium · Nothing to watch: under the limit · A daily serving adds 0.086% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap. · US FDA Total Diet Study (2018–2020) · A
    • Glycidyl esters (glycidol) · Nothing to watch: rated by margin of exposure · No cap: glycidol is a genotoxic carcinogen with no safe threshold, judged by margin of exposure (EFSA: T25 10.2 mg/kg body weight/day; a margin of 25,000 or higher is low concern). One measured creamer (94.9 µg/kg) gives a serving of 1.44 µg, 0.0206 µg/kg body weight/day, a margin of about 494,981. If it were made with palm oil at EFSA's palm-oil average, a serving would carry 8.12 µg, 0.116 µg/kg body weight/day, a margin of about 87,978. That would add 39% to EFSA's highest adult average (0.3 µg/kg body weight/day) and 58% to its lowest (0.2), short of doubling. · DOI 10.3390/foods12234331 · B
    • Lead · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · No cap: no lead was detected (3 samples, limit 4 ppb); at that limit a serving carries at most 0.061 µg, 0.17% of the 35 µg/day adult mean (EFSA). No safe level is set. · US FDA Total Diet Study (2018–2020) · A
    • 3-MCPD and its esters · Nothing to watch: under the limit · No cap. Derived, not measured: EFSA's palm-oil occurrence times the creamer's fat share (palm is the conservative oil; coconut oil would give 1,706 g). The tolerable daily intake for 3-MCPD and its fatty acid esters is 2 µg/kg body weight/day (EFSA 2018), 140 µg for 70 kg; about 356 g of creamer eaten alone would reach it. A serving carries 5.98 µg, 4.3% of it, and adds 12-43% to the average adult's 14-49 µg/day, already under half the limit. · DOI 10.2903/j.efsa.2016.4426 · B
    • 3-MCPD and its esters · Nothing to watch: under the limit · No cap: this is one Singapore creamer (2023) at 120.7 µg/kg, and the paper does not say whether that is per kg of creamer or of its fat, so no grams figure is given. For orientation only, if it were on the food's weight, about 1,160 g a day would reach the tolerable daily intake (140 µg for 70 kg), and a serving would carry 1.83 µg, 1.3% of it. · DOI 10.3390/foods12234331 · B
    • Milk allergy · Worth knowing · Flagged for people with a cow's milk allergy, whatever the front of the pack says: Health Canada's milk page lists caseinate and its salts among the ingredient names to avoid, and lists flavoured coffee, coffee whitener and non-dairy creamer among other possible sources of milk. The Canadian rule on the wording 'non-dairy' was not found. Soy-based and oat-based creamers do not contain it. · Health Canada 2017 · A
    • Nickel · Nothing to watch: under the limit · No cap: nickel is rated against EFSA's tolerable daily intake of 13 µg/kg body weight/day (2020). The average adult already takes in 22-26% of it, under half, so a food would have to reach the limit on its own to matter. None was detected (3 samples, limit 40 ppb); at that limit a serving is at most 0.07% of it, and at least 22,750 g a day would reach it. · US FDA Total Diet Study (2018–2020) · A
    • Added phosphates · Nothing to watch: under the limit · No cap: EFSA's group acceptable daily intake for phosphates (2019) is 40 mg/kg body weight/day expressed as phosphorus, 2,800 mg a day for 70 kg. It covers phosphorus from all sources, so total phosphorus is the right comparison; the added part alone could not be separated. Eaten alone, about 10,000 g of creamer a day would reach it. A 15.2 g serving carries 4.3 mg phosphorus on the USDA listing (a calculated value), 0.15% of the limit; FDA's Total Diet Study measured more in non-dairy liquid creamer (77 mg per 100 g, 11.7 mg a serving), still well under 1%. The limit does not apply to moderate to severe kidney impairment. · US food database (USDA SR Legacy) · C
    • Trans fats · Not rated yet · Not rated: no measured trans-fat value for a current Canadian creamer was found. Arcand et al. 2014 (abstract only) found 66.7% of coffee whiteners in Canadian databases analysed in 2005-2011 among the categories with many products over the voluntary limits. Canada has since prohibited partially hydrogenated oils (2017 notice), so that finding is historical. A US powder figure of 5.541 g/100 g would be 0.11 g in a 2.0 g serving. · PubMed 25099549

    Sources

    Body map 2026-10-25.1: each nutrient’s job comes from an agency fact sheet, linked beside it under Good for.

    The plain words: “a lot” means one serving (100 g when the food has no serving size) gives at least 20% of the daily amount (the reference intake), “some” at least 10%, “a little” at least 2% (the cut-offs are ours, one set for every page: 20% and 10% are borrowed from the US labelling terms “high” and “good source” and applied to Health Canada’s daily amount, whereas Health Canada’s own shopper rule says 15%; provisional: they may change in a later method version). The daily amount is Health Canada’s Dietary Reference Intake for adults 19–30; where men and women need different amounts we use the higher one (protein: 56 g for men, 46 g for women). The percentage printed under each nutrient is the printed amount as a share of that daily amount, rounded to the nearest whole number, and the word is read from that percentage, so the amount, the percentage and the word always agree. Calcium with a measured absorption is scaled by how well it gets in compared with milk.

    The scale: “Nothing to watch” means a serving a day stays under the limit at ordinary amounts; “Go easy” means a serving a day can push past the limit for adults who already take in the most, or fewer than 2 servings reach it; “Limit it” means once a week or less. The dataset’s own rating is under “How we got this”. Provisional: the scale may change in a later method version.

    Measured absorption under Good for: grade-A studies in adults that tested this preparation of this food, as a share of the listed amount (the share digested, for protein), quoted once each source has passed our evidence check; animal studies and other variants stay in the table above. Provisional: this screen may change in a later method version.