FoodtopsyFrançais
A mound of cooked chickpeas

Chickpeas, cooked

Checked by us One serving: 87 g (about ½ cup) · 143 kcal

Lots of folate.

Nothing to watch.

Good for

How we counted this

What one serving (87 g) gives you.

Your body needs enough of each of these. Past enough, more doesn’t help. Amounts are what the food databases list, not what your body absorbs, unless a row says it was measured.

The words: “A lot” means one serving gives 20% or more of Health Canada’s daily amount, “Some” 10% to 19%, “A little” 2% to 9%, “Almost none” under 2%. Strongest word first; within a word, protein and fibre lead, then the biggest share.

A milligram (mg) is a thousandth of a gram, and a microgram (µg) a thousandth of a milligram: 1,000 µg make 1 mg.

21 more nutrients below “a lot”

Watch out

How we counted this
Checked for cadmium and lead: fine at normal amounts.
  • Cadmium

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need about 64 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to use up what an average adult’s intake leaves under the limit.

    Learn more

    One serving carries 0.11 µg

    How we got this

    A serving a day adds 0.6% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 71% of the limit.

    An average adult already takes in about 71% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.

    Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 130,000 g a week would reach the limit.

    Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 609 g a week, which stays within the 39,000 g of room left before the limit.

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

    A daily serving adds 0.64% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap.

    US FDA, Total Diet Study FY2018–FY2020 Elements Report Supplement · grade B

    Every food with cadmium

  • Lead

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need more than 100 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the lead an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.

    Learn more

    A serving a day adds 1% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.

    One serving carries 0.35 µg (upper bound)

    How we got this

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake

    lower bound 0, upper bound 4 µg/kg; at most +0.9-1.0% to the EFSA average of 35 µg/day

    US FDA, Total Diet Study FY2018–FY2020 Elements Report Supplement · grade B

    Every food with lead

Worth knowing

No limit applies, so none is rated.

  • Sugar

    4.2 g of sugar in a 87 g serving, natural and added together.

    Learn more

    Shown, not rated. The food tables we read give total sugar, and few give added sugar, so the site can’t yet tell sugar added in making a food from the sugar in fruit or milk.

Also measured in it

Figures from the dataset. None has a limit to be rated against, so none is a verdict.

  • Oxalate: 92–214 mg per 100 g in the sources we hold. · PubMed 29580532 · grade B

    We haven’t rated this food for oxalate. We count only a figure that comes from a grade A or B source and says it was measured per 100 g of the food as eaten, and none of the figures here does both.

  • Phytate: 694 mg per 100 g as eaten. · PubMed 30400385 · grade A

    Phytate (also written InsP6, IP6 or phytic acid), the form in which plants store phosphorus, is found in whole grains, beans and nuts. It binds zinc in the gut and lowers how much zinc and plant (non-heme) iron you absorb. No limit applies.

    Source: NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, Zinc fact sheet · NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, Iron fact sheet

Also checked (nothing to act on) · 2

Noted for context, or not measured in this food yet.

  • Chickpea is not on Health Canada's priority allergen list; no agency source naming chickpea or legume cross-reactivity was found

  • Context, not a rating. Health Canada's lectin cooking advice is written for dry red kidney beans, and its statement that canning heat destroys the lectins is about canned red kidney beans ("in canned red kidney beans, which do not require further cooking"), not canned legumes in general. Chickpeas are not named: Foodtopsy raises no lectin flag for boiled or canned chickpeas, but the agency page does not itself clear them.

Better options

How we counted this

“Better” here always means better at something the row names: more of one nutrient, more nutrients per serving, or the goal you pick. It never means better in every way.

Every amount below is for the same weight, 87 g, the size of one serving of this food, so a swap compares like with like. A serving of another food can be bigger or smaller.

Compared with the other main-dish proteins we’ve checked.

A food is listed only if it gives clearly more: at least a fifth more than this food, and at least 10% of the daily amount more.

More of what it’s good for

For folate: Chicken liver, simmered would lead, in the same 87 g, but is left out (Preformed vitamin A (retinol): limit it).

More nutrients per serving, counted together

The other main-dish proteins we’ve checked with more nutrients per serving than this one, counting at most 100 kcal. One score ranks them all, so the same few often lead.

  • Soybeans, cooked
    • More omega-3: ALA (520 mg vs 37.4 mg)
    • More riboflavin (0.25 mg vs 0.05 mg)
    • More protein (15.8 g vs 7.71 g)
    • Less folate (47 µg vs 150 µg)
  • Tofu, calcium-set
    • More calcium (305 mg vs 42.6 mg)
    • More omega-3: ALA (278 mg vs 37.4 mg)
    • More iron (4.66 mg vs 2.51 mg)
    • Less folate (13.1 µg vs 150 µg)
    • Less fibre (0.26 g vs 6.61 g)
  • Tempeh
    • More niacin (5.11 mg vs 1.69 mg)
    • More riboflavin (0.31 mg vs 0.05 mg)
    • More protein (17.7 g vs 7.71 g)
    • Less folate (20.9 µg vs 150 µg)

Where the calcium card measured that less calcium gets in than from milk, calcium counts for less; everything else is as listed.

Your goal

Your goal changes only this list, not what the food gives you or what to watch.

Losing weight: fewer calories, and more nutrients, protein and fibre for each calorie.

  • Lentils, cooked101 kcal in 87 g (this food: 143)
  • Soybeans, cooked
    • More omega-3: ALA (520 mg vs 37.4 mg)
    • More riboflavin (0.25 mg vs 0.05 mg)
    • More protein (15.8 g vs 7.71 g)
    • Less folate (47 µg vs 150 µg)
  • Tofu, calcium-set
    • 66 kcal in 87 g (this food: 143)
    • More calcium (305 mg vs 42.6 mg)
    • More omega-3: ALA (278 mg vs 37.4 mg)
    • More iron (4.66 mg vs 2.51 mg)
    • Less folate (13.1 µg vs 150 µg)
    • Less fibre (0.26 g vs 6.61 g)
Why some foods aren’t suggested

Left out: Chicken liver, simmered (Preformed vitamin A (retinol): limit it).

Bring a tracker export or describe your usual week. The same rules check all of it.

The numbers

Open every value

Name in the database: Chickpeas (garbanzo beans), cooked

How the serving was set: 125 mL (1/2 cup), cooked (Health Canada K.2: 125 mL cooked, frozen or canned); grams = CNF conversion factor 0.86644 x 100 g for 125 ml (food 3390)

Listed nutrients, per 100 g

For each nutrient, the value this page uses is marked “used”. A row marked “second database” is another database’s figure for a matching food, kept so you can see how far databases disagree (they can differ in the samples analysed, lab methods and rounding). Its own cells are worked out from it, but none of the page’s words or scores are.

NutrientPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
Omega-3: ALA0.043 g0.04 g0.03 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
Calcium49 mg42.63 mg29.88 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
48 mg41.76 mg29.27 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-662C
49 mg42.63 mg29.88 mgcopy of USDA · not usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #3390C
Carbohydrate27.42 g23.86 g16.72 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
Choline42.8 mg37.24 mg26.1 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
Energy164 kcal142.68 kcal–FDC Energy (kcal) usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy)–
Omega-3: EPA + DHA0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
Fat2.59 g2.25 g1.58 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
3 g2.61 g1.83 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-662C
Cholesterol0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
Fatty acids, total saturated0.269 g0.23 g0.16 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
Fibre7.6 g6.61 g4.63 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
10.6 g9.22 g6.46 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-662C
Folate172 µg149.64 µg104.88 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
35 µg30.45 µg21.34 µgsecond database · not used · 4.9×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-662C
Iron2.89 mg2.51 mg1.76 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
1.9 mg1.65 mg1.16 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-662C
Magnesium48 mg41.76 mg29.27 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
44 mg38.28 mg26.83 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-662C
Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents)1.943 mg1.69 mg1.18 mglisted usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #3390C
Phosphorus168 mg146.16 mg102.44 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
141 mg122.67 mg85.98 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-662C
Potassium291 mg253.17 mg177.44 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
281 mg244.47 mg171.34 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-662C
Protein8.86 g7.71 g5.4 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
8.4 g7.31 g5.12 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-662C
Riboflavin (B2)0.063 mg0.05 mg0.04 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
0.03 mg0.03 mg0.02 mgsecond database · not used · 2.1×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-662C
Selenium3.7 µg3.22 µg2.26 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
29.9 µg26.01 µg18.23 µgsecond database · not used · 8.1×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-662C
Sodium7 mg6.09 mg4.27 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
1 mg0.87 mg0.61 mgsecond database · not used · 7×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-662C
Sugars4.8 g4.18 g2.93 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
0.7 g0.61 g0.43 gsecond database · not used · 6.9×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-662C
Thiamin (B1)0.116 mg0.1 mg0.07 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
0.14 mg0.12 mg0.09 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-662C
Vitamin A1 µg0.87 µg0.61 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
Vitamin B120 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
0 µg0 µg0 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-662C
Vitamin B60.139 mg0.12 mg0.08 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
0.38 mg0.33 mg0.23 mgsecond database · not used · 2.7×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-662C
Vitamin C1.3 mg1.13 mg0.79 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
Vitamin D0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
0 µg0 µg0 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-662C
Vitamin E0.35 mg0.3 mg0.21 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
1.7 mg1.48 mg1.04 mgsecond database · not used · 4.9×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-662C
Vitamin K14 µg3.48 µg2.44 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
2.24 µg1.95 µg1.37 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-662C
Water60.21 g52.38 g36.71 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
62.3 g54.2 g37.99 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-662C
Zinc1.53 mg1.33 mg0.93 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
1.13 mg0.98 mg0.69 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-662C
NutrientPer 100 gPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
Beta-carotene16 µg13.92 µg9.76 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
23 µg20.01 µg14.02 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-662C
Copper0.352 mg0.31 mg0.21 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
0.26 mg0.23 mg0.16 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-662C
Ash0.92 g0.8 g0.56 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
Alcohol, ethyl0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
Caffeine0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
Theobromine0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
Energy686 kj596.82 kj418.29 kjlisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
Vitamin A, IU27 iu23.49 iu16.46 iulisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
Carotene, alpha0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
Vitamin D (D2 + D3), International Units0 iu0 iu0 iulisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
Cryptoxanthin, beta0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
Lycopene0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
Folic acid0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
Folate, food172 µg149.64 µg104.88 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
Folate, DFE172 µg149.64 µg104.88 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
Tryptophan0.085 g0.07 g0.05 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
Threonine0.329 g0.29 g0.2 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
Isoleucine0.38 g0.33 g0.23 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
Leucine0.631 g0.55 g0.38 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
Lysine0.593 g0.52 g0.36 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
Methionine0.116 g0.1 g0.07 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
Cystine0.119 g0.1 g0.07 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
Phenylalanine0.475 g0.41 g0.29 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
Tyrosine0.22 g0.19 g0.13 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
Valine0.372 g0.32 g0.23 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
Arginine0.835 g0.73 g0.51 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
Histidine0.244 g0.21 g0.15 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
Alanine0.38 g0.33 g0.23 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
Aspartic acid1.042 g0.91 g0.64 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
Glutamic acid1.55 g1.35 g0.95 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
Glycine0.369 g0.32 g0.22 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
Proline0.366 g0.32 g0.22 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
Serine0.447 g0.39 g0.27 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
Vitamin E, added0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
Vitamin B-12, added0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
Fatty acids, total trans0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
SFA 4:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
SFA 6:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
SFA 8:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
SFA 10:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
SFA 12:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
SFA 14:00.004 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
SFA 16:00.215 g0.19 g0.13 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
SFA 18:00.037 g0.03 g0.02 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
MUFA 18:10.578 g0.5 g0.35 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
PUFA 18:21.113 g0.97 g0.68 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
PUFA 18:30.043 g0.04 g0.03 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
PUFA 20:40 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
PUFA 22:6 n-3 (DHA)0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
MUFA 16:10.005 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
PUFA 18:40 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
MUFA 20:10 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
PUFA 20:5 n-3 (EPA)0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
MUFA 22:10 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
PUFA 22:5 n-3 (DPA)0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
Fatty acids, total monounsaturated0.583 g0.51 g0.36 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
Fatty acids, total polyunsaturated1.156 g1.01 g0.7 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
Lutein + zeaxanthin0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
Manganese1.03 mg0.9 mg0.63 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
1.38 mg1.2 mg0.84 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-662C
Niacin (B3, preformed)0.526 mg0.46 mg0.32 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
0.7 mg0.61 mg0.43 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-662C
Pantothenic acid (B5)0.286 mg0.25 mg0.17 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
0.37 mg0.32 mg0.23 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-662C
Retinol0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173757C
0 µg0 µg0 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-662C

Change the amount to rescale the first column. Nutrients a database doesn't list are missing, not zero.

Absorption studies

Studies of how much of a nutrient gets in; those done in animals are marked. This page quotes a figure only from a study that passes our screen: adults, graded A, of this food in this preparation, with a test dose on record and a source that has passed our evidence check. The exception is calcium on our calcium card: its figure comes from the card’s own study, checked with the card, and is marked “used” even where that study misses a step of this screen. The others are listed so nothing is hidden, each with the first check it fails.

No study of this food passes the screen yet, so no absorption figure is quoted.

StudyNutrientAbsorbedTest dosePeopleGradeOn this page
Kashyap 2019: chickpea, mean of 7 indispensable amino acids (true ileal digestibility)

kabuli chickpea (var. KAK-2), intrinsically 2H-labelled, grown at UAS Bengaluru · soaked 12 h, pressure cooked 15 min in the remaining soaking water, eaten in a ghee-rice and tomato-curry meal (plateau feeding, 8 h) · load not reported for chickpea protein alone: the whole test meal carried 21.5 g protein (Table 1: 21.5 ± 2.8 g), legumes supplying two-thirds of meal protein

full text read

Protein74.6 %not reported6ANot used: no test dose on record.
Kashyap 2019: chickpea, lysine (true ileal digestibility)

kabuli chickpea (var. KAK-2), 2H-labelled · as arm 1 (soaked 12 h, pressure cooked 15 min) · load not reported for chickpea protein alone: whole meal protein 21.5 g, legume two-thirds of it

full text read

Lysine60 %not reported6ANot used: no test dose on record.
Kashyap 2019: chickpea, methionine (true ileal digestibility)

kabuli chickpea (var. KAK-2), 2H-labelled · as arm 1 (soaked 12 h, pressure cooked 15 min) · load not reported for chickpea protein alone: whole meal protein 21.5 g, legume two-thirds of it

full text read

Methionine71.8 %not reported6ANot used: no test dose on record.
Kashyap 2024: chickpea, tryptophan (true digestibility, banked samples)

2H-intrinsically labelled chickpea · not stated; samples were 'banked from earlier studies' · load not reported

abstract only

Tryptophan72.6 %not reported5ANot used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study.
Rafii 2020: chickpea methionine metabolic availability (IAAO)

Canadian chickpeas, cultivar not stated · 'cooked Canadian chickpeas'; canned or dry-boiled not stated · load not reported: 3 chickpea methionine intakes tested, values not stated; reference diet 0.5, 1, 2, 3 mg/kg/d

abstract only

Methionine–not reported11ANot used: it measures something other than the share absorbed.
Devi 2020: extruded chickpea, mean amino acid digestibility (children)

not stated · extruded chickpea (children) · load not reported

abstract only

Protein89 %not reported–ANot used: no test dose on record.
Uyoga 2022: fractional iron absorption from an infant cereal with whole-grain wheat and chickpea flour (fortificant iron)

commercial product; chickpea share not stated · commercial infant cereal containing whole-grain wheat and chickpea flour, with added ferrous fumarate and ascorbic acid

abstract only

Iron12.8 %2 mg30CNot used: not graded A, so not a direct human study of this food and preparation.
Devi et al. 2018: chickpeas

desi chickpea, Indian variety JG11 · chickpea curry pressure cooked 25 min (local recipe), eaten with ghee rice; intrinsically 2H-labelled · load not reported

full text read

Protein56.6 %not reported1BNot used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study.
Hodgkinson et al. 2025: chickpeas (pig) animal study

black chickpeas (kala chana), dried; variant of chickpeas · Soaked, pressure cooked in water then lightly mashed · diet protein level not read; ration 0.08 x metabolic body weight (kg^0.75) per day

full text read

Protein71.8 %not reported6BNot used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study.

Hazard rows as the dataset rates them

  • Cadmium · Nothing to watch: under the limit · A daily serving adds 0.64% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap. · US FDA Total Diet Study (2018–2020) · B
  • Chickpea allergy · Context · Chickpea is not on Health Canada's priority allergen list; no agency source naming chickpea or legume cross-reactivity was found · Health Canada, priority allergens · A
  • Lead · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · lower bound 0, upper bound 4 µg/kg; at most +0.9-1.0% to the EFSA average of 35 µg/day · US FDA Total Diet Study (2018–2020) · B
  • Phytohaemagglutinin (raw bean lectins) · Context · Context, not a rating. Health Canada's lectin cooking advice is written for dry red kidney beans, and its statement that canning heat destroys the lectins is about canned red kidney beans ("in canned red kidney beans, which do not require further cooking"), not canned legumes in general. Chickpeas are not named: Foodtopsy raises no lectin flag for boiled or canned chickpeas, but the agency page does not itself clear them. · Health Canada, Lectins in Dry Legumes · B

Oxalate, phytate and gut-tolerance measurements

  • fodmap excess fructose: none (fructose not above glucose) g/100 g · dry matter · raw chickpea flour, as supplied · grade A · Ispiryan 2020
  • fodmap fos: fructo-oligosaccharides, two market classes g per '100-g serving' · not stated ('100-g serving'; dry or cooked weight not given) · cooked at 90 C for 4 h · grade B · PubMed 32180222
  • fodmap fructan: not detected g/100 g · dry matter · raw chickpea flour, as supplied · grade A · Ispiryan 2020
  • fodmap fructan: not detected g/100 g · dry matter · raw whole chickpea seeds · grade B · Ispiryan 2021
  • fodmap fructan: 0.13 g/100 g · as analysed (preparation and basis not stated) · channa dal (raw, cooked or split not stated) · grade B · Prichard 2016
  • fodmap gos: raffinose-family oligosaccharides (RFO: raffinose, stachyose, verbascose); two chickpea market classes g per '100-g serving' · not stated ('100-g serving'; dry or cooked weight not given) · cooked at 90 C for 4 h (soaking not stated) · grade B · PubMed 32180222
  • fodmap gos: total alpha-galacto-oligosaccharides, RAW chickpea (lowest of the five legumes) g/100 g (printed as 2500 mg/100 g) · not stated · raw seeds · grade B · PubMed 30614326
  • fodmap gos: 2.11 g/100 g · dry matter · raw chickpea flour, as supplied · grade A · Ispiryan 2020
  • fodmap gos: 2.113 g/100 g · as purchased (dry or fresh weight not stated) · chickpea flour, as sold · grade A · Natale 2025
  • fodmap gos: 3.86 g/100 g · dry matter · raw whole chickpea seeds (unmalted control of a malting experiment) · grade B · Ispiryan 2021
  • fodmap gos: 1.3 g/100 g · g/100 g as headed in the table (dried flours; dry weight not stated) · raw seed · grade B · Perez 2023
  • fodmap gos: 1.07 g/100 g · g/100 g as headed in the table (dried flours; dry weight not stated) · raw seed · grade B · Perez 2023
  • fodmap gos: 1.13 g/100 g · g/100 g as headed in the table (dried flours; dry weight not stated) · raw seed · grade B · Perez 2023
  • fodmap gos: 0.36 g/100 g · as analysed (preparation and basis not stated) · channa dal · grade B · Prichard 2016
  • fodmap gos: 2.49 g/100 g · dry matter (2487 +/- 37 mg/100 g dry matter) · raw whole chickpea seeds (Cicer arietinum), ground; bought at a local market in Tunis, Tunisia · grade A · Njoumi 2019
  • fodmap polyols: sugar alcohols (SAs) as the paper defines them; which polyols not in the abstract g per '100-g serving' · not stated ('100-g serving'; dry or cooked weight not given) · cooked at 90 C for 4 h · grade B · PubMed 32180222
  • fodmap polyols: not detected g/100 g · dry matter · raw chickpea flour, as supplied · grade A · Ispiryan 2020
  • histamine: not detected (nd) mg/kg · fresh weight · not stated (market product); reported per kg fresh weight · grade B · Sanchezperez 2018
  • lactose: not detected g/100 g · dry matter · raw chickpea flour, as supplied · grade A · Ispiryan 2020
  • lactose: not detected g/100 g · dry matter · raw whole chickpea seeds · grade B · Ispiryan 2021
  • oxalate soluble: approximately 24-72% of total oxalate soluble, all investigated pulses (chickpea-specific share not in the abstract) % of total · share of total oxalate, all pulses · raw, soaked or cooked pulses · grade B · PubMed 29580532
  • oxalate total: range across samples and treatments (raw, soaked, cooked not separable in the abstract) mg/100 g · not stated · raw, soaked or cooked Canadian chickpeas; which value is cooked not stated · grade B · PubMed 29580532
  • phytate: mean 693.94, +/- 40.67 (table footnote says standard deviation, methods say standard error); n = 3-4 mg/100 g · fresh weight: cooked, drained, rinsed product (phytic acid; dry matter 38.09 g/100 g) · household-cooked: soaked overnight, boiled 2 h in mineral water, drained, rinsed · grade A · PubMed 30400385
  • tyramine: not detected (nd) mg/kg · fresh weight · not stated (market product); reported per kg fresh weight · grade B · Sanchezperez 2018

Sources

Body map 2026-10-25.1: each nutrient’s job comes from an agency fact sheet, linked beside it under Good for.

The plain words: “a lot” means one serving (100 g when the food has no serving size) gives at least 20% of the daily amount (the reference intake), “some” at least 10%, “a little” at least 2% (the cut-offs are ours, one set for every page: 20% and 10% are borrowed from the US labelling terms “high” and “good source” and applied to Health Canada’s daily amount, whereas Health Canada’s own shopper rule says 15%; provisional: they may change in a later method version). The daily amount is Health Canada’s Dietary Reference Intake for adults 19–30; where men and women need different amounts we use the higher one (protein: 56 g for men, 46 g for women). The percentage printed under each nutrient is the printed amount as a share of that daily amount, rounded to the nearest whole number, and the word is read from that percentage, so the amount, the percentage and the word always agree. Calcium with a measured absorption is scaled by how well it gets in compared with milk.

The scale: “Nothing to watch” means a serving a day stays under the limit at ordinary amounts; “Go easy” means a serving a day can push past the limit for adults who already take in the most, or fewer than 2 servings reach it; “Limit it” means once a week or less. The dataset’s own rating is under “How we got this”. Provisional: the scale may change in a later method version.

Measured absorption under Good for: grade-A studies in adults that tested this preparation of this food, as a share of the listed amount (the share digested, for protein), quoted once each source has passed our evidence check; animal studies and other variants stay in the table above. Provisional: this screen may change in a later method version.