FoodtopsyFrançais
A whole Fuji apple and a wedge cut from another

Apple (Fuji), raw

Checked by us One serving: 140 g (about 1 small apple) · 81 kcal

Little of the nutrients we score, per serving.

Nothing to watch for most people so far.

Worth knowing for some people: choking risk under age 4; oral allergy to Rosaceae fruit.

Good for

How we counted this

What one serving (140 g) gives you.

Your body needs enough of each of these. Past enough, more doesn’t help. Amounts are what the food databases list, not what your body absorbs, unless a row says it was measured.

The words: “A lot” means one serving gives 20% or more of Health Canada’s daily amount, “Some” 10% to 19%, “A little” 2% to 9%, “Almost none” under 2%. Strongest word first; within a word, protein and fibre lead, then the biggest share.

A milligram (mg) is a thousandth of a gram, and a microgram (µg) a thousandth of a milligram: 1,000 µg make 1 mg.

No nutrient we score reaches “some” in one serving. The rest, at “a little” or less, is below.

    18 more nutrients at a little or less

    Missing from our databases for this food, so left out, not counted as zero: vitamin C, vitamin B12, omega-3: ALA and omega-3: EPA + DHA.

    Watch out

    How we counted this
    Checked for cadmium and lead: fine at normal amounts.
    • Cadmium

      Nothing to watch

      You’d need more than 100 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to use up what an average adult’s intake leaves under the limit.

      Learn more

      One serving carries 0.03 µg

      How we got this

      A serving a day adds 0.2% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 71% of the limit.

      An average adult already takes in about 71% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.

      Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 740,000 g a week would reach the limit.

      Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 980 g a week, which stays within the 220,000 g of room left before the limit.

      The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

      A daily serving adds 0.19% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap.

      Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade A

      Every food with cadmium

    • Lead

      Nothing to watch

      You’d need about 72 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the lead an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.

      Learn more

      A serving a day adds 1.4% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.

      One serving carries 0.5 µg

      How we got this

      The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake

      A daily serving adds 1.4% to the average adult's lead intake of 35 µg/day (1.3% without the 1999 composite, mean 3.18 µg/kg; 0.6% on the mean of the three most recent, 1.44), far from doubling it, so no cap. FDA Total Diet Study, red apple with peel: 0 of 27 detected, reporting limit 4 µg/kg (at the limit, at most 0.56 µg a serving, +1.6%).

      Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade A

      Every food with lead

    For some people

    • For young children: raw hard apple is a recognised choking food; the agency advice is to grate it.

    • Person-specific: apple can cause oral allergy reactions in people allergic to the rose family of fruit. In allergic patients, 'More than 40% ... tolerated the ingestion of the pulp'; reactions occurred only on whole fruit, and peels gave stronger skin-prick, histamine-release and RAST responses. Skin-on is the riskier form for these patients.

    Worth knowing

    No limit applies, so none is rated.

    • Sugar

      19 g of sugar in a 140 g serving, natural and added together.

      Learn more

      Shown, not rated. The food tables we read give total sugar, and few give added sugar, so the site can’t yet tell sugar added in making a food from the sugar in fruit or milk.

    Also measured in it

    Figures from the dataset. None has a limit to be rated against, so none is a verdict.

    • Phytate, as the source gives it: four rows: big 0.57, green 0.64, Kashmir small 0.36, small 0.45 mg/100 g edible portion (phytic acid by anion-exchange method, PHYTCPP) (per 100 g edible portion) · FAO 2018 · grade B

      Phytate (also written InsP6, IP6 or phytic acid), the form in which plants store phosphorus, is found in whole grains, beans and nuts. It binds zinc in the gut and lowers how much zinc and plant (non-heme) iron you absorb. No limit applies.

      Source: NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, Zinc fact sheet · NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, Iron fact sheet

    Also checked (nothing to act on) · 3

    Noted for context, or not measured in this food yet.

    • Shown as context: the seeds, not the flesh, carry cyanogenic glycosides. EFSA's acute reference dose for cyanide is 20 µg/kg body weight, 1.4 mg for 70 kg. Assuming full cyanide release (which EFSA calls over-conservative for such foods), that is about 24 mg amygdalin, or about 6 to 24 g of seeds at 4 to 1 mg/g (Foodtopsy's arithmetic). EFSA notes that 'fruit kernels are commonly not ingested'.

    • Not measured in this food yet. Not rated: no measured level for sound apples has been found. Reference: JECFA provisional tolerable daily intake 0.4 µg/kg body weight/day (28 µg/day at 70 kg), as stated by Health Canada. Handling advice: in 35 mouldy apples the visibly unspoiled tissue had a median of 1.91 µg/kg and a maximum of 5,020 µg/kg, so cutting out the rot does not remove the toxin.

    • Context only (not rated; new hazard name). Peeled apples carried fewer residues at lower concentrations; estimated exposure 0.04 to 2.10% of the acceptable daily intake (ADI) in adults at the 95th percentile intake of 277 g per person per day.

    Better options

    How we counted this

    “Better” here always means better at something the row names: more of one nutrient, more nutrients per serving, or the goal you pick. It never means better in every way.

    Every amount below is for the same weight, 140 g, the size of one serving of this food, so a swap compares like with like. A serving of another food can be bigger or smaller.

    Compared with the other fruits we’ve checked.

    More nutrients per serving, counted together

    The other fruits we’ve checked with more nutrients per serving than this one, counting at most 100 kcal. One score ranks them all, so the same few often lead.

    Where the calcium card measured that less calcium gets in than from milk, calcium counts for less; everything else is as listed.

    Your goal

    Your goal changes only this list, not what the food gives you or what to watch.

    Losing weight: fewer calories, and more nutrients, protein and fibre for each calorie.

    Bring a tracker export or describe your usual week. The same rules check all of it.

    The numbers

    Open every value

    Name in the database: Apple, Fuji, with skin, raw

    How the serving was set: 140 g (Health Canada TRA row J.1, fruit, fresh, frozen or canned)

    Listed nutrients, per 100 g

    For each nutrient, the value this page uses is marked “used”. A row marked “second database” is another database’s figure for a matching food, kept so you can see how far databases disagree (they can differ in the samples analysed, lab methods and rounding). Its own cells are worked out from it, but none of the page’s words or scores are.

    NutrientPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
    Calcium5.975 mg8.37 mg10.27 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1750340C
    5 mg7 mg8.59 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-319C
    7 mg9.8 mg12.03 mgcopy of USDA · not usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #7218C
    Carbohydrate15.651 g21.91 g26.89 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1750340C
    Choline3.4 mg4.76 mg5.84 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167793C
    Energy58.203 kcal81.48 kcal–FDC Energy (Atwater Specific Factors) usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods)–
    63 kcal88.2 kcal–from SR Legacy · not usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167793C
    Fat0.163 g0.23 g0.28 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1750340C
    0.5 g0.7 g0.86 gsecond database · not used · 3.1×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-319C
    Fibre2.075 g2.91 g3.57 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1750340C
    1.2 g1.68 g2.06 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-319C
    Folate0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1750340C
    Iron0.015 mg0.02 mg0.03 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1750340C
    0.09 mg0.13 mg0.15 mgsecond database · not used · 6×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-319C
    Magnesium4.67 mg6.54 mg8.02 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1750340C
    4 mg5.6 mg6.87 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-319C
    Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents)0.107 mg0.15 mg0.18 mglisted usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #7218C
    Phosphorus9.78 mg13.69 mg16.8 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1750340C
    8 mg11.2 mg13.74 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-319C
    Potassium103.8 mg145.32 mg178.34 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1750340C
    100 mg140 mg171.81 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-319C
    Protein0.148 g0.21 g0.26 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1750340C
    0.6 g0.84 g1.03 gsecond database · not used · 4×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-319C
    Riboflavin (B2)0.068 mg0.09 mg0.12 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1750340C
    0.04 mg0.06 mg0.07 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-319C
    Selenium0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167793C
    Sodium1.013 mg1.42 mg1.74 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1750340C
    1 mg1.4 mg1.72 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-319C
    Sugars13.33 g18.66 g22.9 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1750340C
    11.6 g16.24 g19.93 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-319C
    Thiamin (B1)0.006 mg0.01 mg0.01 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1750340C
    0.04 mg0.06 mg0.07 mgsecond database · not used · 6.4×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-319C
    Vitamin A2 µg2.8 µg3.44 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167793C
    Vitamin B60.035 mg0.05 mg0.06 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1750340C
    0.07 mg0.1 mg0.12 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-319C
    Vitamin D0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-319C
    Vitamin E0.18 mg0.25 mg0.31 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167793C
    0.09 mg0.13 mg0.15 mgsecond database · not used · 2×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-319C
    Vitamin K11 µg1.4 µg1.72 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167793C
    5.6 µg7.84 µg9.62 µgsecond database · not used · 5.6×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-319C
    Water83.61 g117.05 g143.65 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1750340C
    86.2 g120.68 g148.1 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-319C
    Zinc0.017 mg0.02 mg0.03 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1750340C
    NutrientPer 100 gPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
    Beta-carotene17 µg23.8 µg29.21 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167793C
    14 µg19.6 µg24.05 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-319C
    Copper0.033 mg0.05 mg0.06 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1750340C
    0.03 mg0.04 mg0.05 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-319C
    Energy (Atwater general)64.661 kcal90.53 kcal111.1 kcallisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1750340C
    Energy (Atwater specific)58.203 kcal81.48 kcal100 kcallisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1750340C
    Nitrogen0.024 g0.03 g0.04 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1750340C
    Ash0.428 g0.6 g0.74 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1750340C
    Starch0.05 g0.07 g0.09 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167793C
    Sucrose1.704 g2.39 g2.93 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1750340C
    Glucose3.038 g4.25 g5.22 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1750340C
    Fructose8.59 g12.03 g14.76 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1750340C
    Maltose0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1750340C
    Carbohydrate, by summation15.405 g21.57 g26.47 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1750340C
    Energy265 kj371 kj455.3 kjfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167793C
    Sugars, Total13.332 g18.66 g22.91 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1750340C
    Galactose0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167793C
    Vitamin A, IU38 iu53.2 iu65.29 iufrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167793C
    Carotene, alpha0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167793C
    Cryptoxanthin, beta11 µg15.4 µg18.9 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167793C
    Lycopene0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167793C
    Vitamin K (Dihydrophylloquinone)0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167793C
    Folate, food3 µg4.2 µg5.15 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167793C
    Fatty acids, total trans0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167793C
    Lactose0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1750340C
    0 g0 g0 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-319C
    Lutein + zeaxanthin11 µg15.4 µg18.9 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167793C
    Manganese0.033 mg0.05 mg0.06 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1750340C
    0.04 mg0.06 mg0.07 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-319C
    Niacin (B3, preformed)0.091 mg0.13 mg0.16 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1750340C
    0.1 mg0.14 mg0.17 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-319C
    Pantothenic acid (B5)0.051 mg0.07 mg0.09 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167793C
    0.1 mg0.14 mg0.17 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-319C

    Change the amount to rescale the first column. Nutrients a database doesn't list are missing, not zero.

    Hazard rows as the dataset rates them

    • Cadmium · Nothing to watch: under the limit · A daily serving adds 0.19% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · A
    • Choking risk under age 4 · Worth knowing · For young children: raw hard apple is a recognised choking food; the agency advice is to grate it. · Health Canada 2025 · A
    • Cyanogenic glycosides · Context · Shown as context: the seeds, not the flesh, carry cyanogenic glycosides. EFSA's acute reference dose for cyanide is 20 µg/kg body weight, 1.4 mg for 70 kg. Assuming full cyanide release (which EFSA calls over-conservative for such foods), that is about 24 mg amygdalin, or about 6 to 24 g of seeds at 4 to 1 mg/g (Foodtopsy's arithmetic). EFSA notes that 'fruit kernels are commonly not ingested'. · EFSA 2019 · B
    • Lead · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · A daily serving adds 1.4% to the average adult's lead intake of 35 µg/day (1.3% without the 1999 composite, mean 3.18 µg/kg; 0.6% on the mean of the three most recent, 1.44), far from doubling it, so no cap. FDA Total Diet Study, red apple with peel: 0 of 27 detected, reporting limit 4 µg/kg (at the limit, at most 0.56 µg a serving, +1.6%). · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · A
    • Oral allergy to Rosaceae fruit · Worth knowing · Person-specific: apple can cause oral allergy reactions in people allergic to the rose family of fruit. In allergic patients, 'More than 40% ... tolerated the ingestion of the pulp'; reactions occurred only on whole fruit, and peels gave stronger skin-prick, histamine-release and RAST responses. Skin-on is the riskier form for these patients. · Fernandezrivas 1999 · B
    • Patulin · Not rated yet · Not rated: no measured level for sound apples has been found. Reference: JECFA provisional tolerable daily intake 0.4 µg/kg body weight/day (28 µg/day at 70 kg), as stated by Health Canada. Handling advice: in 35 mouldy apples the visibly unspoiled tissue had a median of 1.91 µg/kg and a maximum of 5,020 µg/kg, so cutting out the rot does not remove the toxin. · Health Canada, List of Contaminants and Other Adulterating Substances… · B
    • Pesticide residues · Context · Context only (not rated; new hazard name). Peeled apples carried fewer residues at lower concentrations; estimated exposure 0.04 to 2.10% of the acceptable daily intake (ADI) in adults at the 95th percentile intake of 277 g per person per day. · Lecerf 2022 · B

    Oxalate, phytate and gut-tolerance measurements

    • fodmap excess fructose: contested (apple excess fructose: sources disagree 2.3-fold (2.45, 5.55, ~6.4 g/100 g)): 6.4 g/100 g by my division; cut-off < 0.15 g per serve (Table 1) g per 165 g serve · as eaten, per serve · Pink Lady apple, 165 g serve · grade B · Varney 2017
    • fodmap excess fructose: contested (apple excess fructose: sources disagree 2.3-fold (2.45, 5.55, ~6.4 g/100 g)): fructose 8.59 minus glucose 3.038; Foundation 1105897 (also Fuji): 8.4 minus 2.61 = 5.79 g/100 g · fresh weight · Fuji, with skin, raw (Foundation 1750340) · grade B · US food database (USDA Foundation Foods)
    • fodmap excess fructose: contested (apple excess fructose: sources disagree 2.3-fold (2.45, 5.55, ~6.4 g/100 g)): mean 2.45 g/100 g over 5 batches; per batch (fructose minus glucose, g/kg): 21.9, 16.6, 31.5, 23.5, 29.1 for batches 1, 2, 3, 4, 6 g/100 g (my conversion from g/kg) · fresh weight of flesh · flesh cylinders cut with a corer (no skin), 50 g purée with water 1:1, frozen at -20 C then centrifuged · grade A · Aprea 2017
    • fodmap excess fructose: contested (apple excess fructose: sources disagree 2.3-fold (2.45, 5.55, ~6.4 g/100 g)): qualitative: apple contained fructose in excess of glucose; numbers for apple not in the abstract n/a · fruit as eaten · fruits bought in Australia, HPLC-ELSD · grade A · Muir 2009
    • fodmap fructan: standard deviation 0.01; 0.87 +/- 0.04 % of dry weight; 0.22 g per 242 g portion g/100 g · fresh weight · 'edible parts' composite of at least three subsamples of different cultivars of unbranded fruit bought in Slovenian shops or markets; raw or cooked, and skin on or off, not stated · grade A · Ferjancic 2024
    • fodmap fructan: nd (not detected) g per 165 g serve · as eaten, per serve · Pink Lady apple, 165 g serve · grade B · Varney 2017
    • histamine: no HPLC-measured histamine found for whole apple: the Sanchez-Perez review's three apple rows give histamine '-' (not reported; putrescine 0.4-1.7, nd, 1.5; cadaverine nd); apple JUICE histamine nd (n 10). A colorimetric measurement exists (next row, Czerniejewska-Surma 2012) mg/kg · fresh weight · whole apple (rows) and apple juice (n = 10, histamine nd) · grade B · Sanchezperez 2018
    • histamine: pome-fruit GROUP range 17.6 to 27.27 mg/kg (apples Cortland and Golden Delicious plus Konferencja pears); numeric cells left null because the apple-only means are in a bar chart that the text layer does not give; the text says apple cultivars differed by up to 27.51% mg/kg · fresh weight, whole fruit flesh with skin · raw whole apples with skin, ground through a 3 mm sieve, from a private Wielkopolska orchard, stored about 12 h at 10-12 C before analysis; five parallel determinations · grade B · Czerniejewska 2012
    • oxalate soluble: insoluble 1.7 mg/100 g · fresh weight · raw · grade B · Salgado 2023
    • oxalate total: n = 1 mg/100 g · fresh weight · raw · grade B · Salgado 2023
    • phytate: four rows: big 0.57, green 0.64, Kashmir small 0.36, small 0.45 mg/100 g edible portion (phytic acid by anion-exchange method, PHYTCPP) · per 100 g edible portion · raw apples, India · grade B · FAO 2018

    Sources

    Body map 2026-10-25.1: each nutrient’s job comes from an agency fact sheet, linked beside it under Good for.

    The plain words: “a lot” means one serving (100 g when the food has no serving size) gives at least 20% of the daily amount (the reference intake), “some” at least 10%, “a little” at least 2% (the cut-offs are ours, one set for every page: 20% and 10% are borrowed from the US labelling terms “high” and “good source” and applied to Health Canada’s daily amount, whereas Health Canada’s own shopper rule says 15%; provisional: they may change in a later method version). The daily amount is Health Canada’s Dietary Reference Intake for adults 19–30; where men and women need different amounts we use the higher one (protein: 56 g for men, 46 g for women). The percentage printed under each nutrient is the printed amount as a share of that daily amount, rounded to the nearest whole number, and the word is read from that percentage, so the amount, the percentage and the word always agree. Calcium with a measured absorption is scaled by how well it gets in compared with milk.

    The scale: “Nothing to watch” means a serving a day stays under the limit at ordinary amounts; “Go easy” means a serving a day can push past the limit for adults who already take in the most, or fewer than 2 servings reach it; “Limit it” means once a week or less. The dataset’s own rating is under “How we got this”. Provisional: the scale may change in a later method version.

    Measured absorption under Good for: grade-A studies in adults that tested this preparation of this food, as a share of the listed amount (the share digested, for protein), quoted once each source has passed our evidence check; animal studies and other variants stay in the table above. Provisional: this screen may change in a later method version.