
Mustard greens, raw
Checked by us One serving: 85 g (about 1½ cups chopped) · 23 kcal
Lots of vitamin K1 and vitamin C.
Not tested for contaminants yet.
On warfarin? Keep your vitamin K steady. Worth knowing for some people: uncooked frozen vegetables.
Good for
How we counted this
What one serving (85 g) gives you.
Your body needs enough of each of these. Past enough, more doesn’t help. Amounts are what the food databases list, not what your body absorbs, unless a row says it was measured.
The words: “A lot” means one serving gives 20% or more of Health Canada’s daily amount, “Some” 10% to 19%, “A little” 2% to 9%, “Almost none” under 2%. Strongest word first; within a word, protein and fibre lead, then the biggest share. ?
A milligram (mg) is a thousandth of a gram, and a microgram (µg) a thousandth of a milligram: 1,000 µg make 1 mg.
- A lot
Vitamin K1
Your blood needs it to clot.
Learn more
219 µg in one serving: 183% of the 120 µg a day men need, 243% of the 90 µg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin K fact sheet for health professionals
- A lot
Vitamin C
Your body makes collagen with it, which wounds need to heal. It also helps you absorb iron from plants.
Learn more
59.5 mg in one serving: 66% of the 90 mg a day men need, 79% of the 75 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin C fact sheet for health professionals
20 more nutrients below “a lot”
- Some
Vitamin A
Your eyes need it to see in dim light.
Learn more
Getting enough matters; more than enough doesn’t sharpen your sight.
128 µg in one serving: 14% of the 900 µg a day men need, 18% of the 700 µg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin A fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Vitamin B6
Helps you use protein, and your brain needs it to make its chemical messengers.
Learn more
0.15 mg in one serving: 12% of the 1.3 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin B6 fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Vitamin E
Shields the fats in your cells from damage; your immune system uses it too.
Learn more
1.71 mg in one serving: 11% of the 15 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin E fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Calcium
Builds your bones and teeth.
Learn more
97.8 mg in one serving: 10% of the 1,000 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, calcium fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Potassium
Your nerves, muscles and kidneys need it to work.
Learn more
326 mg in one serving: 10% of the 3,400 mg a day men need, 13% of the 2,600 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, potassium fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Iron
Carries oxygen in your blood.
Learn more
1.39 mg in one serving: 17% of the 8 mg a day men need, 8% of the 18 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, iron fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Riboflavin (B2)
Your cells use it to make energy and handle fats. It also helps turn tryptophan into niacin and activate vitamin B6.
Learn more
0.09 mg in one serving: 7% of the 1.3 mg a day men need, 8% of the 1.1 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, riboflavin fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Fibre
Keeps your gut moving.
Learn more
2.72 g in one serving: 7% of the 38 g a day men need, 11% of the 25 g women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. Institute of Medicine 2005, Dietary Reference Intakes for Energy, Carbohydrate, Fiber, Fat, Fatty Acids, Cholesterol, Protein, and Amino Acids
- A little
Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents)
More than 400 of your enzymes need it to work.
Learn more
1.13 mg in one serving: 7% of the 16 mg a day men need, 8% of the 14 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, niacin fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Magnesium
Your muscles and nerves need it to work.
Learn more
27.2 mg in one serving: 7% of the 400 mg a day men need, 9% of the 310 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, magnesium fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Thiamin (B1)
Your cells use it to get energy from food, and so to grow and work.
Learn more
0.07 mg in one serving: 6% of the 1.2 mg a day men need, 6% of the 1.1 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, thiamin fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Protein
Your muscles, and every other tissue, are built and repaired from it.
Learn more
2.43 g in one serving: 4% of the 56 g a day men need, 5% of the 46 g women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. Institute of Medicine 2005, Dietary Reference Intakes for Energy, Carbohydrate, Fiber, Fat, Fatty Acids, Cholesterol, Protein, and Amino Acids
- A little
Folate
Your body needs it to make DNA and to divide new cells.
Learn more
10.2 µg in one serving: 3% of the 400 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, folate fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Zinc
Your immune system and healing wounds depend on it.
Learn more
0.21 mg in one serving: 2% of the 11 mg a day men need, 3% of the 8 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, zinc fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Selenium
Your thyroid uses it to make its hormones.
Learn more
0.77 µg in one serving: 1% of the 55 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, selenium fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Omega-3: ALA
The one omega-3 your body can’t make: it must come from food. Your cells build it into their membranes and burn it for energy.
Learn more
15.3 mg in one serving: 1% of the 1,600 mg a day men need, 1% of the 1,100 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, omega-3 fatty acids fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Choline
Your cells need it for their membranes, and to make acetylcholine, a messenger for memory, mood and muscle control.
Learn more
0.43 mg in one serving: under 1% of the 550 mg a day men need, under 1% of the 425 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, choline fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Omega-3: EPA + DHA
Long-chain omega-3s, built into your cell membranes. DHA is concentrated in your brain and retinas.
Learn more
0 mg in one serving: under 1% of the 250 mg a day.
Health Canada sets no daily amount for these fats, so the daily figure here is the European Food Safety Authority’s.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, omega-3 fatty acids fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin B12
Your body needs it to make red blood cells and keep nerves working.
Learn more
0 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 2.4 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin B12 fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin D
Your body needs it to absorb calcium and keep your bones hard.
Learn more
Your skin also makes it in sunlight, so food is only one of its sources.
0 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 15 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin D fact sheet for health professionals
Watch out
How we counted this
Not tested for contaminants yet: what hasn’t been measured is listed below.
For some people
Flag based on Health Canada's produce-safety page: frozen packaged vegetables must be cooked; outbreaks have been linked to uncooked ones; pregnant women and children under 5 are among the higher-risk groups. The advice is for frozen packaged vegetables as a whole, not for mustard greens in particular, hence grade B. It applies only if a frozen listing is added.
For people on warfarin, as the label puts it: keep vitamin K intake consistent, not avoid. Listed vitamin K: raw 257.5 µg/100 g (about 219 µg per 85 g), cooked 592.7 µg/100 g (about 504 µg per 85 g) (SR Legacy 169256 and 169257).
Learn more
Eat a steady amount, not none. This line goes on every food whose serving gives 10% or more of the daily vitamin K; a few foods below that carry it too, where a source names them. One serving here has about 219 µg of vitamin K1.
Worth knowing
No limit applies, so none is rated.
Sugar
1.1 g of sugar in a 85 g serving, natural and added together.
Learn more
Shown, not rated. The food tables we read give total sugar, and few give added sugar, so the site can’t yet tell sugar added in making a food from the sugar in fruit or milk.
Also measured in it
Figures from the dataset. None has a limit to be rated against, so none is a verdict.
Phytate: 9–35 mg per 100 g as eaten. · FAO/INFOODS/IZiNCG Global Food Composition Database for Phytate… · grade B
Phytate (also written InsP6, IP6 or phytic acid), the form in which plants store phosphorus, is found in whole grains, beans and nuts. It binds zinc in the gut and lowers how much zinc and plant (non-heme) iron you absorb. No limit applies.
Source: NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, Zinc fact sheet · NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, Iron fact sheet
Also checked (nothing to act on) · 3
Noted for context, or not measured in this food yet.
Not measured in this food yet. Cannot be rated: no food-specific or category occurrence value for mustard greens in the sources opened. Not borrowed from collards.
Not measured in this food yet. Cannot be rated: no occurrence value for mustard greens in the sources opened. Not borrowed from collards.
Not measured in this food yet. Not rated: EFSA's 2008 nitrate opinion has no figure for mustard greens. Nitrate in vegetables is shown as context, never scored.
Better options
How we counted this
“Better” here always means better at something the row names: more of one nutrient, more nutrients per serving, or the goal you pick. It never means better in every way.
Every amount below is for the same weight, 85 g, the size of one serving of this food, so a swap compares like with like. A serving of another food can be bigger or smaller.
A food is listed only if it gives clearly more: at least a fifth more than this food, and at least 10% of the daily amount more.
More of what it’s good for
More vitamin K1
Kale, cooked355 µg in 85 g (this food: 219 µg) · but less vitamin C
Turnip greens, cooked312 µg in 85 g (this food: 219 µg) · but less vitamin C
More vitamin C
Red pepper, raw109 mg in 85 g (this food: 59.5 mg) · but less vitamin K1
Green pepper, raw84.6 mg in 85 g (this food: 59.5 mg) · but less vitamin K1
Amounts as listed, not adjusted for how much gets in.
More nutrients per serving, counted together
The other vegetables we’ve checked with more nutrients per serving than this one, counting at most 100 kcal. One score ranks them all, so the same few often lead.
Turnip greens, cooked- More vitamin K1 (312 µg vs 219 µg)
- More folate (100 µg vs 10.2 µg)
- More vitamin A (324 µg vs 128 µg)
- Less vitamin C (23.3 mg vs 59.5 mg)
Kale, cooked- More vitamin K1 (355 µg vs 219 µg)
- More omega-3: ALA (286 mg vs 15.3 mg)
- More folate (55.3 µg vs 10.2 µg)
- Less vitamin C (15.1 mg vs 59.5 mg)
2 foods out of the 23 other vegetables we’ve checked and could compare give clearly more nutrients per serving.
Where the calcium card measured that less calcium gets in than from milk, calcium counts for less; everything else is as listed.
Your goal
Your goal changes only this list, not what the food gives you or what to watch.
Losing weight: fewer calories, and more nutrients, protein and fibre for each calorie.
Spinach, cooked would lead this list, but it’s left out (Cadmium: go easy · lots of oxalate, more than its own calcium can bind).
Building muscle: more protein and more calories, per 100 g. In a typical diet most protein comes from other foods; among vegetables, these help most.
Green peas, cooked5.2 g protein · 78 kcal per 100 g
1 food out of the 23 other vegetables we’ve checked and could compare gives clearly more protein, and more calories, per 100 g.
Why some foods aren’t suggested
Left out: Mustard greens, cooked (not tested for contaminants yet).
Left out: Spinach, cooked (Cadmium: go easy · lots of oxalate, more than its own calcium can bind).
Left out: Edamame, cooked (not tested for contaminants yet).
Bring a tracker export or describe your usual week. The same rules check all of it.
The numbers
Open every value
Name in the database: Mustard greens, raw
How the serving was set: 85 g (Health Canada V.1, vegetables without sauce; fresh or frozen)
Listed nutrients, per 100 g
For each nutrient, the value this page uses is marked “used”. A row marked “second database” is another database’s figure for a matching food, kept so you can see how far databases disagree (they can differ in the samples analysed, lab methods and rounding). Its own cells are worked out from it, but none of the page’s words or scores are.
| Nutrient | Per serving | Per 100 calories | How | Source | Grade | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Omega-3: ALA | 0.018 g | 0.02 g | 0.07 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| Calcium | 115 mg | 97.75 mg | 425.93 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| 130 mg | 110.5 mg | 481.48 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-298 | C | |
| 115 mg | 97.75 mg | 425.93 mg | copy of USDA · not used | Canadian Nutrient File 2026 #2126 | C | |
| Carbohydrate | 4.67 g | 3.97 g | 17.3 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| Choline | 0.5 mg | 0.43 mg | 1.85 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| Energy | 27 kcal | 22.95 kcal | – | FDC Energy (kcal) used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) | – |
| Omega-3: EPA + DHA | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| Fat | 0.42 g | 0.36 g | 1.56 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| 0.3 g | 0.26 g | 1.11 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-298 | C | |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| Fatty acids, total saturated | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | 0.04 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| Fibre | 3.2 g | 2.72 g | 11.85 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| Folate | 12 µg | 10.2 µg | 44.44 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| Iron | 1.64 mg | 1.39 mg | 6.07 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| 2.1 mg | 1.79 mg | 7.78 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-298 | C | |
| Magnesium | 32 mg | 27.2 mg | 118.52 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| 32 mg | 27.2 mg | 118.52 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-298 | C | |
| Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents) | 1.324 mg | 1.13 mg | 4.9 mg | listed used | Canadian Nutrient File 2026 #2126 | C |
| Phosphorus | 58 mg | 49.3 mg | 214.81 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| 45 mg | 38.25 mg | 166.67 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-298 | C | |
| Potassium | 384 mg | 326.4 mg | 1,422.22 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| 330 mg | 280.5 mg | 1,222.22 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-298 | C | |
| Protein | 2.86 g | 2.43 g | 10.59 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| 2.5 g | 2.13 g | 9.26 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-298 | C | |
| Riboflavin (B2) | 0.11 mg | 0.09 mg | 0.41 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| 0.13 mg | 0.11 mg | 0.48 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-298 | C | |
| Selenium | 0.9 µg | 0.77 µg | 3.33 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| Sodium | 20 mg | 17 mg | 74.07 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| 25 mg | 21.25 mg | 92.59 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-298 | C | |
| Sugars | 1.32 g | 1.12 g | 4.89 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| 0.8 g | 0.68 g | 2.96 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-298 | C | |
| Thiamin (B1) | 0.08 mg | 0.07 mg | 0.3 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| 0.07 mg | 0.06 mg | 0.26 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-298 | C | |
| Vitamin A | 151 µg | 128.35 µg | 559.26 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| Vitamin B12 | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-298 | C | |
| Vitamin B6 | 0.18 mg | 0.15 mg | 0.67 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| Vitamin C | 70 mg | 59.5 mg | 259.26 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| 71 mg | 60.35 mg | 262.96 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-298 | C | |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-298 | C | |
| Vitamin E | 2.01 mg | 1.71 mg | 7.44 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| 2.01 mg | 1.71 mg | 7.44 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-298 | C | |
| Vitamin K1 | 257.5 µg | 218.88 µg | 953.7 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| Water | 90.7 g | 77.1 g | 335.93 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| 91.3 g | 77.61 g | 338.15 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-298 | C | |
| Zinc | 0.25 mg | 0.21 mg | 0.93 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| Nutrient | Per 100 g | Per serving | Per 100 calories | How | Source | Grade |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Beta-carotene | 1,790 µg | 1,521.5 µg | 6,629.63 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| 500 µg | 425 µg | 1,851.85 µg | second database · not used · 3.6× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-298 | C | |
| Copper | 0.165 mg | 0.14 mg | 0.61 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| Ash | 1.36 g | 1.16 g | 5.04 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| Alcohol, ethyl | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| Caffeine | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| Theobromine | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| Energy | 114 kj | 96.9 kj | 422.22 kj | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| Vitamin A, IU | 3,024 iu | 2,570.4 iu | 11,200 iu | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| Carotene, alpha | 10 µg | 8.5 µg | 37.04 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| Vitamin D (D2 + D3), International Units | 0 iu | 0 iu | 0 iu | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| Cryptoxanthin, beta | 40 µg | 34 µg | 148.15 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| Lycopene | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| Folic acid | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| Folate, food | 12 µg | 10.2 µg | 44.44 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| Folate, DFE | 12 µg | 10.2 µg | 44.44 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| Vitamin E, added | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| Vitamin B-12, added | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| Fatty acids, total trans | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| SFA 4:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| SFA 6:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| SFA 8:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| SFA 10:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| SFA 12:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| SFA 14:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| SFA 16:0 | 0.005 g | 0 g | 0.02 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| SFA 18:0 | 0.002 g | 0 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| MUFA 18:1 | 0.015 g | 0.01 g | 0.06 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| PUFA 18:2 | 0.02 g | 0.02 g | 0.07 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| PUFA 18:3 | 0.018 g | 0.02 g | 0.07 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| PUFA 20:4 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| PUFA 22:6 n-3 (DHA) | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| MUFA 16:1 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| PUFA 18:4 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| MUFA 20:1 | 0.019 g | 0.02 g | 0.07 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| PUFA 20:5 n-3 (EPA) | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| MUFA 22:1 | 0.058 g | 0.05 g | 0.21 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| PUFA 22:5 n-3 (DPA) | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| Fatty acids, total monounsaturated | 0.092 g | 0.08 g | 0.34 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| Fatty acids, total polyunsaturated | 0.038 g | 0.03 g | 0.14 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| Lutein + zeaxanthin | 3,730 µg | 3,170.5 µg | 13,814.81 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| Niacin (B3, preformed) | 0.8 mg | 0.68 mg | 2.96 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| 0.8 mg | 0.68 mg | 2.96 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-298 | C | |
| Pantothenic acid (B5) | 0.21 mg | 0.18 mg | 0.78 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| 0.21 mg | 0.18 mg | 0.78 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-298 | C | |
| Retinol | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169256 | C |
| 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-298 | C |
Change the amount to rescale the first column. Nutrients a database doesn't list are missing, not zero.
Hazard rows as the dataset rates them
- Cadmium · Not rated yet · Cannot be rated: no food-specific or category occurrence value for mustard greens in the sources opened. Not borrowed from collards. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements
- Lead · Not rated yet · Cannot be rated: no occurrence value for mustard greens in the sources opened. Not borrowed from collards. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements
- Mustard allergy · Worth knowing · Mustard is a Health Canada priority allergen (seed-based evidence); whether it covers B. juncea leaves is not stated on the page opened. One case report of a reaction to raw wild-mustard leaves exists in Health Canada's systematic review. · Health Canada, priority allergens · B
- Nitrate · Not rated yet · Not rated: EFSA's 2008 nitrate opinion has no figure for mustard greens. Nitrate in vegetables is shown as context, never scored. · EFSA 2008
- Uncooked frozen vegetables · Worth knowing · Flag based on Health Canada's produce-safety page: frozen packaged vegetables must be cooked; outbreaks have been linked to uncooked ones; pregnant women and children under 5 are among the higher-risk groups. The advice is for frozen packaged vegetables as a whole, not for mustard greens in particular, hence grade B. It applies only if a frozen listing is added. · Health Canada, Produce safety · B
- Vitamin K and warfarin · Worth knowing · For people on warfarin, as the label puts it: keep vitamin K intake consistent, not avoid. Listed vitamin K: raw 257.5 µg/100 g (about 219 µg per 85 g), cooked 592.7 µg/100 g (about 504 µg per 85 g) (SR Legacy 169256 and 169257). · DailyMed 2025 · A
Oxalate, phytate and gut-tolerance measurements
- oxalate total: less than 10 mg/100 g · fresh weight · not stated (fresh vegetables bought in Southern China) · grade B · Ruan 2013
- phytate: 34.69 mg/100 g · fresh weight (edible portion) · raw leaves · grade B · FAO/INFOODS/IZiNCG Global Food Composition Database for Phytate…
- phytate: 9.18 mg/100 g · fresh weight (edible portion) · raw leaves · grade B · FAO/INFOODS/IZiNCG Global Food Composition Database for Phytate…
Sources
- Health Canada, Canadian Nutrient File 2026 (14th edition)
cnf-2026· dataset · Open Government Licence – Canada 2.0 - Public Health England, Composition of Foods Integrated Dataset (CoFID) 2021
cofid-2021· dataset · Open Government Licence v3.0 - Jantoven (warfarin sodium) tablets, DailyMed SPL, set id 19a69a72-ac5d-45d5-a94d-a5aaecbe4730, published 2025-07-10
dailymed-jantoven-2025· full text read · Product label (manufacturer copyright) - EFSA CONTAM Panel (2008) Nitrate in vegetables. EFSA Journal 689 · doi:10.2903/j.efsa.2008.689
efsa-2008-nitrate· full text read · EFSA Journal: CC BY-ND 4.0 - USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy, 2018-04
fdc-sr-legacy-2018-04· dataset · CC0 1.0 (public domain) - Health Canada, Common food allergens (priority allergens list)
hc-priority-allergens· page · Government of Canada terms (Crown copyright; not OGL) - Health Canada, Produce safety (General food safety tips)
hc-produce-safety· page · Government of Canada terms (Crown copyright; not OGL) - Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites)
hc-tds-trace-elements· dataset · Open Government Licence – Canada 2.0 - FAO/INFOODS/IZiNCG Global Food Composition Database for Phytate, version 1.0 (PhyFoodComp 1.0), FAO/IZiNCG 2018; rows 04010178 (Khokhar & Fenwick 1994, J Agric Food Chem 42:2440) and 04010179 (Indian Food Composition Tables 2017)
phyfoodcomp-1.0· dataset · FAO/IZiNCG copyright 2018 (terms not reviewed) - Ruan QY, Zheng XQ, Chen BL, Xiao Y, Peng XX, Leung DWM, Liu EE. Determination of total oxalate contents of a great variety of foods commonly available in Southern China using an oxalate oxidase prepared from wheat bran. J Food Compos Anal 2013;32(1):6-11 · doi:10.1016/j.jfca.2013.08.002
ruan2013· abstract only · Publisher copyright (journal article)
Body map 2026-10-25.1: each nutrient’s job comes from an agency fact sheet, linked beside it under Good for.
The plain words: “a lot” means one serving (100 g when the food has no serving size) gives at least 20% of the daily amount (the reference intake), “some” at least 10%, “a little” at least 2% (the cut-offs are ours, one set for every page: 20% and 10% are borrowed from the US labelling terms “high” and “good source” and applied to Health Canada’s daily amount, whereas Health Canada’s own shopper rule says 15%; provisional: they may change in a later method version). The daily amount is Health Canada’s Dietary Reference Intake for adults 19–30; where men and women need different amounts we use the higher one (protein: 56 g for men, 46 g for women). The percentage printed under each nutrient is the printed amount as a share of that daily amount, rounded to the nearest whole number, and the word is read from that percentage, so the amount, the percentage and the word always agree. Calcium with a measured absorption is scaled by how well it gets in compared with milk.
The scale: “Nothing to watch” means a serving a day stays under the limit at ordinary amounts; “Go easy” means a serving a day can push past the limit for adults who already take in the most, or fewer than 2 servings reach it; “Limit it” means once a week or less. The dataset’s own rating is under “How we got this”. Provisional: the scale may change in a later method version.
Measured absorption under Good for: grade-A studies in adults that tested this preparation of this food, as a share of the listed amount (the share digested, for protein), quoted once each source has passed our evidence check; animal studies and other variants stay in the table above. Provisional: this screen may change in a later method version.