
Corn tortillas
Checked by us One serving: 55 g (about 2 tortillas) · 120 kcal
Some magnesium.
Worth knowing: aflatoxins.
Good for
How we counted this
What one serving (55 g) gives you.
Your body needs enough of each of these. Past enough, more doesn’t help. Amounts are what the food databases list, not what your body absorbs, unless a row says it was measured.
The words: “A lot” means one serving gives 20% or more of Health Canada’s daily amount, “Some” 10% to 19%, “A little” 2% to 9%, “Almost none” under 2%. Strongest word first; within a word, protein and fibre lead, then the biggest share. ?
A milligram (mg) is a thousandth of a gram, and a microgram (µg) a thousandth of a milligram: 1,000 µg make 1 mg.
- Some
Magnesium
Your muscles and nerves need it to work.
Learn more
39.6 mg in one serving: 10% of the 400 mg a day men need, 13% of the 310 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, magnesium fact sheet for health professionals
21 more nutrients at a little or less
- A little
Vitamin B6
Helps you use protein, and your brain needs it to make its chemical messengers.
Learn more
0.12 mg in one serving: 9% of the 1.3 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin B6 fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Fibre
Keeps your gut moving.
Learn more
3.47 g in one serving: 9% of the 38 g a day men need, 14% of the 25 g women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. Institute of Medicine 2005, Dietary Reference Intakes for Energy, Carbohydrate, Fiber, Fat, Fatty Acids, Cholesterol, Protein, and Amino Acids
- A little
Zinc
Your immune system and healing wounds depend on it.
Learn more
0.72 mg in one serving: 7% of the 11 mg a day men need, 9% of the 8 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Listed amount only. 1 absorption study of this nutrient is on file for this food, but none is quoted yet. Each one is in The numbers, with the reason. See the studies
Source: NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, zinc fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Selenium
Your thyroid uses it to make its hormones.
Learn more
3.36 µg in one serving: 6% of the 55 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, selenium fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Protein
Your muscles, and every other tissue, are built and repaired from it.
Learn more
3.14 g in one serving: 6% of the 56 g a day men need, 7% of the 46 g women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Listed amount only. 1 absorption study of this nutrient is on file for this food, but none is quoted yet. Each one is in The numbers, with the reason. See the studies
- A little
Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents)
More than 400 of your enzymes need it to work.
Learn more
0.73 mg in one serving: 5% of the 16 mg a day men need, 5% of the 14 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, niacin fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Calcium
Builds your bones and teeth.
The label says 44.6 mg of calcium. Your body gets about 14.3 mg.
From our evidence: Calcium on the label vs calcium absorbed →
Learn more
tested at 94 mg · Rosado 2005: lime-treated commercial flour · grade A
- 6Corn tortillas55 g · 32% gets in · tested at 94 mg ⚑14mglabel 45
Listed: 44.6 mg. The word above is read from how well this calcium gets in compared with milk’s: 44.6 mg × 32% (gets in from this food) ÷ 32.1% (from milk) = 44.5 mg, counted as milk’s calcium, which is 4% of 1,000 mg a day.
Source: NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, calcium fact sheet for health professionals
- 6
- A little
Thiamin (B1)
Your cells use it to get energy from food, and so to grow and work.
Learn more
0.05 mg in one serving: 4% of the 1.2 mg a day men need, 5% of the 1.1 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, thiamin fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Iron
Carries oxygen in your blood.
Learn more
0.68 mg in one serving: 9% of the 8 mg a day men need, 4% of the 18 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, iron fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Potassium
Your nerves, muscles and kidneys need it to work.
Learn more
102 mg in one serving: 3% of the 3,400 mg a day men need, 4% of the 2,600 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, potassium fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Riboflavin (B2)
Your cells use it to make energy and handle fats. It also helps turn tryptophan into niacin and activate vitamin B6.
Learn more
0.04 mg in one serving: 3% of the 1.3 mg a day men need, 4% of the 1.1 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, riboflavin fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Choline
Your cells need it for their membranes, and to make acetylcholine, a messenger for memory, mood and muscle control.
Learn more
7.32 mg in one serving: 1% of the 550 mg a day men need, 2% of the 425 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, choline fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Omega-3: ALA
The one omega-3 your body can’t make: it must come from food. Your cells build it into their membranes and burn it for energy.
Learn more
18.7 mg in one serving: 1% of the 1,600 mg a day men need, 2% of the 1,100 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, omega-3 fatty acids fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin E
Shields the fats in your cells from damage; your immune system uses it too.
Learn more
0.15 mg in one serving: 1% of the 15 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin E fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Folate
Your body needs it to make DNA and to divide new cells.
Learn more
2.75 µg in one serving: 1% of the 400 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, folate fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Omega-3: EPA + DHA
Long-chain omega-3s, built into your cell membranes. DHA is concentrated in your brain and retinas.
Learn more
0 mg in one serving: under 1% of the 250 mg a day.
Health Canada sets no daily amount for these fats, so the daily figure here is the European Food Safety Authority’s.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, omega-3 fatty acids fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin A
Your eyes need it to see in dim light.
Learn more
Getting enough matters; more than enough doesn’t sharpen your sight.
0 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 900 µg a day men need, under 1% of the 700 µg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin A fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin B12
Your body needs it to make red blood cells and keep nerves working.
Learn more
0 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 2.4 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin B12 fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin C
Your body makes collagen with it, which wounds need to heal. It also helps you absorb iron from plants.
Learn more
0 mg in one serving: under 1% of the 90 mg a day men need, under 1% of the 75 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin C fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin D
Your body needs it to absorb calcium and keep your bones hard.
Learn more
Your skin also makes it in sunlight, so food is only one of its sources.
0 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 15 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin D fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin K1
Your blood needs it to clot.
Learn more
0 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 120 µg a day men need, under 1% of the 90 µg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin K fact sheet for health professionals
Watch out
How we counted this
Aflatoxins
Worth knowingRated on the lower bound only: no cap (+1.5–21% of the average adult intake). Upper bound missing because the CFIA survey publishes no detection limit (LOD), so this stays a HOLD flag, not a final rating (accepted 2026-10-14)
Learn more
Fumonisins
Nothing to watchYou’d need about 3.5 servings in a day of this food alone to reach the limit.
Learn more
One serving carries 20.4 µg
How we got this
190 g a day reaches the limit
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit
A bound, not an estimate: 3.0–20.4 µg a serving (4.9–32.7 with EFSA's +60% for modified forms) stays under half the tolerable daily intake (35 µg), so it cannot trigger a cap whatever the average adult intake is.
Checked for cadmium, lead and acrylamide: fine at normal amounts.
Cadmium
Nothing to watchYou’d need about 88 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to use up what an average adult’s intake leaves under the limit.
Learn more
One serving carries 0.08 µg
How we got this
A serving a day adds 0.5% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 71% of the limit.
An average adult already takes in about 71% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.
Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 120,000 g a week would reach the limit.
Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 385 g a week, which stays within the 34,000 g of room left before the limit.
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit
A daily serving adds 0.45% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap.
US FDA, Total Diet Study FY2018–FY2020 Elements Report Supplement · grade A
Lead
Nothing to watchRated without the share a serving adds to an average adult’s intake: the dataset stores no figure to print for this measurement.
Learn more
How we got this
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: rated by margin of exposure
under +0.6% even at the reporting limit
US FDA, Total Diet Study FY2018–FY2020 Elements Report Supplement · grade A
Acrylamide
Nothing to watchYou’d need about 46 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the acrylamide an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.
Learn more
A serving a day adds 0.9–2.2% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.
One serving carries 0.55 µg
How we got this
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake
adds 0.9–2.2%
US FDA, acrylamide in individual food products 2002–2006 · grade B
Worth knowing
No limit applies, so none is rated.
Sugar
0.5 g of sugar in a 55 g serving, natural and added together.
Learn more
Shown, not rated. The food tables we read give total sugar, and few give added sugar, so the site can’t yet tell sugar added in making a food from the sugar in fruit or milk.
Also measured in it
Figures from the dataset. None has a limit to be rated against, so none is a verdict.
Phytate, as the source gives it: 11.1–11.5 mg/g (dry weight) · Hambidge 2005 · grade A
Phytate (also written InsP6, IP6 or phytic acid), the form in which plants store phosphorus, is found in whole grains, beans and nuts. It binds zinc in the gut and lowers how much zinc and plant (non-heme) iron you absorb. No limit applies.
Source: NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, Zinc fact sheet · NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, Iron fact sheet
Better options
How we counted this
“Better” here always means better at something the row names: more of one nutrient, more nutrients per serving, or the goal you pick. It never means better in every way.
Every amount below is for the same weight, 55 g, the size of one serving of this food, so a swap compares like with like. A serving of another food can be bigger or smaller.
A food is listed only if it gives clearly more: at least a fifth more than this food, and at least 10% of the daily amount more.
More of what it’s good for
For magnesium: no other starchy sides we’ve checked give clearly more, in the same 55 g.
More nutrients per serving, counted together
The other starchy sides we’ve checked with more nutrients per serving than this one, counting at most 100 kcal. One score ranks them all, so the same few often lead.
Sweet potato, boiledMore vitamin A (433 µg vs 0 µg)
Whole-wheat bread- More selenium (14.2 µg vs 3.36 µg)
- More niacin (3.03 mg vs 0.73 mg)
- More thiamin (0.22 mg vs 0.05 mg)
2 foods out of the 4 other starchy sides we’ve checked and could compare give clearly more nutrients per serving.
Where the calcium card measured that less calcium gets in than from milk, calcium counts for less; everything else is as listed.
Your goal
Your goal changes only this list, not what the food gives you or what to watch.
Losing weight: fewer calories, and more nutrients, protein and fibre for each calorie.
Sweet potato, boiled- 42 kcal in 55 g (this food: 120)
- More vitamin A (433 µg vs 0 µg)
Whole-wheat bread- More selenium (14.2 µg vs 3.36 µg)
- More niacin (3.03 mg vs 0.73 mg)
- More thiamin (0.22 mg vs 0.05 mg)
Quinoa, cooked66 kcal in 55 g (this food: 120)
Building muscle: more protein and more calories, per 100 g. In a typical diet most protein comes from other foods; among starchy sides, these help most.
Whole-wheat bread12.3 g protein · 254 kcal per 100 g
White bread, toasted9 g protein · 290 kcal per 100 g
2 foods out of the 5 other starchy sides we’ve checked and could compare give clearly more protein, and more calories, per 100 g.
Why some foods aren’t suggested
Left out: Sweet potato, baked (Worth knowing: acrylamide).
Bring a tracker export or describe your usual week. The same rules check all of it.
The numbers
Open every value
Name in the database: Corn tortilla
How the serving was set: 55 g (Health Canada A.2, tortillas)
Listed nutrients, per 100 g
For each nutrient, the value this page uses is marked “used”. A row marked “second database” is another database’s figure for a matching food, kept so you can see how far databases disagree (they can differ in the samples analysed, lab methods and rounding). Its own cells are worked out from it, but none of the page’s words or scores are.
| Nutrient | Per serving | Per 100 calories | How | Source | Grade | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Omega-3: ALA | 0.034 g | 0.02 g | 0.02 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Calcium | 81 mg | 44.55 mg | 37.16 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| 173.282 mg | 95.31 mg | 79.49 mg | second database · not used · 2.1× | Canadian Nutrient File 2026 #3997 | C | |
| Carbohydrate | 44.64 g | 24.55 g | 20.48 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Choline | 13.3 mg | 7.32 mg | 6.1 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Energy | 218 kcal | 119.9 kcal | – | FDC Energy (kcal) used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) | – |
| Omega-3: EPA + DHA | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Fat | 2.85 g | 1.57 g | 1.31 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Fatty acids, total saturated | 0.453 g | 0.25 g | 0.21 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Fibre | 6.3 g | 3.47 g | 2.89 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Folate | 5 µg | 2.75 µg | 2.29 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Iron | 1.23 mg | 0.68 mg | 0.56 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Magnesium | 72 mg | 39.6 mg | 33.03 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents) | 1.326 mg | 0.73 mg | 0.61 mg | listed used | Canadian Nutrient File 2026 #3997 | C |
| Phosphorus | 314 mg | 172.7 mg | 144.04 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Potassium | 186 mg | 102.3 mg | 85.32 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Protein | 5.7 g | 3.14 g | 2.61 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Riboflavin (B2) | 0.065 mg | 0.04 mg | 0.03 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Selenium | 6.1 µg | 3.36 µg | 2.8 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Sodium | 45 mg | 24.75 mg | 20.64 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Sugars | 0.88 g | 0.48 g | 0.4 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Thiamin (B1) | 0.094 mg | 0.05 mg | 0.04 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Vitamin A | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Vitamin B12 | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Vitamin B6 | 0.219 mg | 0.12 mg | 0.1 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Vitamin E | 0.28 mg | 0.15 mg | 0.13 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Vitamin K1 | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Water | 45.89 g | 25.24 g | 21.05 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Zinc | 1.31 mg | 0.72 mg | 0.6 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Nutrient | Per 100 g | Per serving | Per 100 calories | How | Source | Grade |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Beta-carotene | 1 µg | 0.55 µg | 0.46 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Copper | 0.154 mg | 0.08 mg | 0.07 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Ash | 0.93 g | 0.51 g | 0.43 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Alcohol, ethyl | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Caffeine | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Theobromine | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Energy | 912 kj | 501.6 kj | 418.35 kj | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Vitamin A, IU | 2 iu | 1.1 iu | 0.92 iu | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Carotene, alpha | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Vitamin D (D2 + D3), International Units | 0 iu | 0 iu | 0 iu | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Cryptoxanthin, beta | 1 µg | 0.55 µg | 0.46 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Lycopene | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Folic acid | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Folate, food | 5 µg | 2.75 µg | 2.29 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Folate, DFE | 5 µg | 2.75 µg | 2.29 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Betaine | 0.4 mg | 0.22 mg | 0.18 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Tryptophan | 0.042 g | 0.02 g | 0.02 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Threonine | 0.218 g | 0.12 g | 0.1 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Isoleucine | 0.208 g | 0.11 g | 0.1 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Leucine | 0.711 g | 0.39 g | 0.33 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Lysine | 0.163 g | 0.09 g | 0.07 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Methionine | 0.121 g | 0.07 g | 0.06 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Cystine | 0.105 g | 0.06 g | 0.05 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Phenylalanine | 0.285 g | 0.16 g | 0.13 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Tyrosine | 0.236 g | 0.13 g | 0.11 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Valine | 0.294 g | 0.16 g | 0.13 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Arginine | 0.289 g | 0.16 g | 0.13 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Histidine | 0.177 g | 0.1 g | 0.08 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Alanine | 0.434 g | 0.24 g | 0.2 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Aspartic acid | 0.403 g | 0.22 g | 0.18 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Glutamic acid | 1.087 g | 0.6 g | 0.5 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Glycine | 0.238 g | 0.13 g | 0.11 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Proline | 0.506 g | 0.28 g | 0.23 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Serine | 0.275 g | 0.15 g | 0.13 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Vitamin E, added | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Vitamin B-12, added | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| SFA 4:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| SFA 6:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| SFA 8:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| SFA 10:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| SFA 12:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| SFA 14:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| SFA 16:0 | 0.414 g | 0.23 g | 0.19 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| SFA 18:0 | 0.039 g | 0.02 g | 0.02 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| MUFA 18:1 | 0.69 g | 0.38 g | 0.32 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| PUFA 18:2 | 1.385 g | 0.76 g | 0.64 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| PUFA 18:3 | 0.034 g | 0.02 g | 0.02 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| PUFA 20:4 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| PUFA 22:6 n-3 (DHA) | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| MUFA 16:1 | 0.002 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| PUFA 18:4 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| MUFA 20:1 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| PUFA 20:5 n-3 (EPA) | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| MUFA 22:1 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| PUFA 22:5 n-3 (DPA) | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Fatty acids, total monounsaturated | 0.692 g | 0.38 g | 0.32 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Fatty acids, total polyunsaturated | 1.419 g | 0.78 g | 0.65 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Iodine | 0.3 µg | 0.17 µg | 0.14 µg | listed used | USDA iodine database (2024) #Tortilla, corn | C |
| Lutein + zeaxanthin | 3 µg | 1.65 µg | 1.38 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Manganese | 0.326 mg | 0.18 mg | 0.15 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Niacin (B3, preformed) | 1.498 mg | 0.82 mg | 0.69 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Pantothenic acid (B5) | 0.109 mg | 0.06 mg | 0.05 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
| Retinol | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175036 | C |
Change the amount to rescale the first column. Nutrients a database doesn't list are missing, not zero.
Absorption studies
Studies of how much of a nutrient gets in; those done in animals are marked. This page quotes a figure only from a study that passes our screen: adults, graded A, of this food in this preparation, with a test dose on record and a source that has passed our evidence check. The exception is calcium on our calcium card: its figure comes from the card’s own study, checked with the card, and is marked “used” even where that study misses a step of this screen. The others are listed so nothing is hidden, each with the first check it fails.
| Study | Nutrient | Absorbed | Test dose | People | Grade | On this page |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rosado 2005: lime-treated commercial flour standard · tortillas from lime-treated commercial corn flour, with mashed potato and apple juice full text read | Calcium | 32 % | 94 mg | 9 | A | Used |
| Study | Nutrient | Absorbed | Test dose | People | Grade | On this page |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rosado 2005: lime-treated home flour lime treated home · home lime-treated tortillas full text read | Calcium | 30 % | 163 mg | 9 | A | Not used: its source hasn’t passed our evidence check yet. |
| Rosado 2005: no lime no lime · tortillas from corn flour with no lime treatment full text read | Calcium | 44 % | 4 mg | 9 | A | Not used: its source hasn’t passed our evidence check yet. |
| Hodgkinson et al. 2025: corn tortilla (pig) animal study La Morena yellow corn tortillas, Mexico · Cut into 0.5 cm pieces · diet protein level not read; ration 0.08 x metabolic body weight (kg^0.75) per day full text read | Protein | 46.6 % | not reported | 6 | B | Not used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study. |
| Hambidge 2004: wild-type isohybrid ND-WT tortillas wild-type isohybrid (ND-WT), conventional phytate content · maize tortillas ('prepared from' the hybrid); nixtamalisation and lime treatment not stated · 8-14 mg Zn/day (whole-day intake, tortillas the only food for 2 days) abstract only | Zinc | 13 % | not reported | – | A | Not used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study. |
| Hambidge 2004: wild-type isohybrid lpa1-1-WT tortillas wild-type isohybrid (lpa1-1-WT), conventional phytate content · maize tortillas; nixtamalisation not stated · 8-14 mg Zn/day (whole-day intake, tortillas the only food for 2 days) abstract only | Zinc | 15 % | not reported | – | A | Not used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study. |
| Hambidge 2004: low-phytate mutant lpa1-1-LP tortillas (about 60% less phytate) low-phytate mutant lpa1-1 (phytate reduced about 60%): NOT a market variant · maize tortillas; nixtamalisation not stated · 8-14 mg Zn/day (whole-day intake) abstract only | Zinc | 28 % | not reported | – | A | Not used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study. |
| Hambidge 2004: low-phytate mutant ND-LP tortillas (about 80% less phytate) low-phytate mutant Nutridense Low Phytate (phytate reduced about 80%): NOT a market variant · maize tortillas; nixtamalisation not stated · 8-14 mg Zn/day (whole-day intake) abstract only | Zinc | 38 % | not reported | – | A | Not used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study. |
Hazard rows as the dataset rates them
- Acrylamide · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · adds 0.9–2.2% · FDA 2002–2006 · B
- Aflatoxins · Worth knowing · Rated on the lower bound only: no cap (+1.5–21% of the average adult intake). Upper bound missing because the CFIA survey publishes no detection limit (LOD), so this stays a HOLD flag, not a final rating (accepted 2026-10-14) · CFIA 2018–2019 · B
- Cadmium · Nothing to watch: under the limit · A daily serving adds 0.45% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap. · US FDA Total Diet Study (2018–2020) · A
- Fumonisins · Nothing to watch: under the limit · A bound, not an estimate: 3.0–20.4 µg a serving (4.9–32.7 with EFSA's +60% for modified forms) stays under half the tolerable daily intake (35 µg), so it cannot trigger a cap whatever the average adult intake is. · CFIA 2018–2019 · B
- Lead · Nothing to watch: rated by margin of exposure · under +0.6% even at the reporting limit · US FDA Total Diet Study (2018–2020) · A
Oxalate, phytate and gut-tolerance measurements
- fodmap excess fructose: none (fructose 0.11 < glucose 0.15) g/100 g · as listed · ready-to-bake/fry corn tortilla, salted (Old Mill) · grade B · Canadian Nutrient File 2026
- lactose: 0 g/100 g · as listed · corn tortilla · grade B · Canadian Nutrient File 2026
- phytate: 11.1–11.5 mg/g · dry weight · tortilla · grade A · Hambidge 2005
Sources
- CFIA, Multi-Mycotoxins in Corn Products, Crackers, Other Grain Products, Pasta and Gluten-Free Products, 2018–2019
cfia-multimyco-2018-2019· dataset · Open Government Licence – Canada 2.0 - Health Canada, Canadian Nutrient File 2026 (14th edition)
cnf-2026· dataset · Open Government Licence – Canada 2.0 - US FDA, acrylamide in individual food products 2002–2006
fda-acrylamide-2002-2006· dataset · US government work (17 USC 105), public domain - US FDA, Total Diet Study FY2018–FY2020 Elements Report Supplement
fda-tds-fy2018-2020· dataset · US government work (17 USC 105), public domain - USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy, 2018-04
fdc-sr-legacy-2018-04· dataset · CC0 1.0 (public domain) - Hambidge KM, Krebs NF, Westcott JL, Sian L, Miller LV, Peterson KL, Raboy V. Absorption of calcium from tortilla meals prepared from low-phytate maize. Am J Clin Nutr 2005;82:84–7 · doi:10.1093/ajcn.82.1.84 · PMID 16002804
hambidge2005· full text read · Publisher copyright (journal article) - Hambidge KM, Huffer JW, Raboy V, Grunwald GK, Westcott JL, Sian L, Miller LV, Dorsch JA, Krebs NF. Zinc absorption from low-phytate hybrids of maize and their wild-type isohybrids. Am J Clin Nutr 2004;79:1053-1059. · doi:10.1093/ajcn/79.6.1053 · PMID 15159236
pmid:15159236· full text read · publisher copyright; <=30-word quotes only - Rosado JL, Díaz M, Rosas A, Griffit I, García OP. Calcium absorption from corn tortilla is relatively high and is dependent upon calcium content and liming in Mexican women. J Nutr 2005;135:2578–81 · doi:10.1093/jn/135.11.2578 · PMID 16251614
pmid:16251614· full text read · Publisher copyright (journal article) - Hodgkinson SM, Stroebinger N, Stein HH, Fanelli NS, de Vries S, van der Wielen N, et al. True ileal amino acid digestibility of human foods classified according to food type as determined in the growing pig. J Nutr 2025;155:3384-3400. · doi:10.1016/j.tjnut.2025.08.004 · PMID 40812478
pq_hodgkinson2025· full text read · CC BY (Europe PMC licence field) - USDA, FDA and ODS-NIH Database for the Iodine Content of Common Foods, Release 4.0 (October 2024; 478 foods). Prepared by Heydorn K, Wambogo E, Spungen JH, Ershow AG, Gahche JJ, Haggans C, Merkel J, Patterson KY, Pehrsson PR. USDA ARS Methods and Application of Food Composition Laboratory.
usda-iodine-db4· secondary source · US Government work (public domain; USDA ARS)
Body map 2026-10-25.1: each nutrient’s job comes from an agency fact sheet, linked beside it under Good for.
The plain words: “a lot” means one serving (100 g when the food has no serving size) gives at least 20% of the daily amount (the reference intake), “some” at least 10%, “a little” at least 2% (the cut-offs are ours, one set for every page: 20% and 10% are borrowed from the US labelling terms “high” and “good source” and applied to Health Canada’s daily amount, whereas Health Canada’s own shopper rule says 15%; provisional: they may change in a later method version). The daily amount is Health Canada’s Dietary Reference Intake for adults 19–30; where men and women need different amounts we use the higher one (protein: 56 g for men, 46 g for women). The percentage printed under each nutrient is the printed amount as a share of that daily amount, rounded to the nearest whole number, and the word is read from that percentage, so the amount, the percentage and the word always agree. Calcium with a measured absorption is scaled by how well it gets in compared with milk.
The scale: “Nothing to watch” means a serving a day stays under the limit at ordinary amounts; “Go easy” means a serving a day can push past the limit for adults who already take in the most, or fewer than 2 servings reach it; “Limit it” means once a week or less. The dataset’s own rating is under “How we got this”. Provisional: the scale may change in a later method version.
Measured absorption under Good for: grade-A studies in adults that tested this preparation of this food, as a share of the listed amount (the share digested, for protein), quoted once each source has passed our evidence check; animal studies and other variants stay in the table above. Provisional: this screen may change in a later method version.