FoodtopsyFrançais
A mound of cooked black beans

Black beans, cooked

Checked by us One serving: 91 g (about ½ cup) · 120 kcal

Lots of fibre and folate.

Cook dried beans well: raw or undercooked, they carry a natural toxin. Nothing else to watch.

Good for

How we counted this

What one serving (91 g) gives you.

Your body needs enough of each of these. Past enough, more doesn’t help. Amounts are what the food databases list, not what your body absorbs, unless a row says it was measured.

The words: “A lot” means one serving gives 20% or more of Health Canada’s daily amount, “Some” 10% to 19%, “A little” 2% to 9%, “Almost none” under 2%. Strongest word first; within a word, protein and fibre lead, then the biggest share.

A milligram (mg) is a thousandth of a gram, and a microgram (µg) a thousandth of a milligram: 1,000 µg make 1 mg.

20 more nutrients below “a lot”

How to handle it

Watch out

How we counted this

How to handle it, just above: Cook dried beans well

Checked for cadmium and lead: fine at normal amounts.
  • Cadmium

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need about 22 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to use up what an average adult’s intake leaves under the limit.

    Learn more

    One serving carries 0.32 µg

    How we got this

    A serving a day adds 1.8% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 72% of the limit.

    An average adult already takes in about 71% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.

    Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 49,000 g a week would reach the limit.

    Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 636 g a week, which stays within the 14,000 g of room left before the limit.

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

    A daily serving adds 1.8% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap.

    Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade B

    Every food with cadmium

  • Lead

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need about 100 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the lead an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.

    Learn more

    A serving a day adds 0.5–1% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.

    One serving carries 0.34 µg

    How we got this

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake

    No safe level is set for lead. A daily serving adds about 1.0% to the average adult's intake of 35 µg/day (0.5% at the recent mean, 1.83 µg/kg), far from doubling it, so no cap.

    Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade B

    Every food with lead

Worth knowing

No limit applies, so none is rated.

  • Sugar

    0.3 g of sugar in a 91 g serving, natural and added together.

    Learn more

    Shown, not rated. The food tables we read give total sugar, and few give added sugar, so the site can’t yet tell sugar added in making a food from the sugar in fruit or milk.

Also measured in it

Figures from the dataset. None has a limit to be rated against, so none is a verdict.

  • Phytate, as the source gives it: four samples: 1.86, 1.76, 2.08, 1.83 g/100 g (dry weight); 17.33 mg phytic acid eq/g dry basis (= 1.73 g/100 g) mg/g (dry weight) · Barreto 2021, Cardador 2020 · grade B

    Phytate (also written InsP6, IP6 or phytic acid), the form in which plants store phosphorus, is found in whole grains, beans and nuts. It binds zinc in the gut and lowers how much zinc and plant (non-heme) iron you absorb. No limit applies.

    Source: NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, Zinc fact sheet · NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, Iron fact sheet

Better options

How we counted this

“Better” here always means better at something the row names: more of one nutrient, more nutrients per serving, or the goal you pick. It never means better in every way.

Every amount below is for the same weight, 91 g, the size of one serving of this food, so a swap compares like with like. A serving of another food can be bigger or smaller.

Compared with the other main-dish proteins we’ve checked.

A food is listed only if it gives clearly more: at least a fifth more than this food, and at least 10% of the daily amount more.

More of what it’s good for

For fibre: no other main-dish proteins we’ve checked give clearly more, in the same 91 g.

For folate: Chicken liver, simmered would lead, in the same 91 g, but is left out (Preformed vitamin A (retinol): limit it).

More nutrients per serving, counted together

The other main-dish proteins we’ve checked with more nutrients per serving than this one, counting at most 100 kcal. One score ranks them all, so the same few often lead.

  • Soybeans, cooked
    • More omega-3: ALA (543 mg vs 95.4 mg)
    • More riboflavin (0.26 mg vs 0.05 mg)
    • More iron (4.67 mg vs 1.91 mg)
    • Less folate (49.1 µg vs 135 µg)
  • Tofu, calcium-set
    • More calcium (318 mg vs 24.5 mg)
    • More iron (4.87 mg vs 1.91 mg)
    • More selenium (8.09 µg vs 1.09 µg)
    • Less folate (13.6 µg vs 135 µg)
    • Less fibre (0.27 g vs 7.91 g)
  • Tilapia, cooked
    • More selenium (49.4 µg vs 1.09 µg)
    • More vitamin B12 (1.69 µg vs 0 µg)
    • More omega-3: EPA + DHA (123 mg vs 0 mg)
    • Less folate (5.45 µg vs 135 µg)
    • Less fibre (0 g vs 7.91 g)

Where the calcium card measured that less calcium gets in than from milk, calcium counts for less; everything else is as listed.

Your goal

Your goal changes only this list, not what the food gives you or what to watch.

Losing weight: fewer calories, and more nutrients, protein and fibre for each calorie.

  • Soybeans, cooked
    • More omega-3: ALA (543 mg vs 95.4 mg)
    • More riboflavin (0.26 mg vs 0.05 mg)
    • More iron (4.67 mg vs 1.91 mg)
    • Less folate (49.1 µg vs 135 µg)
  • Tofu, calcium-set
    • 69 kcal in 91 g (this food: 120)
    • More calcium (318 mg vs 24.5 mg)
    • More iron (4.87 mg vs 1.91 mg)
    • More selenium (8.09 µg vs 1.09 µg)
    • Less folate (13.6 µg vs 135 µg)
    • Less fibre (0.27 g vs 7.91 g)
  • Tempeh
    • More riboflavin (0.33 mg vs 0.05 mg)
    • More niacin (5.34 mg vs 2.05 mg)
    • More protein (18.4 g vs 8.05 g)
    • Less folate (21.8 µg vs 135 µg)
    • Less thiamin (0.07 mg vs 0.22 mg)
Why some foods aren’t suggested

Left out: Chicken liver, simmered (Preformed vitamin A (retinol): limit it).

Bring a tracker export or describe your usual week. The same rules check all of it.

The numbers

Open every value

Name in the database: Black beans, cooked

How the serving was set: 125 mL cooked = 90.88 g (Health Canada K.2; FDC 172 g per cup)

Listed nutrients, per 100 g

For each nutrient, the value this page uses is marked “used”. A row marked “second database” is another database’s figure for a matching food, kept so you can see how far databases disagree (they can differ in the samples analysed, lab methods and rounding). Its own cells are worked out from it, but none of the page’s words or scores are.

NutrientPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
Omega-3: ALA0.105 g0.1 g0.08 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
Calcium27 mg24.54 mg20.45 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
27 mg24.54 mg20.45 mgcopy of USDA · not usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #3377C
Carbohydrate23.71 g21.55 g17.96 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
Choline32.6 mg29.63 mg24.7 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
Energy132 kcal119.96 kcal–FDC Energy (kcal) usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy)–
Omega-3: EPA + DHA0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
Fat0.54 g0.49 g0.41 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
Cholesterol0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
Fatty acids, total saturated0.139 g0.13 g0.11 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
Fibre8.7 g7.91 g6.59 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
Folate149 µg135.41 µg112.88 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
Iron2.1 mg1.91 mg1.59 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
Magnesium70 mg63.62 mg53.03 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents)2.255 mg2.05 mg1.71 mglisted usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #3377C
Phosphorus140 mg127.23 mg106.06 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
Potassium355 mg322.62 mg268.94 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
Protein8.86 g8.05 g6.71 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
Riboflavin (B2)0.059 mg0.05 mg0.04 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
Selenium1.2 µg1.09 µg0.91 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
Sodium1 mg0.91 mg0.76 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
Sugars0.32 g0.29 g0.24 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
Thiamin (B1)0.244 mg0.22 mg0.18 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
Vitamin A0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
Vitamin B120 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
Vitamin B60.069 mg0.06 mg0.05 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
Vitamin C0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
Vitamin D0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
Vitamin E0.87 mg0.79 mg0.66 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
Vitamin K13.3 µg3 µg2.5 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
Water65.74 g59.74 g49.8 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
Zinc1.12 mg1.02 mg0.85 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
NutrientPer 100 gPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
Beta-carotene0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
Copper0.209 mg0.19 mg0.16 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
Ash1.15 g1.05 g0.87 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
Alcohol, ethyl0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
Caffeine0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
Theobromine0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
Energy552 kj501.66 kj418.18 kjlisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
Vitamin A, IU6 iu5.45 iu4.55 iulisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
Carotene, alpha0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
Vitamin D (D2 + D3), International Units0 iu0 iu0 iulisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
Cryptoxanthin, beta0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
Lycopene0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
Folic acid0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
Folate, food149 µg135.41 µg112.88 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
Folate, DFE149 µg135.41 µg112.88 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
Tryptophan0.105 g0.1 g0.08 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
Threonine0.373 g0.34 g0.28 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
Isoleucine0.391 g0.36 g0.3 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
Leucine0.708 g0.64 g0.54 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
Lysine0.608 g0.55 g0.46 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
Methionine0.133 g0.12 g0.1 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
Cystine0.096 g0.09 g0.07 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
Phenylalanine0.479 g0.44 g0.36 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
Tyrosine0.25 g0.23 g0.19 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
Valine0.464 g0.42 g0.35 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
Arginine0.549 g0.5 g0.42 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
Histidine0.247 g0.22 g0.19 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
Alanine0.372 g0.34 g0.28 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
Aspartic acid1.072 g0.97 g0.81 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
Glutamic acid1.351 g1.23 g1.02 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
Glycine0.346 g0.31 g0.26 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
Proline0.376 g0.34 g0.28 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
Serine0.482 g0.44 g0.37 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
Vitamin E, added0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
Vitamin B-12, added0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
Fatty acids, total trans0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
SFA 4:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
SFA 6:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
SFA 8:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
SFA 10:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
SFA 12:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
SFA 14:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
SFA 16:00.13 g0.12 g0.1 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
SFA 18:00.008 g0.01 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
MUFA 18:10.047 g0.04 g0.04 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
PUFA 18:20.126 g0.11 g0.1 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
PUFA 18:30.105 g0.1 g0.08 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
PUFA 20:40 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
PUFA 22:6 n-3 (DHA)0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
MUFA 16:10 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
PUFA 18:40 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
MUFA 20:10 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
PUFA 20:5 n-3 (EPA)0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
MUFA 22:10 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
PUFA 22:5 n-3 (DPA)0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
Fatty acids, total monounsaturated0.047 g0.04 g0.04 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
Fatty acids, total polyunsaturated0.231 g0.21 g0.18 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
Lutein + zeaxanthin0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
Manganese0.444 mg0.4 mg0.34 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
Niacin (B3, preformed)0.505 mg0.46 mg0.38 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
Pantothenic acid (B5)0.242 mg0.22 mg0.18 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C
Retinol0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173735C

Change the amount to rescale the first column. Nutrients a database doesn't list are missing, not zero.

Absorption studies

Studies of how much of a nutrient gets in; those done in animals are marked. This page quotes a figure only from a study that passes our screen: adults, graded A, of this food in this preparation, with a test dose on record and a source that has passed our evidence check. The exception is calcium on our calcium card: its figure comes from the card’s own study, checked with the card, and is marked “used” even where that study misses a step of this screen. The others are listed so nothing is hidden, each with the first check it fails.

No study of this food passes the screen yet, so no absorption figure is quoted.

StudyNutrientAbsorbedTest dosePeopleGradeOn this page
Chai & Liebman 2004: black beans, oxalate load method (two black-bean treatments pooled)

black beans, cultivar not stated · not stated

abstract only

oxalate1.8 %120 mg11ANot used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study.
Hodgkinson et al. 2022: black beans

not stated · not stated · meal with 25 g protein from the test source

full text read

Protein82 %not reported8BNot used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study.
Hodgkinson et al. 2025: black beans (pig) animal study

dried black beans (18 pigs, 3 labs) · Soaked then pressure cooked in water then lightly mashed · diet protein level not read; ration 0.08 x metabolic body weight (kg^0.75) per day

full text read

Protein66 %not reported18BNot used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study.

Hazard rows as the dataset rates them

  • Cadmium · Nothing to watch: under the limit · A daily serving adds 1.8% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · B
  • Lead · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · No safe level is set for lead. A daily serving adds about 1.0% to the average adult's intake of 35 µg/day (0.5% at the recent mean, 1.83 µg/kg), far from doubling it, so no cap. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · B
  • Phytohaemagglutinin (raw bean lectins) · Worth knowing · Safe once soaked and boiled. Black beans are not named on Health Canada's lectin page, which names soybeans, lentils, lima beans and kidney beans. · Thompson 2025 · B

Oxalate, phytate and gut-tolerance measurements

  • fodmap gos: raffinose 6.26 + stachyose 33.11 + verbascose 5.06 = 44.43 mg/g dry basis g/100 g · dry weight · non-treated seed, raw; not boiled · grade B · Cardador 2020
  • fodmap gos: three black cultivars: AAC Black Diamond 2 3.66, AC Black Diamond 3.74, CDC Blackstrap 4.31 (class mean 3.90) g/100 g · dry weight · dry seed, raw · grade B · Oleary 2026
  • fodmap gos: 4.2 g/100 g · dry weight (Discussion: mean RFO content 'by dry weight'; Table 2 header g 100 g-1; Table 5 labels the same quantity % DW) · raw dry black bean seed · grade A · Oleary 2026
  • fodmap gos: 44.43 mg/g · dry basis (mg/g db as the paper states; 44.43 mg/g = 4.44 g/100 g) · raw dry black beans, non-treated (before germination) · grade A · Cardador 2020
  • fodmap gos: 3.57 g/100 g · dry weight (Discussion: mean RFO content 'by dry weight'; Table 2 header g 100 g-1; Table 5 labels the same quantity % DW) · raw dry black bean seed · grade A · Oleary 2026
  • fodmap gos: 3.7 g/100 g · dry weight (Discussion: mean RFO content 'by dry weight'; Table 2 header g 100 g-1; Table 5 labels the same quantity % DW) · raw dry black bean seed · grade A · Oleary 2026
  • histamine: not detected (nd) mg/kg · fresh weight · not stated (market product); reported per kg fresh weight · grade B · Sanchezperez 2018
  • histamine: not detected (nd) mg/kg · fresh weight (mg/kg or mg/L, as the review's header) · see variant · grade B · Diniz 2025
  • histamine: not detected (nd) mg/kg · fresh weight · cooked bean ('feijao cozido'), species not stated · grade B · Diniz 2015
  • phytate: four samples: 1.86, 1.76, 2.08, 1.83 g/100 g · dry weight · dry grain, milled; no cooking step described (raw dry seed) · grade B · Barreto 2021
  • phytate: 17.33 mg phytic acid eq/g dry basis (= 1.73 g/100 g) mg/g · dry weight · non-treated seed (the paper's BNT sample); raw dry seed · grade B · Cardador 2020
  • tannin: 2.62 mg catechin eq/g dry basis mg/g · dry weight · non-treated seed (BNT); raw dry seed · grade B · Cardador 2020
  • tyramine: not detected (nd) mg/kg · fresh weight · not stated (market product); reported per kg fresh weight · grade B · Sanchezperez 2018

Sources

Body map 2026-10-25.1: each nutrient’s job comes from an agency fact sheet, linked beside it under Good for.

The plain words: “a lot” means one serving (100 g when the food has no serving size) gives at least 20% of the daily amount (the reference intake), “some” at least 10%, “a little” at least 2% (the cut-offs are ours, one set for every page: 20% and 10% are borrowed from the US labelling terms “high” and “good source” and applied to Health Canada’s daily amount, whereas Health Canada’s own shopper rule says 15%; provisional: they may change in a later method version). The daily amount is Health Canada’s Dietary Reference Intake for adults 19–30; where men and women need different amounts we use the higher one (protein: 56 g for men, 46 g for women). The percentage printed under each nutrient is the printed amount as a share of that daily amount, rounded to the nearest whole number, and the word is read from that percentage, so the amount, the percentage and the word always agree. Calcium with a measured absorption is scaled by how well it gets in compared with milk.

The scale: “Nothing to watch” means a serving a day stays under the limit at ordinary amounts; “Go easy” means a serving a day can push past the limit for adults who already take in the most, or fewer than 2 servings reach it; “Limit it” means once a week or less. The dataset’s own rating is under “How we got this”. Provisional: the scale may change in a later method version.

Measured absorption under Good for: grade-A studies in adults that tested this preparation of this food, as a share of the listed amount (the share digested, for protein), quoted once each source has passed our evidence check; animal studies and other variants stay in the table above. Provisional: this screen may change in a later method version.