
Turnip greens, raw
Checked by us One serving: 85 g (about 1½ cups chopped) · 27 kcal
Lots of vitamin K1, vitamin C and vitamin A. Rich in 1 more nutrient: see Good for.
Nothing to watch for most people.
On warfarin? Keep your vitamin K steady.
Good for
How we counted this
What one serving (85 g) gives you.
Your body needs enough of each of these. Past enough, more doesn’t help. Amounts are what the food databases list, not what your body absorbs, unless a row says it was measured.
The words: “A lot” means one serving gives 20% or more of Health Canada’s daily amount, “Some” 10% to 19%, “A little” 2% to 9%, “Almost none” under 2%. Strongest word first; within a word, protein and fibre lead, then the biggest share. ?
A milligram (mg) is a thousandth of a gram, and a microgram (µg) a thousandth of a milligram: 1,000 µg make 1 mg.
- A lot
Vitamin K1
Your blood needs it to clot.
Learn more
213 µg in one serving: 178% of the 120 µg a day men need, 237% of the 90 µg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin K fact sheet for health professionals
- A lot
Vitamin C
Your body makes collagen with it, which wounds need to heal. It also helps you absorb iron from plants.
Learn more
51 mg in one serving: 57% of the 90 mg a day men need, 68% of the 75 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin C fact sheet for health professionals
- A lot
Vitamin A
Your eyes need it to see in dim light.
Learn more
Getting enough matters; more than enough doesn’t sharpen your sight.
492 µg in one serving: 55% of the 900 µg a day men need, 70% of the 700 µg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin A fact sheet for health professionals
- A lot
Folate
Your body needs it to make DNA and to divide new cells.
Learn more
165 µg in one serving: 41% of the 400 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, folate fact sheet for health professionals
17 more nutrients below “a lot”
- Some
Vitamin B6
Helps you use protein, and your brain needs it to make its chemical messengers.
Learn more
0.22 mg in one serving: 17% of the 1.3 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin B6 fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Vitamin E
Shields the fats in your cells from damage; your immune system uses it too.
Learn more
2.43 mg in one serving: 16% of the 15 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin E fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Calcium
Builds your bones and teeth.
Learn more
162 mg in one serving: 16% of the 1,000 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, calcium fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Potassium
Your nerves, muscles and kidneys need it to work.
Learn more
252 mg in one serving: 7% of the 3,400 mg a day men need, 10% of the 2,600 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, potassium fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Fibre
Keeps your gut moving.
Learn more
2.72 g in one serving: 7% of the 38 g a day men need, 11% of the 25 g women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. Institute of Medicine 2005, Dietary Reference Intakes for Energy, Carbohydrate, Fiber, Fat, Fatty Acids, Cholesterol, Protein, and Amino Acids
- A little
Magnesium
Your muscles and nerves need it to work.
Learn more
26.4 mg in one serving: 7% of the 400 mg a day men need, 9% of the 310 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, magnesium fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Riboflavin (B2)
Your cells use it to make energy and handle fats. It also helps turn tryptophan into niacin and activate vitamin B6.
Learn more
0.09 mg in one serving: 7% of the 1.3 mg a day men need, 8% of the 1.1 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, riboflavin fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents)
More than 400 of your enzymes need it to work.
Learn more
0.88 mg in one serving: 6% of the 16 mg a day men need, 6% of the 14 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, niacin fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Iron
Carries oxygen in your blood.
Learn more
0.94 mg in one serving: 12% of the 8 mg a day men need, 5% of the 18 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, iron fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Thiamin (B1)
Your cells use it to get energy from food, and so to grow and work.
Learn more
0.06 mg in one serving: 5% of the 1.2 mg a day men need, 5% of the 1.1 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, thiamin fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Omega-3: ALA
The one omega-3 your body can’t make: it must come from food. Your cells build it into their membranes and burn it for energy.
Learn more
71.4 mg in one serving: 4% of the 1,600 mg a day men need, 6% of the 1,100 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, omega-3 fatty acids fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Protein
Your muscles, and every other tissue, are built and repaired from it.
Learn more
1.28 g in one serving: 2% of the 56 g a day men need, 3% of the 46 g women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. Institute of Medicine 2005, Dietary Reference Intakes for Energy, Carbohydrate, Fiber, Fat, Fatty Acids, Cholesterol, Protein, and Amino Acids
- A little
Selenium
Your thyroid uses it to make its hormones.
Learn more
1.02 µg in one serving: 2% of the 55 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, selenium fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Zinc
Your immune system and healing wounds depend on it.
Learn more
0.16 mg in one serving: 1% of the 11 mg a day men need, 2% of the 8 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, zinc fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Omega-3: EPA + DHA
Long-chain omega-3s, built into your cell membranes. DHA is concentrated in your brain and retinas.
Learn more
0 mg in one serving: under 1% of the 250 mg a day.
Health Canada sets no daily amount for these fats, so the daily figure here is the European Food Safety Authority’s.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, omega-3 fatty acids fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin B12
Your body needs it to make red blood cells and keep nerves working.
Learn more
0 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 2.4 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin B12 fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin D
Your body needs it to absorb calcium and keep your bones hard.
Learn more
Your skin also makes it in sunlight, so food is only one of its sources.
0 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 15 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin D fact sheet for health professionals
Missing from our databases for this food, so left out, not counted as zero: choline.
Watch out
How we counted this
Nothing here reaches a limit at ordinary amounts.
For some people
Listed for turnip greens, cooked; applies here too. See that page
For people on warfarin, as the label puts it: keep vitamin K intake consistent, not avoid. Listed vitamin K: SR Legacy 170466 boiled 367.6 µg/100 g, about 312 µg per 85 g (a calculated value with no data points); raw 251 µg/100 g (SR 170061); frozen boiled 518.9 µg/100 g (SR 170469).
Learn more
Eat a steady amount, not none. This line goes on every food whose serving gives 10% or more of the daily vitamin K; a few foods below that carry it too, where a source names them. One serving here has about 213 µg of vitamin K1.
Worth knowing
No limit applies, so none is rated.
Sugar
0.7 g of sugar in a 85 g serving, natural and added together.
Learn more
Shown, not rated. The food tables we read give total sugar, and few give added sugar, so the site can’t yet tell sugar added in making a food from the sugar in fruit or milk.
Also measured in it
Figures from the dataset. None has a limit to be rated against, so none is a verdict.
Phytate, as the source gives it: NOT a turnip value: bound only. Range 0.31 (sweetpotato) to 3.97 (collard) across five leaf vegetables incl. turnip; turnip-specific value not in the abstract mg/100 g phytic acid (not stated (fresh or dry)) · PubMed 8577655 · grade B
Phytate (also written InsP6, IP6 or phytic acid), the form in which plants store phosphorus, is found in whole grains, beans and nuts. It binds zinc in the gut and lowers how much zinc and plant (non-heme) iron you absorb. No limit applies.
Source: NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, Zinc fact sheet · NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, Iron fact sheet
Better options
How we counted this
“Better” here always means better at something the row names: more of one nutrient, more nutrients per serving, or the goal you pick. It never means better in every way.
Every amount below is for the same weight, 85 g, the size of one serving of this food, so a swap compares like with like. A serving of another food can be bigger or smaller.
A food is listed only if it gives clearly more: at least a fifth more than this food, and at least 10% of the daily amount more.
More of what it’s good for
More vitamin K1
Kale, cooked355 µg in 85 g (this food: 213 µg) · but less vitamin C and vitamin A
Turnip greens, cooked312 µg in 85 g (this food: 213 µg) · but less vitamin C and vitamin A
More vitamin C
Red pepper, raw109 mg in 85 g (this food: 51 mg) · but less vitamin K1 and vitamin A
Green pepper, raw84.6 mg in 85 g (this food: 51 mg) · but less vitamin K1 and vitamin A
More vitamin A
Carrots, raw710 µg in 85 g (this food: 492 µg) · but less vitamin K1 and vitamin C
Amounts as listed, not adjusted for how much gets in.
Spinach, cooked would lead this list, but it’s left out (Cadmium: go easy · lots of oxalate, more than its own calcium can bind).
Your goal
Your goal changes only this list, not what the food gives you or what to watch.
Losing weight: fewer calories, and more nutrients, protein and fibre for each calorie.
Asparagus, cooked- 19 kcal in 85 g (this food: 27)
- Less vitamin K1 (43 µg vs 213 µg)
- Less vitamin A (42.5 µg vs 492 µg)
Turnip greens, cooked- 17 kcal in 85 g (this food: 27)
- More vitamin K1 (312 µg vs 213 µg)
- Less vitamin C (23.3 mg vs 51 mg)
- Less vitamin A (324 µg vs 492 µg)
2 foods out of the 23 other vegetables we’ve checked and could compare give clearly more nutrients, protein and fibre per calorie.
Building muscle: more protein and more calories, per 100 g. In a typical diet most protein comes from other foods; among vegetables, these help most.
Green peas, cooked5.2 g protein · 78 kcal per 100 g
Kale, cooked2.9 g protein · 36 kcal per 100 g
Sweet corn, frozen, cooked2.6 g protein · 81 kcal per 100 gNeeds care in handling: see its page
Why some foods aren’t suggested
Left out: Mustard greens, cooked (not tested for contaminants yet).
Left out: Spinach, cooked (Cadmium: go easy · lots of oxalate, more than its own calcium can bind).
Left out: Edamame, cooked (not tested for contaminants yet).
Bring a tracker export or describe your usual week. The same rules check all of it.
The numbers
Open every value
Name in the database: Turnip greens, raw
How the serving was set: 85 g (Health Canada V.1, vegetables without sauce; '85 g fresh or frozen')
Listed nutrients, per 100 g
For each nutrient, the value this page uses is marked “used”. A row marked “second database” is another database’s figure for a matching food, kept so you can see how far databases disagree (they can differ in the samples analysed, lab methods and rounding). Its own cells are worked out from it, but none of the page’s words or scores are.
| Nutrient | Per serving | Per 100 calories | How | Source | Grade | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Omega-3: ALA | 0.084 g | 0.07 g | 0.26 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Calcium | 190 mg | 161.5 mg | 593.75 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| 190 mg | 161.5 mg | 593.75 mg | copy of USDA · not used | Canadian Nutrient File 2026 #2263 | C | |
| Carbohydrate | 7.13 g | 6.06 g | 22.28 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Energy | 32 kcal | 27.2 kcal | – | FDC Energy (kcal) used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) | – |
| Omega-3: EPA + DHA | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Fat | 0.3 g | 0.26 g | 0.94 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Fatty acids, total saturated | 0.07 g | 0.06 g | 0.22 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Fibre | 3.2 g | 2.72 g | 10 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Folate | 194 µg | 164.9 µg | 606.25 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Iron | 1.1 mg | 0.94 mg | 3.44 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Magnesium | 31 mg | 26.35 mg | 96.88 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents) | 1.033 mg | 0.88 mg | 3.23 mg | listed used | Canadian Nutrient File 2026 #2263 | C |
| Phosphorus | 42 mg | 35.7 mg | 131.25 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Potassium | 296 mg | 251.6 mg | 925 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Protein | 1.5 g | 1.28 g | 4.69 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Riboflavin (B2) | 0.1 mg | 0.09 mg | 0.31 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Selenium | 1.2 µg | 1.02 µg | 3.75 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Sodium | 40 mg | 34 mg | 125 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Sugars | 0.81 g | 0.69 g | 2.53 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Thiamin (B1) | 0.07 mg | 0.06 mg | 0.22 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Vitamin A | 579 µg | 492.15 µg | 1,809.38 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Vitamin B12 | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Vitamin B6 | 0.263 mg | 0.22 mg | 0.82 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Vitamin C | 60 mg | 51 mg | 187.5 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Vitamin E | 2.86 mg | 2.43 mg | 8.94 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Vitamin K1 | 251 µg | 213.35 µg | 784.38 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Water | 89.67 g | 76.22 g | 280.22 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Zinc | 0.19 mg | 0.16 mg | 0.59 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Nutrient | Per 100 g | Per serving | Per 100 calories | How | Source | Grade |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Beta-carotene | 6,952 µg | 5,909.2 µg | 21,725 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Copper | 0.35 mg | 0.3 mg | 1.09 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Ash | 1.4 g | 1.19 g | 4.38 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Glucose | 0.52 g | 0.44 g | 1.63 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Fructose | 0.29 g | 0.25 g | 0.91 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Alcohol, ethyl | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Caffeine | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Theobromine | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Energy | 132 kj | 112.2 kj | 412.5 kj | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Vitamin A, IU | 11,587 iu | 9,848.95 iu | 36,209.38 iu | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Carotene, alpha | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Vitamin D (D2 + D3), International Units | 0 iu | 0 iu | 0 iu | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Cryptoxanthin, beta | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Lycopene | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Tocopherol, beta | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Tocopherol, gamma | 0.16 mg | 0.14 mg | 0.5 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Tocopherol, delta | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Folic acid | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Folate, food | 194 µg | 164.9 µg | 606.25 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Folate, DFE | 194 µg | 164.9 µg | 606.25 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Tryptophan | 0.026 g | 0.02 g | 0.08 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Threonine | 0.082 g | 0.07 g | 0.26 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Isoleucine | 0.078 g | 0.07 g | 0.24 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Leucine | 0.137 g | 0.12 g | 0.43 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Lysine | 0.098 g | 0.08 g | 0.31 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Methionine | 0.034 g | 0.03 g | 0.11 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Cystine | 0.017 g | 0.01 g | 0.05 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Phenylalanine | 0.092 g | 0.08 g | 0.29 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Tyrosine | 0.058 g | 0.05 g | 0.18 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Valine | 0.102 g | 0.09 g | 0.32 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Arginine | 0.094 g | 0.08 g | 0.29 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Histidine | 0.036 g | 0.03 g | 0.11 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Alanine | 0.103 g | 0.09 g | 0.32 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Aspartic acid | 0.158 g | 0.13 g | 0.49 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Glutamic acid | 0.204 g | 0.17 g | 0.64 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Glycine | 0.09 g | 0.08 g | 0.28 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Proline | 0.071 g | 0.06 g | 0.22 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Serine | 0.061 g | 0.05 g | 0.19 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Fatty acids, total trans | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| SFA 4:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| SFA 6:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| SFA 8:0 | 0.001 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| SFA 10:0 | 0.002 g | 0 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| SFA 12:0 | 0.002 g | 0 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| SFA 14:0 | 0.003 g | 0 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| SFA 16:0 | 0.054 g | 0.05 g | 0.17 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| SFA 18:0 | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | 0.03 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| MUFA 18:1 | 0.005 g | 0 g | 0.02 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| PUFA 18:2 | 0.036 g | 0.03 g | 0.11 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| PUFA 18:3 | 0.084 g | 0.07 g | 0.26 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| PUFA 20:4 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| PUFA 22:6 n-3 (DHA) | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| MUFA 16:1 | 0.014 g | 0.01 g | 0.04 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| PUFA 18:4 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| MUFA 20:1 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| PUFA 20:5 n-3 (EPA) | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| MUFA 22:1 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| PUFA 22:5 n-3 (DPA) | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Phytosterols | 12 mg | 10.2 mg | 37.5 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Fatty acids, total monounsaturated | 0.02 g | 0.02 g | 0.06 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Fatty acids, total polyunsaturated | 0.12 g | 0.1 g | 0.38 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Lutein + zeaxanthin | 12,825 µg | 10,901.25 µg | 40,078.13 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Manganese | 0.466 mg | 0.4 mg | 1.46 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Niacin (B3, preformed) | 0.6 mg | 0.51 mg | 1.88 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Pantothenic acid (B5) | 0.38 mg | 0.32 mg | 1.19 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
| Retinol | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170061 | C |
Change the amount to rescale the first column. Nutrients a database doesn't list are missing, not zero.
Absorption studies
Studies of how much of a nutrient gets in; those done in animals are marked. This page quotes a figure only from a study that passes our screen: adults, graded A, of this food in this preparation, with a test dose on record and a source that has passed our evidence check. The exception is calcium on our calcium card: its figure comes from the card’s own study, checked with the card, and is marked “used” even where that study misses a step of this screen. The others are listed so nothing is hidden, each with the first check it fails.
No study of this food passes the screen yet, so no absorption figure is quoted.
| Study | Nutrient | Absorbed | Test dose | People | Grade | On this page |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Brinkley, Gregory & Pak 1990: turnip greens, oxalate bioavailability (urinary oxalate over 8 h) not stated · not stated abstract only | oxalate | 5.8 % | 12 mg | 9 | A | Not used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study. |
Oxalate, phytate and gut-tolerance measurements
- fodmap excess fructose: 2.83 mg/g · dry weight (freeze-dried leaf) · raw leaf of the turnip plant (leaf = the 'greens'), freeze-dried · grade B · Yang 2023
- oxalate total: mean 138.40, standard deviation 56.38, 22 producers (Grelos de Galicia); total vs soluble not stated mg/100 g · fresh weight · fresh edible portion, cleaned with water, selected, cut; analysed as a fresh homogenate (raw vs cooked not stated) · grade A · Arias 2014
- oxalate total: 12 mg oxalate per test load (a 'large serving'); serving mass not in the abstract, so not convertible to mg/100 g mg per test load · not stated · not stated · grade B · PubMed 2359186
- oxalate total: trace amounts (no number in the abstract); turnip leaves, raw and blanched analysed not stated · not stated · raw and blanched (conventional and microwave) both analysed; per-treatment values not stated · grade B · PubMed 8577655
- phytate: NOT a turnip value: bound only. Range 0.31 (sweetpotato) to 3.97 (collard) across five leaf vegetables incl. turnip; turnip-specific value not in the abstract mg/100 g phytic acid · not stated (fresh or dry) · raw and blanched analysed; both blanching methods significantly reduced phytic acid · grade B · PubMed 8577655
Sources
- Arias-Carmona MD, Romero-Rodriguez MA, Vazquez-Oderiz ML. Determination of organic acids in Brassica rapa L. leaves (turnip greens and turnip tops) regulated by the PGI 'Grelos de Galicia'. J Food Nutr Res 2014;2(11):786-791 · doi:10.12691/jfnr-2-11-5
arias-carmona-2014· full text read · Publisher copyright; page says open access but 'All Rights Reserved' - Health Canada, Canadian Nutrient File 2026 (14th edition)
cnf-2026· dataset · Open Government Licence – Canada 2.0 - USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy, 2018-04
fdc-sr-legacy-2018-04· dataset · CC0 1.0 (public domain) - Brinkley LJ, Gregory J, Pak CY. A further study of oxalate bioavailability in foods. J Urol 1990;144(1):94-6 · doi:10.1016/s0022-5347(17)39377-1 · PMID 2359186
pmid:2359186· abstract only · Publisher copyright (journal article) - Mosha TC, Gaga HE, Pace RD, Laswai HS, Mtebe K. Effect of blanching on the content of antinutritional factors in selected vegetables. Plant Foods Hum Nutr 1995;47(4):361-7 · doi:10.1007/BF01088275 · PMID 8577655
pmid:8577655· abstract only · Publisher copyright (journal article) - Yang [initials not captured], Lou, Zhong, Li, et al. Chemical profile of turnip according to the plant part and the cultivar: a multivariate approach. Foods 2023;12(17):3195. · doi:10.3390/foods12173195 · PMID 37685128
yang-2023-foods· full text read · CC BY 4.0 (open access)
Body map 2026-10-25.1: each nutrient’s job comes from an agency fact sheet, linked beside it under Good for.
The plain words: “a lot” means one serving (100 g when the food has no serving size) gives at least 20% of the daily amount (the reference intake), “some” at least 10%, “a little” at least 2% (the cut-offs are ours, one set for every page: 20% and 10% are borrowed from the US labelling terms “high” and “good source” and applied to Health Canada’s daily amount, whereas Health Canada’s own shopper rule says 15%; provisional: they may change in a later method version). The daily amount is Health Canada’s Dietary Reference Intake for adults 19–30; where men and women need different amounts we use the higher one (protein: 56 g for men, 46 g for women). The percentage printed under each nutrient is the printed amount as a share of that daily amount, rounded to the nearest whole number, and the word is read from that percentage, so the amount, the percentage and the word always agree. Calcium with a measured absorption is scaled by how well it gets in compared with milk.
The scale: “Nothing to watch” means a serving a day stays under the limit at ordinary amounts; “Go easy” means a serving a day can push past the limit for adults who already take in the most, or fewer than 2 servings reach it; “Limit it” means once a week or less. The dataset’s own rating is under “How we got this”. Provisional: the scale may change in a later method version.
Measured absorption under Good for: grade-A studies in adults that tested this preparation of this food, as a share of the listed amount (the share digested, for protein), quoted once each source has passed our evidence check; animal studies and other variants stay in the table above. Provisional: this screen may change in a later method version.