
Albacore (white) tuna, canned in water
Checked by us One serving: 55 g (about ⅓ can) · 70 kcal
Weighed drained, without the liquid in the can.
Protein, plus omega-3: EPA + DHA and selenium. Rich in 2 more nutrients: see Good for.
Limit it to once a week or less: methylmercury.
Good for
How we counted this
What one serving (55 g) gives you.
Your body needs enough of each of these. Past enough, more doesn’t help. Amounts are what the food databases list, not what your body absorbs, unless a row says it was measured.
The words: “A lot” means one serving gives 20% or more of Health Canada’s daily amount, “Some” 10% to 19%, “A little” 2% to 9%, “Almost none” under 2%. Strongest word first; within a word, protein and fibre lead, then the biggest share. ?
A milligram (mg) is a thousandth of a gram, and a microgram (µg) a thousandth of a milligram: 1,000 µg make 1 mg.
- A lot
Protein
Your muscles, and every other tissue, are built and repaired from it.
Learn more
13 g in one serving: 23% of the 56 g a day men need, 28% of the 46 g women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. Institute of Medicine 2005, Dietary Reference Intakes for Energy, Carbohydrate, Fiber, Fat, Fatty Acids, Cholesterol, Protein, and Amino Acids
- A lot
Omega-3: EPA + DHA
Long-chain omega-3s, built into your cell membranes. DHA is concentrated in your brain and retinas.
Learn more
474 mg in one serving: 190% of the 250 mg a day.
Health Canada sets no daily amount for these fats, so the daily figure here is the European Food Safety Authority’s.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, omega-3 fatty acids fact sheet for health professionals
- A lot
Selenium
Your thyroid uses it to make its hormones.
Learn more
36.1 µg in one serving: 66% of the 55 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, selenium fact sheet for health professionals
- A lot
Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents)
More than 400 of your enzymes need it to work.
Learn more
5.62 mg in one serving: 35% of the 16 mg a day men need, 40% of the 14 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, niacin fact sheet for health professionals
- A lot
Vitamin B12
Your body needs it to make red blood cells and keep nerves working.
Learn more
0.64 µg in one serving: 27% of the 2.4 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin B12 fact sheet for health professionals
17 more nutrients below “a lot”
- A little
Vitamin B6
Helps you use protein, and your brain needs it to make its chemical messengers.
Learn more
0.12 mg in one serving: 9% of the 1.3 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin B6 fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Vitamin D
Your body needs it to absorb calcium and keep your bones hard.
Learn more
Your skin also makes it in sunlight, so food is only one of its sources.
1.1 µg in one serving: 7% of the 15 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin D fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Magnesium
Your muscles and nerves need it to work.
Learn more
18.2 mg in one serving: 5% of the 400 mg a day men need, 6% of the 310 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, magnesium fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Potassium
Your nerves, muscles and kidneys need it to work.
Learn more
130 mg in one serving: 4% of the 3,400 mg a day men need, 5% of the 2,600 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, potassium fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Vitamin E
Shields the fats in your cells from damage; your immune system uses it too.
Learn more
0.47 mg in one serving: 3% of the 15 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin E fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Iron
Carries oxygen in your blood.
Learn more
0.53 mg in one serving: 7% of the 8 mg a day men need, 3% of the 18 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, iron fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Choline
Your cells need it for their membranes, and to make acetylcholine, a messenger for memory, mood and muscle control.
Learn more
16.1 mg in one serving: 3% of the 550 mg a day men need, 4% of the 425 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, choline fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Omega-3: ALA
The one omega-3 your body can’t make: it must come from food. Your cells build it into their membranes and burn it for energy.
Learn more
39.1 mg in one serving: 2% of the 1,600 mg a day men need, 4% of the 1,100 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, omega-3 fatty acids fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Zinc
Your immune system and healing wounds depend on it.
Learn more
0.26 mg in one serving: 2% of the 11 mg a day men need, 3% of the 8 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, zinc fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Riboflavin (B2)
Your cells use it to make energy and handle fats. It also helps turn tryptophan into niacin and activate vitamin B6.
Learn more
0.02 mg in one serving: 2% of the 1.3 mg a day men need, 2% of the 1.1 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, riboflavin fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin K1
Your blood needs it to clot.
Learn more
1.38 µg in one serving: 1% of the 120 µg a day men need, 2% of the 90 µg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin K fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Calcium
Builds your bones and teeth.
Learn more
7.7 mg in one serving: 1% of the 1,000 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, calcium fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Thiamin (B1)
Your cells use it to get energy from food, and so to grow and work.
Learn more
0 mg in one serving: under 1% of the 1.2 mg a day men need, under 1% of the 1.1 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, thiamin fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin A
Your eyes need it to see in dim light.
Learn more
Getting enough matters; more than enough doesn’t sharpen your sight.
3.3 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 900 µg a day men need, under 1% of the 700 µg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin A fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Folate
Your body needs it to make DNA and to divide new cells.
Learn more
1.1 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 400 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, folate fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Fibre
Keeps your gut moving.
Learn more
0 g in one serving: under 1% of the 38 g a day men need, under 1% of the 25 g women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. Institute of Medicine 2005, Dietary Reference Intakes for Energy, Carbohydrate, Fiber, Fat, Fatty Acids, Cholesterol, Protein, and Amino Acids
- Almost none
Vitamin C
Your body makes collagen with it, which wounds need to heal. It also helps you absorb iron from plants.
Learn more
0 mg in one serving: under 1% of the 90 mg a day men need, under 1% of the 75 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin C fact sheet for health professionals
Watch out
How we counted this
Methylmercury
Limit itCan harm a developing brain, before birth and in childhood.
Learn more
210 g a week takes an average adult to the limit
You’d need about 3.8 servings a week of this food alone to use up what an average adult’s intake leaves under the limit.
One serving carries 19.7 µg
Women who are or may become pregnant, and children: 39 g a day.
How we got this
An average adult already takes in about 18% of the limit. One serving a day uses up the room left in about 3.8 days of the week.
Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 250 g a week would reach the limit.
The dataset’s rating: Limit it: weekly or less
Once a week or less: a daily 55 g serving is 1.97 µg/kg body weight/week, 152% of the EFSA tolerable weekly intake of 1.3 µg/kg body weight/week (148% on the FDA albacore mean); one serving a week is 22%, and 4.6 servings a week reach the limit. Health Canada's advice is looser: up to 300 g a week for women who are or may become pregnant and for breastfeeding mothers, 150 g a week for children aged 5-11 and 75 g a week for children aged 1-4.
CFIA, Mercury and Metals in Fish Products 2000-2021 (tuna rows: 7,072; canned 2,388) · grade A
Checked for cadmium and lead: fine at normal amounts.
Cadmium
Nothing to watchYou’d need about 15 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to use up what an average adult’s intake leaves under the limit.
Learn more
One serving carries 0.49 µg
How we got this
A serving a day adds 2.8% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 73% of the limit.
An average adult already takes in about 71% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.
Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 20,000 g a week would reach the limit.
Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 385 g a week, which stays within the 5,700 g of room left before the limit.
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit
A daily serving adds 2.8% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap.
CFIA, Mercury and Metals in Fish Products 2000-2021 (tuna rows: 7,072; canned 2,388) · grade A
Lead
Nothing to watchYou’d need more than 100 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the lead an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.
Learn more
A serving a day adds 0.1% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.
One serving carries 0.03 µg
How we got this
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake
+0.1% of EFSA average adult intake (35 µg/day)
CFIA, Mercury and Metals in Fish Products 2000-2021 (tuna rows: 7,072; canned 2,388) · grade A
For some people
Measured, not rated: 64.3 mg purines
Learn more
If you have gout: avoiding organ meats such as liver, which are higher in purines, is one of the diet changes that help lower uric acid in the blood and the number of flares, according to the US National Institutes of Health (NIH).
Source: NIAMS (NIH), Gout: diagnosis, treatment, and steps to take
How we got this
Not rated for people with gout or hyperuricemia: the only reference is a Japanese dietary recommendation of 400 mg purines a day, seen through Kaneko 2014 rather than an agency document, so no reference is established. Canned tuna measures 116.9 mg purines per 100 g (HPLC, Kaneko 2014, four purine bases; the species and packing liquid are not stated). A 55 g serving carries about 64 mg. For scale only, 400 mg would be reached at about 342 g.
Worth knowing
No limit applies, so none is rated.
Sugar
0 g of sugar in a 55 g serving, natural and added together.
Learn more
Shown, not rated. The food tables we read give total sugar, and few give added sugar, so the site can’t yet tell sugar added in making a food from the sugar in fruit or milk.
Better options
How we counted this
“Better” here always means better at something the row names: more of one nutrient, more nutrients per serving, or the goal you pick. It never means better in every way.
Every amount below is for the same weight, 55 g, the size of one serving of this food, so a swap compares like with like. A serving of another food can be bigger or smaller.
A food is listed only if it gives clearly more: at least a fifth more than this food, and at least 10% of the daily amount more.
More of what it’s good for
For protein: Bacon, pan-fried would lead, in the same 55 g, but is left out (Worth knowing: dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs · portions too different to compare by weight).
For omega-3: EPA + DHA: Farmed salmon, cooked would lead, in the same 55 g, but is left out (Histamine: go easy).
For selenium: Mussels, cooked would lead, in the same 55 g, but is left out (Cadmium: limit it).
More nutrients per serving, counted together
The other main-dish proteins we’ve checked with more nutrients per serving than this one, counting at most 100 kcal. One score ranks them all, so the same few often lead.
Eggs, hard-boiled- More choline (162 mg vs 16.1 mg)
- More riboflavin (0.28 mg vs 0.02 mg)
- Less omega-3: EPA + DHA (23.7 mg vs 474 mg)
- Less selenium (16.9 µg vs 36.1 µg)
1 food out of the 11 other main-dish proteins we’ve checked and could compare gives clearly more nutrients per serving.
Where the calcium card measured that less calcium gets in than from milk, calcium counts for less; everything else is as listed.
Your goal
Your goal changes only this list, not what the food gives you or what to watch.
Losing weight: fewer calories, and more nutrients, protein and fibre for each calorie.
Chicken liver, simmered would lead this list, but it’s left out (Preformed vitamin A (retinol): limit it).
Building muscle: more protein and more calories, per 100 g.
Chicken breast, roasted31 g protein · 165 kcal per 100 g
1 food out of the 11 other main-dish proteins we’ve checked and could compare gives clearly more protein, and more calories, per 100 g.
Why some foods aren’t suggested
Left out: Bacon, pan-fried (Worth knowing: dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs · portions too different to compare by weight).
Left out: Farmed salmon, cooked (Histamine: go easy).
Left out: Mussels, cooked (Cadmium: limit it).
Left out: Chicken liver, simmered (Preformed vitamin A (retinol): limit it).
Bring a tracker export or describe your usual week. The same rules check all of it.
The numbers
Open every value
Name in the database: Tuna, canned (white/albacore), in water, drained
How the serving was set: 55 g (Health Canada I.4, marine and fresh water animals, canned; fraction can (55 g))
Listed nutrients, per 100 g
For each nutrient, the value this page uses is marked “used”. A row marked “second database” is another database’s figure for a matching food, kept so you can see how far databases disagree (they can differ in the samples analysed, lab methods and rounding). Its own cells are worked out from it, but none of the page’s words or scores are.
| Nutrient | Per serving | Per 100 calories | How | Source | Grade | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Omega-3: ALA | 0.071 g | 0.04 g | 0.06 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Calcium | 14 mg | 7.7 mg | 10.94 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| 14 mg | 7.7 mg | 10.94 mg | copy of USDA · not used | Canadian Nutrient File 2026 #3084 | C | |
| Carbohydrate | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Choline | 29.3 mg | 16.12 mg | 22.89 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Energy | 128 kcal | 70.4 kcal | – | FDC Energy (kcal) used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) | – |
| Omega-3: EPA + DHA | 0.862 g | 0.47 g | 0.67 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Fat | 2.97 g | 1.63 g | 2.32 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Cholesterol | 42 mg | 23.1 mg | 32.81 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Fatty acids, total saturated | 0.792 g | 0.44 g | 0.62 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Fibre | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Folate | 2 µg | 1.1 µg | 1.56 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Iron | 0.97 mg | 0.53 mg | 0.76 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Magnesium | 33 mg | 18.15 mg | 25.78 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents) | 10.216 mg | 5.62 mg | 7.98 mg | listed used | Canadian Nutrient File 2026 #3084 | C |
| Phosphorus | 217 mg | 119.35 mg | 169.53 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Potassium | 237 mg | 130.35 mg | 185.16 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Protein | 23.62 g | 12.99 g | 18.45 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Riboflavin (B2) | 0.044 mg | 0.02 mg | 0.03 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Selenium | 65.7 µg | 36.14 µg | 51.33 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Sodium | 377 mg | 207.35 mg | 294.53 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Sugars | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Thiamin (B1) | 0.008 mg | 0 mg | 0.01 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Vitamin A | 6 µg | 3.3 µg | 4.69 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Vitamin B12 | 1.17 µg | 0.64 µg | 0.91 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Vitamin B6 | 0.217 mg | 0.12 mg | 0.17 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Vitamin D | 2 µg | 1.1 µg | 1.56 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Vitamin E | 0.85 mg | 0.47 mg | 0.66 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Vitamin K1 | 2.5 µg | 1.38 µg | 1.95 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Water | 73.19 g | 40.25 g | 57.18 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Zinc | 0.48 mg | 0.26 mg | 0.38 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Nutrient | Per 100 g | Per serving | Per 100 calories | How | Source | Grade |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Beta-carotene | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Copper | 0.039 mg | 0.02 mg | 0.03 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Ash | 1.46 g | 0.8 g | 1.14 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Alcohol, ethyl | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Caffeine | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Theobromine | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Energy | 536 kj | 294.8 kj | 418.75 kj | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Vitamin A, IU | 20 iu | 11 iu | 15.63 iu | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Carotene, alpha | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Vitamin D (D2 + D3), International Units | 80 iu | 44 iu | 62.5 iu | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Vitamin D3 (cholecalciferol) | 2 µg | 1.1 µg | 1.56 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Cryptoxanthin, beta | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Lycopene | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Tocopherol, beta | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Tocopherol, gamma | 0.03 mg | 0.02 mg | 0.02 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Tocopherol, delta | 0.02 mg | 0.01 mg | 0.02 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Tocotrienol, alpha | 0.08 mg | 0.04 mg | 0.06 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Tocotrienol, beta | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Tocotrienol, gamma | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Folic acid | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Folate, food | 2 µg | 1.1 µg | 1.56 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Folate, DFE | 2 µg | 1.1 µg | 1.56 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Tryptophan | 0.265 g | 0.15 g | 0.21 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Threonine | 1.035 g | 0.57 g | 0.81 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Isoleucine | 1.088 g | 0.6 g | 0.85 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Leucine | 1.92 g | 1.06 g | 1.5 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Lysine | 2.169 g | 1.19 g | 1.69 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Methionine | 0.699 g | 0.38 g | 0.55 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Cystine | 0.253 g | 0.14 g | 0.2 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Phenylalanine | 0.922 g | 0.51 g | 0.72 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Tyrosine | 0.797 g | 0.44 g | 0.62 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Valine | 1.217 g | 0.67 g | 0.95 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Arginine | 1.413 g | 0.78 g | 1.1 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Histidine | 0.695 g | 0.38 g | 0.54 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Alanine | 1.428 g | 0.79 g | 1.12 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Aspartic acid | 2.419 g | 1.33 g | 1.89 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Glutamic acid | 3.526 g | 1.94 g | 2.75 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Glycine | 1.134 g | 0.62 g | 0.89 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Proline | 0.835 g | 0.46 g | 0.65 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Serine | 0.964 g | 0.53 g | 0.75 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Vitamin E, added | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Vitamin B-12, added | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| SFA 4:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| SFA 6:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| SFA 8:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| SFA 10:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| SFA 12:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| SFA 14:0 | 0.082 g | 0.05 g | 0.06 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| SFA 16:0 | 0.592 g | 0.33 g | 0.46 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| SFA 18:0 | 0.118 g | 0.06 g | 0.09 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| MUFA 18:1 | 0.518 g | 0.28 g | 0.4 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| PUFA 18:2 | 0.055 g | 0.03 g | 0.04 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| PUFA 18:3 | 0.071 g | 0.04 g | 0.06 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| PUFA 20:4 | 0.051 g | 0.03 g | 0.04 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| PUFA 22:6 n-3 (DHA) | 0.629 g | 0.35 g | 0.49 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| MUFA 16:1 | 0.144 g | 0.08 g | 0.11 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| PUFA 18:4 | 0.051 g | 0.03 g | 0.04 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| MUFA 20:1 | 0.078 g | 0.04 g | 0.06 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| PUFA 20:5 n-3 (EPA) | 0.233 g | 0.13 g | 0.18 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| MUFA 22:1 | 0.044 g | 0.02 g | 0.03 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| PUFA 22:5 n-3 (DPA) | 0.018 g | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Fatty acids, total monounsaturated | 0.784 g | 0.43 g | 0.61 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Fatty acids, total polyunsaturated | 1.109 g | 0.61 g | 0.87 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Lutein + zeaxanthin | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Manganese | 0.019 mg | 0.01 mg | 0.01 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Niacin (B3, preformed) | 5.799 mg | 3.19 mg | 4.53 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Pantothenic acid (B5) | 0.124 mg | 0.07 mg | 0.1 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
| Retinol | 6 µg | 3.3 µg | 4.69 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175158 | C |
Change the amount to rescale the first column. Nutrients a database doesn't list are missing, not zero.
Hazard rows as the dataset rates them
- Cadmium · Nothing to watch: under the limit · A daily serving adds 2.8% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap. · CFIA mercury and metals in fish (2000–2021) · A
- Lead · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · +0.1% of EFSA average adult intake (35 µg/day) · CFIA mercury and metals in fish (2000–2021) · A
- Methylmercury · Limit it: weekly or less · Once a week or less: a daily 55 g serving is 1.97 µg/kg body weight/week, 152% of the EFSA tolerable weekly intake of 1.3 µg/kg body weight/week (148% on the FDA albacore mean); one serving a week is 22%, and 4.6 servings a week reach the limit. Health Canada's advice is looser: up to 300 g a week for women who are or may become pregnant and for breastfeeding mothers, 150 g a week for children aged 5-11 and 75 g a week for children aged 1-4. · CFIA mercury and metals in fish (2000–2021) · A
- Purines and gout · Not rated yet · Not rated for people with gout or hyperuricemia: the only reference is a Japanese dietary recommendation of 400 mg purines a day, seen through Kaneko 2014 rather than an agency document, so no reference is established. Canned tuna measures 116.9 mg purines per 100 g (HPLC, Kaneko 2014, four purine bases; the species and packing liquid are not stated). A 55 g serving carries about 64 mg. For scale only, 400 mg would be reached at about 342 g. · Kaneko 2014 · C
Oxalate, phytate and gut-tolerance measurements
- histamine: mean 13 · n 230 cans ppm · as sold · test packs of canned tuna prepared by industry in 1974-76 workshops and rated acceptable by FDA experts · grade B · US FDA
Sources
- CFIA, Mercury and Metals in Fish Products 2000-2021 (tuna rows: 7,072; canned 2,388)
cfia-fish-metals-2000-2021· dataset · Open Government Licence – Canada 2.0 - Health Canada, Canadian Nutrient File 2026 (14th edition)
cnf-2026· dataset · Open Government Licence – Canada 2.0 - US FDA. Decomposition and Histamine; Raw, Frozen Tuna and Mahi-Mahi; Canned Tuna; and Related Species; Availability of Revised Compliance Policy Guide. Federal Register 60(149):39754-39756, 3 August 1995 (95-19059).
fda1995fr· full text read · US government work - USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy, 2018-04
fdc-sr-legacy-2018-04· dataset · CC0 1.0 (public domain) - Kaneko K, et al. (2014) Total purine and purine base content of common foodstuffs for facilitating nutritional therapy for gout and hyperuricemia. Biol Pharm Bull 37(5):709-721 · doi:10.1248/bpb.b13-00967 · PMID 24553148
kaneko-2014-purines· secondary source · J-STAGE open access
Body map 2026-10-25.1: each nutrient’s job comes from an agency fact sheet, linked beside it under Good for.
The plain words: “a lot” means one serving (100 g when the food has no serving size) gives at least 20% of the daily amount (the reference intake), “some” at least 10%, “a little” at least 2% (the cut-offs are ours, one set for every page: 20% and 10% are borrowed from the US labelling terms “high” and “good source” and applied to Health Canada’s daily amount, whereas Health Canada’s own shopper rule says 15%; provisional: they may change in a later method version). The daily amount is Health Canada’s Dietary Reference Intake for adults 19–30; where men and women need different amounts we use the higher one (protein: 56 g for men, 46 g for women). The percentage printed under each nutrient is the printed amount as a share of that daily amount, rounded to the nearest whole number, and the word is read from that percentage, so the amount, the percentage and the word always agree. Calcium with a measured absorption is scaled by how well it gets in compared with milk.
The scale: “Nothing to watch” means a serving a day stays under the limit at ordinary amounts; “Go easy” means a serving a day can push past the limit for adults who already take in the most, or fewer than 2 servings reach it; “Limit it” means once a week or less. The dataset’s own rating is under “How we got this”. Provisional: the scale may change in a later method version.
Measured absorption under Good for: grade-A studies in adults that tested this preparation of this food, as a share of the listed amount (the share digested, for protein), quoted once each source has passed our evidence check; animal studies and other variants stay in the table above. Provisional: this screen may change in a later method version.