FoodtopsyFrançais
A whole yellow onion and a half

Onions, raw

Checked by us One serving: 85 g (about ½ cup chopped) · 32 kcal

Little of the nutrients we score, per serving.

Nothing to watch.

Good for

How we counted this

What one serving (85 g) gives you.

Your body needs enough of each of these. Past enough, more doesn’t help. Amounts are what the food databases list, not what your body absorbs, unless a row says it was measured.

The words: “A lot” means one serving gives 20% or more of Health Canada’s daily amount, “Some” 10% to 19%, “A little” 2% to 9%, “Almost none” under 2%. Strongest word first; within a word, protein and fibre lead, then the biggest share.

A milligram (mg) is a thousandth of a gram, and a microgram (µg) a thousandth of a milligram: 1,000 µg make 1 mg.

No nutrient we score reaches “some” in one serving. The rest, at “a little” or less, is below.

    22 more nutrients at a little or less

    Watch out

    How we counted this
    Checked for cadmium and lead: fine at normal amounts.
    • Cadmium

      Nothing to watch

      You’d need about 7.7 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to use up what an average adult’s intake leaves under the limit.

      Learn more

      One serving carries 0.94 µg

      How we got this

      A serving a day adds 5.3% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 75% of the limit.

      An average adult already takes in about 71% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.

      Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 16,000 g a week would reach the limit.

      Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 595 g a week, which stays within the 4,600 g of room left before the limit.

      The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

      A daily serving adds 5.3% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap.

      Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade A

      Every food with cadmium

    • Lead

      Nothing to watch

      You’d need more than 100 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the lead an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.

      Learn more

      A serving a day adds 0.7% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.

      One serving carries 0.23 µg

      How we got this

      The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake

      No safe threshold is set for lead. A serving (0.085 kg x 2.743 µg/kg = 0.23 µg) adds about 0.7% to the average adult lead intake (35 µg/day), far from doubling it, so no cap. Without the 1999 composite the mean is 2.79 (n = 16); the three most recent (2016-2018) 0.83 (+0.2%). FDA Total Diet Study: 1 of 27 detected, mean 0.27, max 7.4, reporting limit 4 µg/kg (at the limit, 0.34 µg, +1.0%).

      Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade A

      Every food with lead

    Worth knowing

    No limit applies, so none is rated.

    • Sugar

      3.6 g of sugar in a 85 g serving, natural and added together.

      Learn more

      Shown, not rated. The food tables we read give total sugar, and few give added sugar, so the site can’t yet tell sugar added in making a food from the sugar in fruit or milk.

    Also checked (nothing to act on) · 2

    Noted for context, or not measured in this food yet.

    • Shown as context, not scored (acceptable daily intake 3.7 mg/kg body weight/day = 259 mg for 70 kg). At the EFSA mean 164 mg/kg an 85 g serving carries 13.9 mg (5.4%); at the median 60 mg/kg, 5.1 mg (2.0%); at the Hong Kong total diet study mean 14 mg/kg, 1.2 mg (0.5%). EFSA: bulb vegetables 'were generally low in nitrate'.

    • Shown as context. The Public Health Agency of Canada closed its 2020 outbreak investigation on 2020-10-01 (onions from one US supplier, Thomson International Inc.). This is one outbreak, not an occurrence rate. Raw onion has no cooking step; cooking (the sautéed row) is the control.

    Better options

    How we counted this

    “Better” here always means better at something the row names: more of one nutrient, more nutrients per serving, or the goal you pick. It never means better in every way.

    Every amount below is for the same weight, 85 g, the size of one serving of this food, so a swap compares like with like. A serving of another food can be bigger or smaller.

    Compared with the other vegetables we’ve checked.

    More nutrients per serving, counted together

    The other vegetables we’ve checked with more nutrients per serving than this one, counting at most 100 kcal. One score ranks them all, so the same few often lead.

    • Turnip greens, cooked
      • More vitamin K1 (312 µg vs 0.34 µg)
      • More vitamin A (324 µg vs 0 µg)
      • More folate (100 µg vs 16.2 µg)
    • Kale, cooked
      • More vitamin K1 (355 µg vs 0.34 µg)
      • More omega-3: ALA (286 mg vs 3.4 mg)
      • More vitamin A (124 µg vs 0 µg)
    • Brussels sprouts, cooked
      • More vitamin K1 (119 µg vs 0.34 µg)
      • More vitamin C (52.7 mg vs 6.97 mg)

    Where the calcium card measured that less calcium gets in than from milk, calcium counts for less; everything else is as listed.

    Your goal

    Your goal changes only this list, not what the food gives you or what to watch.

    Losing weight: fewer calories, and more nutrients, protein and fibre for each calorie.

    • Asparagus, cooked
      • 19 kcal in 85 g (this food: 32)
      • More vitamin K1 (43 µg vs 0.34 µg)
      • More folate (127 µg vs 16.2 µg)
    • Turnip greens, cooked
      • 17 kcal in 85 g (this food: 32)
      • More vitamin K1 (312 µg vs 0.34 µg)
      • More vitamin A (324 µg vs 0 µg)
      • More folate (100 µg vs 16.2 µg)
    • Broccoli, cooked
      • 24 kcal in 85 g (this food: 32)
      • More vitamin K1 (74.9 µg vs 0.34 µg)
      • More vitamin C (34.1 mg vs 6.97 mg)
    Why some foods aren’t suggested

    Left out: Spinach, cooked (Cadmium: go easy · lots of oxalate, more than its own calcium can bind).

    Left out: Edamame, cooked (not tested for contaminants yet).

    Bring a tracker export or describe your usual week. The same rules check all of it.

    The numbers

    Open every value

    Name in the database: Onions, yellow, raw

    How the serving was set: 85 g (Health Canada V.1, vegetables without sauce; whole onion shown as pieces closest to 85 g)

    Listed nutrients, per 100 g

    For each nutrient, the value this page uses is marked “used”. A row marked “second database” is another database’s figure for a matching food, kept so you can see how far databases disagree (they can differ in the samples analysed, lab methods and rounding). Its own cells are worked out from it, but none of the page’s words or scores are.

    NutrientPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
    Omega-3: ALA0.004 g0 g0.01 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    Calcium15 mg12.75 mg39.47 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #790646C
    30 mg25.5 mg78.95 mgsecond database · not used · 2×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-499C
    23 mg19.55 mg60.53 mgcopy of USDA · not usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #2401C
    Carbohydrate8.61 g7.32 g22.66 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #790646C
    Choline6.1 mg5.19 mg16.05 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    Energy38 kcal32.3 kcal–FDC Energy (kcal) usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods)–
    Omega-3: EPA + DHA0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    Fat0.05 g0.04 g0.13 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #790646C
    0.1 g0.09 g0.26 gsecond database · not used · 2×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-499C
    Cholesterol0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    Fatty acids, total saturated0.042 g0.04 g0.11 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    Fibre1.9 g1.62 g5 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #790646C
    2.2 g1.87 g5.79 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-499C
    Folate19 µg16.15 µg50 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    11 µg9.35 µg28.95 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-499C
    Iron0.28 mg0.24 mg0.74 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #790646C
    0.3 mg0.26 mg0.79 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-499C
    Magnesium9 mg7.65 mg23.68 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #790646C
    8 mg6.8 mg21.05 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-499C
    Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents)0.349 mg0.3 mg0.92 mglisted usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #2401C
    Phosphorus34 mg28.9 mg89.47 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #790646C
    23 mg19.55 mg60.53 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-499C
    Potassium182 mg154.7 mg478.95 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #790646C
    138 mg117.3 mg363.16 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-499C
    Protein0.83 g0.71 g2.18 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #790646C
    1 g0.85 g2.63 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-499C
    Riboflavin (B2)0.027 mg0.02 mg0.07 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    0.02 mg0.02 mg0.05 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-499C
    Selenium0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #790646C
    Sodium1 mg0.85 mg2.63 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #790646C
    3 mg2.55 mg7.89 mgsecond database · not used · 3×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-499C
    Sugars4.24 g3.6 g11.16 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    6.2 g5.27 g16.32 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-499C
    Thiamin (B1)0.046 mg0.04 mg0.12 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    0.11 mg0.09 mg0.29 mgsecond database · not used · 2.4×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-499C
    Vitamin A0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    Vitamin B120 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    0 µg0 µg0 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-499C
    Vitamin B60.12 mg0.1 mg0.32 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    0.1 mg0.09 mg0.26 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-499C
    Vitamin C8.2 mg6.97 mg21.58 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #790646C
    3 mg2.55 mg7.89 mgsecond database · not used · 2.7×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-499C
    Vitamin D0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    0 µg0 µg0 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-499C
    Vitamin E0.02 mg0.02 mg0.05 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    0.29 mg0.25 mg0.76 mgsecond database · not used · 14.5×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-499C
    Vitamin K10.4 µg0.34 µg1.05 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    Water90.1 g76.59 g237.11 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #790646C
    89.1 g75.73 g234.47 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-499C
    Zinc0.2 mg0.17 mg0.53 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #790646C
    0.1 mg0.09 mg0.26 mgsecond database · not used · 2×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-499C
    NutrientPer 100 gPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
    Beta-carotene1 µg0.85 µg2.63 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    Copper0.035 mg0.03 mg0.09 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #790646C
    0.04 mg0.03 mg0.11 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-499C
    Energy (Atwater general)38 kcal32.3 kcal100 kcallisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #790646C
    Energy (Atwater specific)36 kcal30.6 kcal94.74 kcallisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #790646C
    Ash0.41 g0.35 g1.08 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #790646C
    Starch0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    Sucrose1.6 g1.36 g4.21 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #790646C
    Glucose2.31 g1.96 g6.08 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #790646C
    Fructose1.91 g1.62 g5.03 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #790646C
    Maltose0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #790646C
    Alcohol, ethyl0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    Caffeine0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    Theobromine0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    Energy160 kj136 kj421.05 kjlisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #790646C
    Sugars, Total5.82 g4.95 g15.32 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #790646C
    Galactose0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    Fluoride, F1.1 µg0.94 µg2.89 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    Vitamin A, IU2 iu1.7 iu5.26 iufrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    Carotene, alpha0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    Vitamin D (D2 + D3), International Units0 iu0 iu0 iufrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    Cryptoxanthin, beta0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    Lycopene0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    Tocopherol, beta0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    Tocopherol, gamma0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    Tocopherol, delta0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    Tocotrienol, alpha0.04 mg0.03 mg0.11 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    Tocotrienol, beta0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    Tocotrienol, gamma0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    Tocotrienol, delta0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    Biotin0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #790646C
    Vitamin K (Dihydrophylloquinone)0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    Folic acid0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    Folate, food19 µg16.15 µg50 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    Folate, DFE19 µg16.15 µg50 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    Betaine0.1 mg0.09 mg0.26 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    Tryptophan0.014 g0.01 g0.04 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    Threonine0.021 g0.02 g0.06 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    Isoleucine0.014 g0.01 g0.04 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    Leucine0.025 g0.02 g0.07 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    Lysine0.039 g0.03 g0.1 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    Methionine0.002 g0 g0.01 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    Cystine0.004 g0 g0.01 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    Phenylalanine0.025 g0.02 g0.07 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    Tyrosine0.014 g0.01 g0.04 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    Valine0.021 g0.02 g0.06 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    Arginine0.104 g0.09 g0.27 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    Histidine0.014 g0.01 g0.04 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    Alanine0.021 g0.02 g0.06 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    Aspartic acid0.091 g0.08 g0.24 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    Glutamic acid0.258 g0.22 g0.68 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    Glycine0.025 g0.02 g0.07 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    Proline0.012 g0.01 g0.03 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    Serine0.021 g0.02 g0.06 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    Vitamin E, added0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    Vitamin B-12, added0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    Fatty acids, total trans0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    SFA 4:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    SFA 6:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    SFA 8:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    SFA 10:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    SFA 12:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    SFA 14:00.004 g0 g0.01 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    SFA 16:00.034 g0.03 g0.09 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    SFA 18:00.004 g0 g0.01 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    SFA 20:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    MUFA 18:10.013 g0.01 g0.03 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    PUFA 18:20.013 g0.01 g0.03 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    PUFA 18:30.004 g0 g0.01 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    PUFA 20:40 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    PUFA 22:6 n-3 (DHA)0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    SFA 22:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    MUFA 14:10 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    MUFA 16:10 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    PUFA 18:40 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    MUFA 20:10 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    PUFA 20:5 n-3 (EPA)0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    MUFA 22:10 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    PUFA 22:5 n-3 (DPA)0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    Phytosterols15 mg12.75 mg39.47 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    Fatty acids, total monounsaturated0.013 g0.01 g0.03 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    Fatty acids, total polyunsaturated0.017 g0.01 g0.04 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    SFA 15:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    SFA 17:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    SFA 24:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    PUFA 20:2 n-6 c,c0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    MUFA 17:10 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    PUFA 20:30 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    MUFA 15:10 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    Total dietary fiber (AOAC 2011.25)2.71 g2.3 g7.13 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #790646C
    Iodine0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #790646C
    2 µg1.7 µg5.26 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-499C
    Lactose0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #790646C
    0 g0 g0 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-499C
    Lutein + zeaxanthin4 µg3.4 µg10.53 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    Manganese0.144 mg0.12 mg0.38 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #790646C
    0.1 mg0.09 mg0.26 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-499C
    Niacin (B3, preformed)0.116 mg0.1 mg0.31 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    0.3 mg0.26 mg0.79 mgsecond database · not used · 2.6×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-499C
    Pantothenic acid (B5)0.123 mg0.1 mg0.32 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    0.04 mg0.03 mg0.11 mgsecond database · not used · 3.1×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-499C
    Retinol0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170000C
    0 µg0 µg0 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-499C

    Change the amount to rescale the first column. Nutrients a database doesn't list are missing, not zero.

    Hazard rows as the dataset rates them

    • Cadmium · Nothing to watch: under the limit · A daily serving adds 5.3% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · A
    • Lead · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · No safe threshold is set for lead. A serving (0.085 kg x 2.743 µg/kg = 0.23 µg) adds about 0.7% to the average adult lead intake (35 µg/day), far from doubling it, so no cap. Without the 1999 composite the mean is 2.79 (n = 16); the three most recent (2016-2018) 0.83 (+0.2%). FDA Total Diet Study: 1 of 27 detected, mean 0.27, max 7.4, reporting limit 4 µg/kg (at the limit, 0.34 µg, +1.0%). · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · A
    • Nitrate · Context · Shown as context, not scored (acceptable daily intake 3.7 mg/kg body weight/day = 259 mg for 70 kg). At the EFSA mean 164 mg/kg an 85 g serving carries 13.9 mg (5.4%); at the median 60 mg/kg, 5.1 mg (2.0%); at the Hong Kong total diet study mean 14 mg/kg, 1.2 mg (0.5%). EFSA: bulb vegetables 'were generally low in nitrate'. · EFSA 2008 · B
    • Salmonella · Context · Shown as context. The Public Health Agency of Canada closed its 2020 outbreak investigation on 2020-10-01 (onions from one US supplier, Thomson International Inc.). This is one outbreak, not an occurrence rate. Raw onion has no cooking step; cooking (the sautéed row) is the control. · PHAC 2020 · A

    Oxalate, phytate and gut-tolerance measurements

    • fodmap excess fructose: zero (derived): fructose is BELOW glucose in every listing (Foundation 790646 fructose 1.91 vs glucose 2.31, n = 6 each; SR 170000 fructose 1.29 vs glucose 1.97, n = 16); Varney Table 2 prints '--' g/100 g · fresh weight · raw · grade B · US food database (USDA Foundation Foods)
    • fodmap fructan: 1.97 +/- 0.05 g/100 g FW (16.41 +/- 0.40 g/100 g DW; water 88%; 1.38 g in the paper's 70 g OPEN-platform portion) g/100 g · fresh weight · not stated; the table labels cooked rice, cooked pasta and cooked potato but gives the onion row no label · grade B · Ferjancic 2024
    • fodmap fructan: 0.65 g total fructan in a 36 g uncooked serve = 1.81 g/100 g (Foodtopsy's arithmetic: 0.65 / 0.36) g/100 g · fresh weight, derived from the 36 g uncooked serve in the source table · uncooked (the table's word) · grade B · Varney 2017
    • fodmap fructan: TISSUE-LEVEL, NOT A WHOLE-BULB VALUE: 29 mg/g FW (= 2.9 g/100 g FW) in the inner scales of 'Pole Star' at harvest (0 weeks); one cultivar; kept as context, do not load as the onion's fructan g/100 g · fresh weight (inner scales only) · raw bulb tissue, freshly harvested (0 weeks of storage) · grade B · Ueno 2025
    • fodmap fructan: fructan range across 'vegetables with the highest quantity of fructans' incl. onions: 1.2-17.4 g/100 g FW (onion's own value not in the abstract) g/100 g · fresh weight · not stated · grade C · PubMed 17625872
    • fodmap fructan: Sigma FOS (kestose-calibrated RI-HPLC; fructo-oligosaccharides only, NOT total fructan) in RAW yellow onion, 12 cultivars: 0.15 to 2.43 g/100 g FW (mean of the 12 cultivar means 1.25, Foodtopsy's arithmetic). Use as a cultivar-spread context row, not as the onion's fructan (added by checker, 2026-10-16) g/100 g · fresh weight · raw (condition 'R' in the paper's Table 3: fresh onion before fermentation) · grade C · Grzelak 2025
    • fodmap gos: 0.07 g GOS (raffinose + stachyose) in a 36 g uncooked serve = 0.19 g/100 g (Foodtopsy's arithmetic: 0.07 / 0.36) g/100 g · fresh weight, derived from the 36 g uncooked serve in the source table · uncooked · grade B · Varney 2017
    • fodmap mannitol: not detected (nd) in the 36 g uncooked serve g/100 g · fresh weight (source table is per 36 g serve) · uncooked · grade B · Varney 2017
    • histamine: not detected (nd), n = 4 mg/kg · fresh weight · raw (vegetables in the table are fresh) · grade B · Sanchezperez 2018
    • lactose: 0 (Foundation n = 6); nd in Varney Table 2 g/100 g · fresh weight · raw · grade B · US food database (USDA Foundation Foods)
    • oxalate soluble: n = 2 (insoluble 0.1) mg/100 g · fresh weight · raw · grade B · Salgado 2023
    • oxalate soluble: not detected (ND); n = 6; total oxalate not reported mg/100 g · fresh weight · raw · grade B · Salgado 2023
    • oxalate total: n = 2 mg/100 g · fresh weight · raw · grade B · Salgado 2023
    • oxalate total: not detected (ND); n not reported mg/100 g · fresh weight · raw · grade B · Salgado 2023
    • tyramine: not detected (nd), n = 4 (own database); another study in the same table, reference [34], prints 3 mg/kg (n not reported) mg/kg · fresh weight · raw · grade B · Sanchezperez 2018

    Sources

    Body map 2026-10-25.1: each nutrient’s job comes from an agency fact sheet, linked beside it under Good for.

    The plain words: “a lot” means one serving (100 g when the food has no serving size) gives at least 20% of the daily amount (the reference intake), “some” at least 10%, “a little” at least 2% (the cut-offs are ours, one set for every page: 20% and 10% are borrowed from the US labelling terms “high” and “good source” and applied to Health Canada’s daily amount, whereas Health Canada’s own shopper rule says 15%; provisional: they may change in a later method version). The daily amount is Health Canada’s Dietary Reference Intake for adults 19–30; where men and women need different amounts we use the higher one (protein: 56 g for men, 46 g for women). The percentage printed under each nutrient is the printed amount as a share of that daily amount, rounded to the nearest whole number, and the word is read from that percentage, so the amount, the percentage and the word always agree. Calcium with a measured absorption is scaled by how well it gets in compared with milk.

    The scale: “Nothing to watch” means a serving a day stays under the limit at ordinary amounts; “Go easy” means a serving a day can push past the limit for adults who already take in the most, or fewer than 2 servings reach it; “Limit it” means once a week or less. The dataset’s own rating is under “How we got this”. Provisional: the scale may change in a later method version.

    Measured absorption under Good for: grade-A studies in adults that tested this preparation of this food, as a share of the listed amount (the share digested, for protein), quoted once each source has passed our evidence check; animal studies and other variants stay in the table above. Provisional: this screen may change in a later method version.