FoodtopsyFrançais
A small pile of fresh blueberries

Blueberries, raw

Checked by us One serving: 80 g (about ½ cup) · 46 kcal

Some vitamin K1.

Nothing to watch for most people so far.

On warfarin? Keep your vitamin K steady.

Good for

How we counted this

What one serving (80 g) gives you.

Your body needs enough of each of these. Past enough, more doesn’t help. Amounts are what the food databases list, not what your body absorbs, unless a row says it was measured.

The words: “A lot” means one serving gives 20% or more of Health Canada’s daily amount, “Some” 10% to 19%, “A little” 2% to 9%, “Almost none” under 2%. Strongest word first; within a word, protein and fibre lead, then the biggest share.

A milligram (mg) is a thousandth of a gram, and a microgram (µg) a thousandth of a milligram: 1,000 µg make 1 mg.

21 more nutrients at a little or less

Watch out

How we counted this
Checked for cadmium and lead: fine at normal amounts.
  • Cadmium

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need more than 100 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to use up what an average adult’s intake leaves under the limit.

    Learn more

    One serving carries 0.07 µg

    How we got this

    A serving a day adds 0.4% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 71% of the limit.

    An average adult already takes in about 71% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.

    Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 190,000 g a week would reach the limit.

    Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 560 g a week, which stays within the 57,000 g of room left before the limit.

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

    A daily serving adds 0.41% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap.

    Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade A

    Every food with cadmium

  • Lead

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need more than 100 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the lead an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.

    Learn more

    A serving a day adds 0.8% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.

    One serving carries 0.29 µg

    How we got this

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake

    A daily serving adds about 0.8% to the average adult's lead intake (35 µg/day): 0.75% without the 1999 composite (mean 3.27 µg/kg), 0.6% on the three most recent (2.61); FDA Total Diet Study mean 0.71 µg/kg (3 of 27 detected, reporting limit 4): +0.16%. No safe threshold is set for lead; far from doubling it, so no cap.

    Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade A

    Every food with lead

For some people

  • With warfarin: keep vitamin K intake consistent (label), not avoid.

    Learn more

    Eat a steady amount, not none. This line goes on every food whose serving gives 10% or more of the daily vitamin K; a few foods below that carry it too, where a source names them. One serving here has about 15 µg of vitamin K1.

Worth knowing

No limit applies, so none is rated.

  • Sugar

    8 g of sugar in a 80 g serving, natural and added together.

    Learn more

    Shown, not rated. The food tables we read give total sugar, and few give added sugar, so the site can’t yet tell sugar added in making a food from the sugar in fruit or milk.

Also checked (nothing to act on) · 1

Noted for context, or not measured in this food yet.

  • Measured in this food, not rated yet. Not rated: EFSA's reference point (benchmark dose lower limit (BMDL05) 0.06 µg/kg body weight/day) is for inorganic arsenic, and neither source measures it. Worst case only, assuming all the arsenic were inorganic (not true of fruit): 80 g carries 0.57 µg, 7% of the average adult intake of 7.7 µg/day.

Better options

How we counted this

“Better” here always means better at something the row names: more of one nutrient, more nutrients per serving, or the goal you pick. It never means better in every way.

Every amount below is for the same weight, 80 g, the size of one serving of this food, so a swap compares like with like. A serving of another food can be bigger or smaller.

Compared with the other fruits we’ve checked.

A food is listed only if it gives clearly more: at least a fifth more than this food, and at least 10% of the daily amount more.

More of what it’s good for

More vitamin K1

  • Kiwi, raw32.2 µg in 80 g (this food: 15.4 µg)

Amounts as listed, not adjusted for how much gets in.

More nutrients per serving, counted together

The other fruits we’ve checked with more nutrients per serving than this one, counting at most 100 kcal. One score ranks them all, so the same few often lead.

  • Kiwi, raw
    • More vitamin C (59.8 mg vs 6.45 mg)
    • More vitamin K1 (32.2 µg vs 15.4 µg)
  • Mango, raw
    • More vitamin C (29.1 mg vs 6.45 mg)
    • Less vitamin K1 (3.36 µg vs 15.4 µg)
  • Pineapple, raw
    • More vitamin C (46.9 mg vs 6.45 mg)
    • Less vitamin K1 (0.56 µg vs 15.4 µg)

Where the calcium card measured that less calcium gets in than from milk, calcium counts for less; everything else is as listed.

Your goal

Your goal changes only this list, not what the food gives you or what to watch.

Losing weight: fewer calories, and more nutrients, protein and fibre for each calorie.

  • Raspberries, rawMore vitamin C (18.4 mg vs 6.45 mg)
  • Strawberries, raw
    • 26 kcal in 80 g (this food: 46)
    • More vitamin C (47.7 mg vs 6.45 mg)
    • Less vitamin K1 (1.76 µg vs 15.4 µg)
  • Kiwi, raw
    • More vitamin C (59.8 mg vs 6.45 mg)
    • More vitamin K1 (32.2 µg vs 15.4 µg)

Bring a tracker export or describe your usual week. The same rules check all of it.

The numbers

Open every value

Name in the database: Blueberry, raw

How the serving was set: 80 g (Health Canada J.2, blueberries, raspberries, blackberries)

Listed nutrients, per 100 g

For each nutrient, the value this page uses is marked “used”. A row marked “second database” is another database’s figure for a matching food, kept so you can see how far databases disagree (they can differ in the samples analysed, lab methods and rounding). Its own cells are worked out from it, but none of the page’s words or scores are.

NutrientPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
Omega-3: ALA0.058 g0.05 g0.1 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
Calcium11.69 mg9.35 mg20.37 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346411C
10 mg8 mg17.43 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-325C
6 mg4.8 mg10.46 mgcopy of USDA · not usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #1705C
Carbohydrate14.572 g11.66 g25.39 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346411C
Choline6 mg4.8 mg10.46 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
Energy57.385 kcal45.91 kcal–FDC Energy (Atwater Specific Factors) usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods)–
57 kcal45.6 kcal–from SR Legacy · not usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
Omega-3: EPA + DHA0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
Fat0.306 g0.25 g0.53 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346411C
0.2 g0.16 g0.35 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-325C
Cholesterol0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
Fatty acids, total saturated0.028 g0.02 g0.05 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
Fibre2.4 g1.92 g4.18 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
1.5 g1.2 g2.61 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-325C
Folate6 µg4.8 µg10.46 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
8 µg6.4 µg13.94 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-325C
Iron0.34 mg0.27 mg0.59 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346411C
0.55 mg0.44 mg0.96 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-325C
Magnesium6.179 mg4.94 mg10.77 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346411C
5 mg4 mg8.71 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-325C
Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents)0.468 mg0.37 mg0.82 mglisted usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #1705C
Phosphorus12.96 mg10.37 mg22.58 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346411C
16 mg12.8 mg27.88 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-325C
Potassium85.64 mg68.51 mg149.24 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346411C
66 mg52.8 mg115.01 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-325C
Protein0.703 g0.56 g1.23 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346411C
0.9 g0.72 g1.57 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-325C
Riboflavin (B2)0.041 mg0.03 mg0.07 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
0.04 mg0.03 mg0.07 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-325C
Selenium0.1 µg0.08 µg0.17 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
Sodium0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346411C
2 mg1.6 mg3.49 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-325C
Sugars9.96 g7.97 g17.36 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
9.1 g7.28 g15.86 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-325C
Thiamin (B1)0.037 mg0.03 mg0.06 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
0.04 mg0.03 mg0.07 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-325C
Vitamin A3 µg2.4 µg5.23 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
Vitamin B120 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
0 µg0 µg0 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-325C
Vitamin B60.052 mg0.04 mg0.09 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
0.01 mg0.01 mg0.02 mgsecond database · not used · 5.2×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-325C
Vitamin C8.059 mg6.45 mg14.04 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346411C
6 mg4.8 mg10.46 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-325C
Vitamin D0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
0 µg0 µg0 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-325C
Vitamin E0.57 mg0.46 mg0.99 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
0.94 mg0.75 mg1.64 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-325C
Vitamin K119.3 µg15.44 µg33.63 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
Water84.19 g67.35 g146.71 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346411C
85.7 g68.56 g149.34 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-325C
Zinc0.085 mg0.07 mg0.15 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346411C
0.1 mg0.08 mg0.17 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-325C
NutrientPer 100 gPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
Beta-carotene32 µg25.6 µg55.76 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
14 µg11.2 µg24.4 µgsecond database · not used · 2.3×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-325C
Copper0.046 mg0.04 mg0.08 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346411C
0.06 mg0.05 mg0.1 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-325C
Energy (Atwater general)63.856 kcal51.09 kcal111.28 kcallisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346411C
Energy (Atwater specific)57.385 kcal45.91 kcal100 kcallisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346411C
Nitrogen0.113 g0.09 g0.2 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346411C
Ash0.229 g0.18 g0.4 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346411C
Starch0.03 g0.02 g0.05 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
Sucrose0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346411C
Glucose4.417 g3.53 g7.7 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346411C
Fructose4.939 g3.95 g8.61 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346411C
Maltose0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346411C
Alcohol, ethyl0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
Caffeine0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
Theobromine0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
Energy240 kj192 kj418.23 kjfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
Sugars, Total9.356 g7.48 g16.3 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346411C
Galactose0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346411C
Vitamin A, IU54 iu43.2 iu94.1 iufrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
Carotene, alpha0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
Vitamin D (D2 + D3), International Units0 iu0 iu0 iufrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
Cryptoxanthin, beta0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
Lycopene0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
Tocopherol, beta0.01 mg0.01 mg0.02 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
Tocopherol, gamma0.36 mg0.29 mg0.63 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
Tocopherol, delta0.03 mg0.02 mg0.05 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
Tocotrienol, alpha0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
Tocotrienol, beta0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
Tocotrienol, gamma0.07 mg0.06 mg0.12 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
Tocotrienol, delta0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
Biotin0.3 µg0.24 µg0.52 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346411C
Vitamin K (Dihydrophylloquinone)0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
Folic acid0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
Folate, food6 µg4.8 µg10.46 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
Folate, DFE6 µg4.8 µg10.46 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
Betaine0.2 mg0.16 mg0.35 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
Tryptophan0.003 g0 g0.01 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
Threonine0.02 g0.02 g0.03 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
Isoleucine0.023 g0.02 g0.04 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
Leucine0.044 g0.04 g0.08 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
Lysine0.013 g0.01 g0.02 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
Methionine0.012 g0.01 g0.02 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
Cystine0.008 g0.01 g0.01 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
Phenylalanine0.026 g0.02 g0.05 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
Tyrosine0.009 g0.01 g0.02 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
Valine0.031 g0.02 g0.05 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
Arginine0.037 g0.03 g0.06 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
Histidine0.011 g0.01 g0.02 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
Alanine0.031 g0.02 g0.05 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
Aspartic acid0.057 g0.05 g0.1 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
Glutamic acid0.091 g0.07 g0.16 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
Glycine0.031 g0.02 g0.05 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
Proline0.028 g0.02 g0.05 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
Serine0.022 g0.02 g0.04 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
Vitamin E, added0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
Vitamin B-12, added0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
Fatty acids, total trans0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
SFA 4:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
SFA 6:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
SFA 8:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
SFA 10:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
SFA 12:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
SFA 14:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
SFA 16:00.017 g0.01 g0.03 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
SFA 18:00.005 g0 g0.01 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
MUFA 18:10.047 g0.04 g0.08 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
PUFA 18:20.088 g0.07 g0.15 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
PUFA 18:30.058 g0.05 g0.1 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
PUFA 20:40 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
PUFA 22:6 n-3 (DHA)0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
MUFA 16:10.002 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
PUFA 18:40 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
MUFA 20:10 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
PUFA 20:5 n-3 (EPA)0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
MUFA 22:10 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
PUFA 22:5 n-3 (DPA)0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
Fatty acids, total monounsaturated0.047 g0.04 g0.08 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
Fatty acids, total polyunsaturated0.146 g0.12 g0.25 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
Lactose0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346411C
0 g0 g0 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-325C
Lutein + zeaxanthin80 µg64 µg139.41 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
Manganese0.423 mg0.34 mg0.74 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346411C
0.69 mg0.55 mg1.2 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-325C
Niacin (B3, preformed)0.418 mg0.33 mg0.73 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
0.3 mg0.24 mg0.52 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-325C
Pantothenic acid (B5)0.124 mg0.1 mg0.22 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
0.2 mg0.16 mg0.35 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-325C
Retinol0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171711C
0 µg0 µg0 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-325C

Change the amount to rescale the first column. Nutrients a database doesn't list are missing, not zero.

Hazard rows as the dataset rates them

  • Cadmium · Nothing to watch: under the limit · A daily serving adds 0.41% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · A
  • Inorganic arsenic · Not rated yet · Not rated: EFSA's reference point (benchmark dose lower limit (BMDL05) 0.06 µg/kg body weight/day) is for inorganic arsenic, and neither source measures it. Worst case only, assuming all the arsenic were inorganic (not true of fruit): 80 g carries 0.57 µg, 7% of the average adult intake of 7.7 µg/day. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · B
  • Lead · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · A daily serving adds about 0.8% to the average adult's lead intake (35 µg/day): 0.75% without the 1999 composite (mean 3.27 µg/kg), 0.6% on the three most recent (2.61); FDA Total Diet Study mean 0.71 µg/kg (3 of 27 detected, reporting limit 4): +0.16%. No safe threshold is set for lead; far from doubling it, so no cap. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · A

Oxalate, phytate and gut-tolerance measurements

  • fodmap excess fructose: derived: fructose minus glucose; 0.42 g in an 80 g serving g/100 g · fresh weight · Blueberries, raw (Foundation 2346411) · grade B · US food database (USDA Foundation Foods)
  • fodmap excess fructose: derived: 4.97 minus 4.88; 0.07 g in an 80 g serving g/100 g · fresh weight · Blueberries, raw (SR Legacy 171711) · grade B · US food database (USDA SR Legacy)
  • fodmap fos: nystose only; kestose and 1F-beta-fructofuranosylnystose below quantification limit 0.0020 g/100 g g/100 g · as analysed (water content not given for this item) · 'blueberries' homogenised and stored at -20 C; fresh/frozen/dried not stated for the item (the paper says 'either fresh or dried') · grade A · Natale 2025
  • fodmap gos: raffinose and stachyose both below quantification limit (0.0100 g/100 g) g/100 g · as analysed · 'blueberries' homogenised and stored at -20 C; fresh/frozen not stated · grade A · Natale 2025
  • oxalate soluble: n = 3; BILBERRY (Vaccinium myrtillus), not blueberry mg/100 g · fresh weight · raw · grade B · Salgado 2023
  • oxalate total: n = 3; BILBERRY (Vaccinium myrtillus), not blueberry mg/100 g · fresh weight · raw · grade B · Salgado 2023

Sources

Body map 2026-10-25.1: each nutrient’s job comes from an agency fact sheet, linked beside it under Good for.

The plain words: “a lot” means one serving (100 g when the food has no serving size) gives at least 20% of the daily amount (the reference intake), “some” at least 10%, “a little” at least 2% (the cut-offs are ours, one set for every page: 20% and 10% are borrowed from the US labelling terms “high” and “good source” and applied to Health Canada’s daily amount, whereas Health Canada’s own shopper rule says 15%; provisional: they may change in a later method version). The daily amount is Health Canada’s Dietary Reference Intake for adults 19–30; where men and women need different amounts we use the higher one (protein: 56 g for men, 46 g for women). The percentage printed under each nutrient is the printed amount as a share of that daily amount, rounded to the nearest whole number, and the word is read from that percentage, so the amount, the percentage and the word always agree. Calcium with a measured absorption is scaled by how well it gets in compared with milk.

The scale: “Nothing to watch” means a serving a day stays under the limit at ordinary amounts; “Go easy” means a serving a day can push past the limit for adults who already take in the most, or fewer than 2 servings reach it; “Limit it” means once a week or less. The dataset’s own rating is under “How we got this”. Provisional: the scale may change in a later method version.

Measured absorption under Good for: grade-A studies in adults that tested this preparation of this food, as a share of the listed amount (the share digested, for protein), quoted once each source has passed our evidence check; animal studies and other variants stay in the table above. Provisional: this screen may change in a later method version.