
Chicken breast, raw
Checked by us One serving: 125 g · 140 kcal
Protein, plus niacin and vitamin B6. Rich in 1 more nutrient: see Good for.
Nothing to watch.
Good for
How we counted this
What one serving (125 g) gives you.
Your body needs enough of each of these. Past enough, more doesn’t help. Amounts are what the food databases list, not what your body absorbs, unless a row says it was measured.
The words: “A lot” means one serving gives 20% or more of Health Canada’s daily amount, “Some” 10% to 19%, “A little” 2% to 9%, “Almost none” under 2%. Strongest word first; within a word, protein and fibre lead, then the biggest share. ?
A milligram (mg) is a thousandth of a gram, and a microgram (µg) a thousandth of a milligram: 1,000 µg make 1 mg.
- A lot
Protein
Your muscles, and every other tissue, are built and repaired from it.
Learn more
28.2 g in one serving: 50% of the 56 g a day men need, 61% of the 46 g women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. Institute of Medicine 2005, Dietary Reference Intakes for Energy, Carbohydrate, Fiber, Fat, Fatty Acids, Cholesterol, Protein, and Amino Acids
- A lot
Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents)
More than 400 of your enzymes need it to work.
Learn more
17.9 mg in one serving: 112% of the 16 mg a day men need, 128% of the 14 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, niacin fact sheet for health professionals
- A lot
Vitamin B6
Helps you use protein, and your brain needs it to make its chemical messengers.
Learn more
1.01 mg in one serving: 78% of the 1.3 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin B6 fact sheet for health professionals
- A lot
Selenium
Your thyroid uses it to make its hormones.
Learn more
28.5 µg in one serving: 52% of the 55 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, selenium fact sheet for health professionals
18 more nutrients below “a lot”
- Some
Choline
Your cells need it for their membranes, and to make acetylcholine, a messenger for memory, mood and muscle control.
Learn more
103 mg in one serving: 19% of the 550 mg a day men need, 24% of the 425 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, choline fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Riboflavin (B2)
Your cells use it to make energy and handle fats. It also helps turn tryptophan into niacin and activate vitamin B6.
Learn more
0.22 mg in one serving: 17% of the 1.3 mg a day men need, 20% of the 1.1 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, riboflavin fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Potassium
Your nerves, muscles and kidneys need it to work.
Learn more
413 mg in one serving: 12% of the 3,400 mg a day men need, 16% of the 2,600 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, potassium fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Vitamin B12
Your body needs it to make red blood cells and keep nerves working.
Learn more
0.26 µg in one serving: 11% of the 2.4 µg a day.
Listed amount only. 1 absorption study of this nutrient is on file for this food, but none is quoted yet. Each one is in The numbers, with the reason. See the studies
Source: NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin B12 fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Thiamin (B1)
Your cells use it to get energy from food, and so to grow and work.
Learn more
0.12 mg in one serving: 10% of the 1.2 mg a day men need, 11% of the 1.1 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, thiamin fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Magnesium
Your muscles and nerves need it to work.
Learn more
32.8 mg in one serving: 8% of the 400 mg a day men need, 11% of the 310 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, magnesium fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Zinc
Your immune system and healing wounds depend on it.
Learn more
0.82 mg in one serving: 7% of the 11 mg a day men need, 10% of the 8 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, zinc fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Vitamin E
Shields the fats in your cells from damage; your immune system uses it too.
Learn more
0.7 mg in one serving: 5% of the 15 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin E fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Omega-3: EPA + DHA
Long-chain omega-3s, built into your cell membranes. DHA is concentrated in your brain and retinas.
Learn more
8.75 mg in one serving: 4% of the 250 mg a day.
Health Canada sets no daily amount for these fats, so the daily figure here is the European Food Safety Authority’s.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, omega-3 fatty acids fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Folate
Your body needs it to make DNA and to divide new cells.
Learn more
11.3 µg in one serving: 3% of the 400 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, folate fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Iron
Carries oxygen in your blood.
Learn more
0.44 mg in one serving: 6% of the 8 mg a day men need, 2% of the 18 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, iron fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin A
Your eyes need it to see in dim light.
Learn more
Getting enough matters; more than enough doesn’t sharpen your sight.
11.3 µg in one serving: 1% of the 900 µg a day men need, 2% of the 700 µg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin A fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Omega-3: ALA
The one omega-3 your body can’t make: it must come from food. Your cells build it into their membranes and burn it for energy.
Learn more
16.3 mg in one serving: 1% of the 1,600 mg a day men need, 1% of the 1,100 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, omega-3 fatty acids fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Calcium
Builds your bones and teeth.
Learn more
4.92 mg in one serving: under 1% of the 1,000 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, calcium fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Fibre
Keeps your gut moving.
Learn more
0 g in one serving: under 1% of the 38 g a day men need, under 1% of the 25 g women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. Institute of Medicine 2005, Dietary Reference Intakes for Energy, Carbohydrate, Fiber, Fat, Fatty Acids, Cholesterol, Protein, and Amino Acids
- Almost none
Vitamin C
Your body makes collagen with it, which wounds need to heal. It also helps you absorb iron from plants.
Learn more
0 mg in one serving: under 1% of the 90 mg a day men need, under 1% of the 75 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin C fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin D
Your body needs it to absorb calcium and keep your bones hard.
Learn more
Your skin also makes it in sunlight, so food is only one of its sources.
0 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 15 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin D fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin K1
Your blood needs it to clot.
Learn more
0 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 120 µg a day men need, under 1% of the 90 µg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin K fact sheet for health professionals
Watch out
How we counted this
Nothing here reaches a limit at ordinary amounts.
For some people
Measured, not rated: 176.5 mg purines
Learn more
If you have gout: avoiding organ meats such as liver, which are higher in purines, is one of the diet changes that help lower uric acid in the blood and the number of flares, according to the US National Institutes of Health (NIH).
Source: NIAMS (NIH), Gout: diagnosis, treatment, and steps to take
How we got this
Not rated for people with gout or hyperuricemia: the only reference is a Japanese dietary recommendation of 400 mg purines a day, seen through Kaneko 2014 rather than an agency document, so no reference is established. Chicken breast measures 141.2 mg purines per 100 g (HPLC, Kaneko 2014, four purine bases). A 125 g serving carries about 176 mg. For scale only, 400 mg would be reached at about 283 g.
Worth knowing
No limit applies, so none is rated.
Cholesterol
91 mg in a 125 g serving.
Learn more
Shown, not rated: the current US and Canadian dietary guidelines set no daily limit for cholesterol from food, and put the weight on saturated fat and the overall diet. The Canadian Nutrition Facts table gives it no percent daily value.
Source: Dietary Guidelines for Americans, 2025–2030 · Health Canada, Canada’s Dietary Guidelines, Section 1
Sugar
0 g of sugar in a 125 g serving, natural and added together.
Learn more
Shown, not rated. The food tables we read give total sugar, and few give added sugar, so the site can’t yet tell sugar added in making a food from the sugar in fruit or milk.
Also measured in it
Figures from the dataset. None has a limit to be rated against, so none is a verdict.
Tyramine: 2.5–5.5 mg per kg fresh weight, so about 0.31–0.69 mg in a 125 g serving. · Jastrzebska 2024, Sanchezperez 2021 · grade A, B
For scale, EFSA found no reported ill effects at 6 mg of tyramine in a meal for people on the older MAO-inhibitor antidepressants, 50 mg for those on the newer ones and 600 mg for healthy people not taking them, based on limited data. EFSA 2011
Better options
How we counted this
“Better” here always means better at something the row names: more of one nutrient, more nutrients per serving, or the goal you pick. It never means better in every way.
Every amount below is for the same weight, 125 g, the size of one serving of this food, so a swap compares like with like. A serving of another food can be bigger or smaller.
A food is listed only if it gives clearly more: at least a fifth more than this food, and at least 10% of the daily amount more.
More of what it’s good for
More protein
Chicken breast, roasted38.8 g in 125 g (this food: 28.2 g) · but less vitamin B6
More niacin
Chicken breast, roasted24.7 mg in 125 g (this food: 17.9 mg) · but less vitamin B6
Amounts as listed, not adjusted for how much gets in.
For vitamin B6: Beef liver, pan-fried would lead, in the same 125 g, but is left out (Copper: limit it).
More nutrients per serving, counted together
The other main-dish proteins we’ve checked with more nutrients per serving than this one, counting at most 100 kcal. One score ranks them all, so the same few often lead.
Tilapia, cooked- More vitamin B12 (2.33 µg vs 0.26 µg)
- More selenium (68 µg vs 28.5 µg)
- More omega-3: EPA + DHA (169 mg vs 8.75 mg)
- Less vitamin B6 (0.15 mg vs 1.01 mg)
- Less niacin (11.5 mg vs 17.9 mg)
Eggs, hard-boiled- More choline (367 mg vs 103 mg)
- More vitamin B12 (1.39 µg vs 0.26 µg)
- More riboflavin (0.64 mg vs 0.22 mg)
- Less niacin (4.22 mg vs 17.9 mg)
- Less vitamin B6 (0.15 mg vs 1.01 mg)
2 foods out of the 11 other main-dish proteins we’ve checked and could compare give clearly more nutrients per serving.
Where the calcium card measured that less calcium gets in than from milk, calcium counts for less; everything else is as listed.
Your goal
Your goal changes only this list, not what the food gives you or what to watch.
Losing weight: fewer calories, and more nutrients, protein and fibre for each calorie.
Tilapia, cooked- More vitamin B12 (2.33 µg vs 0.26 µg)
- More selenium (68 µg vs 28.5 µg)
- More omega-3: EPA + DHA (169 mg vs 8.75 mg)
- Less vitamin B6 (0.15 mg vs 1.01 mg)
- Less niacin (11.5 mg vs 17.9 mg)
1 food out of the 11 other main-dish proteins we’ve checked and could compare gives clearly more nutrients, protein and fibre per calorie.
Building muscle: more protein and more calories, per 100 g.
Chicken breast, roasted31 g protein · 165 kcal per 100 g
Ground beef, 80% lean, cooked27 g protein · 272 kcal per 100 g
2 foods out of the 11 other main-dish proteins we’ve checked and could compare give clearly more protein, and more calories, per 100 g.
Why some foods aren’t suggested
Left out: Bacon, pan-fried (Worth knowing: dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs · portions too different to compare by weight).
Left out: Beef liver, pan-fried (Copper: limit it).
Left out: Chicken liver, simmered (Preformed vitamin A (retinol): limit it).
Bring a tracker export or describe your usual week. The same rules check all of it.
The numbers
Open every value
Name in the database: Chicken breast, skinless, boneless, raw
How the serving was set: 125 g raw (Health Canada L.6, cuts of meat and poultry without sauce)
Listed nutrients, per 100 g
For each nutrient, the value this page uses is marked “used”. A row marked “second database” is another database’s figure for a matching food, kept so you can see how far databases disagree (they can differ in the samples analysed, lab methods and rounding). Its own cells are worked out from it, but none of the page’s words or scores are.
| Nutrient | Per serving | Per 100 calories | How | Source | Grade | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Omega-3: ALA | 0.013 g | 0.02 g | 0.01 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| Calcium | 3.939 mg | 4.92 mg | 3.51 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2646170 | C |
| 5 mg | 6.25 mg | 4.46 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #18-290 | C | |
| 5 mg | 6.25 mg | 4.46 mg | copy of USDA · not used | Canadian Nutrient File 2026 #841 | C | |
| Carbohydrate | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2646170 | C |
| Choline | 82.1 mg | 102.63 mg | 73.17 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| Energy | 112.202 kcal | 140.25 kcal | – | FDC Energy (Atwater Specific Factors) used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) | – |
| 120 kcal | 150 kcal | – | from SR Legacy · not used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C | |
| Omega-3: EPA + DHA | 0.007 g | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| Fat | 1.934 g | 2.42 g | 1.72 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2646170 | C |
| 1.1 g | 1.38 g | 0.98 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #18-290 | C | |
| Cholesterol | 72.73 mg | 90.91 mg | 64.82 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2646170 | C |
| Fatty acids, total saturated | 0.349 g | 0.44 g | 0.31 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2646170 | C |
| Fibre | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #18-290 | C | |
| Folate | 9 µg | 11.25 µg | 8.02 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| 14 µg | 17.5 µg | 12.48 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #18-290 | C | |
| Iron | 0.354 mg | 0.44 mg | 0.32 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2646170 | C |
| 0.5 mg | 0.63 mg | 0.45 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #18-290 | C | |
| Magnesium | 26.2 mg | 32.75 mg | 23.35 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2646170 | C |
| 29 mg | 36.25 mg | 25.85 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #18-290 | C | |
| Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents) | 14.317 mg | 17.9 mg | 12.76 mg | listed used | Canadian Nutrient File 2026 #841 | C |
| Phosphorus | 214.9 mg | 268.63 mg | 191.53 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2646170 | C |
| 220 mg | 275 mg | 196.07 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #18-290 | C | |
| Potassium | 330.1 mg | 412.63 mg | 294.2 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2646170 | C |
| 370 mg | 462.5 mg | 329.76 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #18-290 | C | |
| Protein | 22.525 g | 28.16 g | 20.08 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2646170 | C |
| 24 g | 30 g | 21.39 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #18-290 | C | |
| Riboflavin (B2) | 0.177 mg | 0.22 mg | 0.16 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| 0.14 mg | 0.18 mg | 0.12 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #18-290 | C | |
| Selenium | 22.8 µg | 28.5 µg | 20.32 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| 12 µg | 15 µg | 10.69 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #18-290 | C | |
| Sodium | 65.75 mg | 82.19 mg | 58.6 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2646170 | C |
| 60 mg | 75 mg | 53.47 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #18-290 | C | |
| Sugars | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #18-290 | C | |
| Thiamin (B1) | 0.094 mg | 0.12 mg | 0.08 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| 0.14 mg | 0.18 mg | 0.12 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #18-290 | C | |
| Vitamin A | 9 µg | 11.25 µg | 8.02 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| Vitamin B12 | 0.21 µg | 0.26 µg | 0.19 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| Vitamin B6 | 0.811 mg | 1.01 mg | 0.72 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| 0.51 mg | 0.64 mg | 0.45 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #18-290 | C | |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #18-290 | C | |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| 0.2 µg | 0.25 µg | 0.18 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #18-290 | C | |
| Vitamin E | 0.56 mg | 0.7 mg | 0.5 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| 0.13 mg | 0.16 mg | 0.12 mg | second database · not used · 4.3× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #18-290 | C | |
| Vitamin K1 | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| Water | 74.78 g | 93.48 g | 66.65 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2646170 | C |
| 74.2 g | 92.75 g | 66.13 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #18-290 | C | |
| Zinc | 0.655 mg | 0.82 mg | 0.58 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2646170 | C |
| 0.7 mg | 0.88 mg | 0.62 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #18-290 | C |
| Nutrient | Per 100 g | Per serving | Per 100 calories | How | Source | Grade |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Beta-carotene | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| Copper | 0.004 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2646170 | C |
| 0.05 mg | 0.06 mg | 0.04 mg | second database · not used · 13.7× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #18-290 | C | |
| Energy (Atwater general) | 106.034 kcal | 132.54 kcal | 94.5 kcal | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2646170 | C |
| Energy (Atwater specific) | 112.202 kcal | 140.25 kcal | 100 kcal | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2646170 | C |
| Nitrogen | 3.604 g | 4.51 g | 3.21 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2646170 | C |
| Ash | 1.129 g | 1.41 g | 1.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2646170 | C |
| Alcohol, ethyl | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| Caffeine | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| Theobromine | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| Energy | 501 kj | 626.25 kj | 446.52 kj | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| Vitamin A, IU | 30 iu | 37.5 iu | 26.74 iu | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| Carotene, alpha | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| Vitamin D (D2 + D3), International Units | 1 iu | 1.25 iu | 0.89 iu | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| Vitamin D3 (cholecalciferol) | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| Cryptoxanthin, beta | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| Lycopene | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| Tocopherol, beta | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| Tocopherol, gamma | 0.09 mg | 0.11 mg | 0.08 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| Tocopherol, delta | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| Tocotrienol, alpha | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| Tocotrienol, beta | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| Tocotrienol, gamma | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| Tocotrienol, delta | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| Vitamin K (Menaquinone-4) | 8.4 µg | 10.5 µg | 7.49 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| Vitamin K (Dihydrophylloquinone) | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| Folic acid | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| Folate, food | 9 µg | 11.25 µg | 8.02 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| Folate, DFE | 9 µg | 11.25 µg | 8.02 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| Betaine | 7 mg | 8.75 mg | 6.24 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| Tryptophan | 0.283 g | 0.35 g | 0.25 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| Threonine | 1.009 g | 1.26 g | 0.9 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| Isoleucine | 1.104 g | 1.38 g | 0.98 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| Leucine | 1.861 g | 2.33 g | 1.66 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| Lysine | 2.163 g | 2.7 g | 1.93 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| Methionine | 0.585 g | 0.73 g | 0.52 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| Cystine | 0.236 g | 0.3 g | 0.21 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| Phenylalanine | 0.908 g | 1.14 g | 0.81 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| Tyrosine | 0.81 g | 1.01 g | 0.72 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| Valine | 1.165 g | 1.46 g | 1.04 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| Arginine | 1.521 g | 1.9 g | 1.36 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| Histidine | 0.839 g | 1.05 g | 0.75 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| Alanine | 1.313 g | 1.64 g | 1.17 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| Aspartic acid | 2.116 g | 2.65 g | 1.89 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| Glutamic acid | 3.333 g | 4.17 g | 2.97 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| Glycine | 0.996 g | 1.25 g | 0.89 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| Proline | 0.715 g | 0.89 g | 0.64 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| Serine | 0.858 g | 1.07 g | 0.76 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| Vitamin E, added | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| Vitamin B-12, added | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| Fatty acids, total trans | 0.009 g | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2646170 | C |
| SFA 4:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| SFA 6:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| SFA 8:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| SFA 10:0 | 0.017 g | 0.02 g | 0.02 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| SFA 12:0 | 0.004 g | 0.01 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| SFA 14:0 | 0.011 g | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| SFA 16:0 | 0.393 g | 0.49 g | 0.35 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| SFA 18:0 | 0.129 g | 0.16 g | 0.11 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| SFA 20:0 | 0.001 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| MUFA 18:1 | 0.59 g | 0.74 g | 0.53 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| PUFA 18:2 | 0.319 g | 0.4 g | 0.28 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| PUFA 18:3 | 0.013 g | 0.02 g | 0.01 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| PUFA 20:4 | 0.048 g | 0.06 g | 0.04 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| PUFA 22:6 n-3 (DHA) | 0.004 g | 0.01 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| SFA 22:0 | 0.003 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| MUFA 14:1 | 0.003 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| MUFA 16:1 | 0.083 g | 0.1 g | 0.07 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| PUFA 18:4 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| MUFA 20:1 | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| PUFA 20:5 n-3 (EPA) | 0.003 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| MUFA 22:1 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| PUFA 22:5 n-3 (DPA) | 0.006 g | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| Fatty acids, total monounsaturated | 0.369 g | 0.46 g | 0.33 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2646170 | C |
| Fatty acids, total polyunsaturated | 0.296 g | 0.37 g | 0.26 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2646170 | C |
| SFA 15:0 | 0.003 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| SFA 17:0 | 0.003 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| SFA 24:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| TFA 16:1 t | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| TFA 18:1 t | 0.006 g | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| TFA 22:1 t | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| TFA 18:2 t not further defined | 0.001 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| PUFA 18:2 CLAs | 0.001 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| MUFA 24:1 c | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| PUFA 20:2 n-6 c,c | 0.006 g | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| MUFA 16:1 c | 0.083 g | 0.1 g | 0.07 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| MUFA 18:1 c | 0.583 g | 0.73 g | 0.52 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| PUFA 18:2 n-6 c,c | 0.317 g | 0.4 g | 0.28 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| MUFA 22:1 c | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| PUFA 18:3 n-6 c,c,c | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| MUFA 17:1 | 0.002 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| PUFA 20:3 | 0.012 g | 0.02 g | 0.01 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| Fatty acids, total trans-monoenoic | 0.006 g | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| Fatty acids, total trans-polyenoic | 0.001 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| MUFA 15:1 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| PUFA 18:3 n-3 c,c,c (ALA) | 0.013 g | 0.02 g | 0.01 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| PUFA 20:3 n-3 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| PUFA 20:3 n-6 | 0.012 g | 0.02 g | 0.01 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| PUFA 18:3i | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| PUFA 22:4 | 0.013 g | 0.02 g | 0.01 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| Lutein + zeaxanthin | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| Manganese | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2646170 | C |
| 0.01 mg | 0.01 mg | 0.01 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #18-290 | C | |
| Niacin (B3, preformed) | 9.6 mg | 12 mg | 8.56 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| 10.7 mg | 13.38 mg | 9.54 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #18-290 | C | |
| Pantothenic acid (B5) | 1.495 mg | 1.87 mg | 1.33 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
| 1.26 mg | 1.58 mg | 1.12 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #18-290 | C | |
| Retinol | 9 µg | 11.25 µg | 8.02 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171077 | C |
Change the amount to rescale the first column. Nutrients a database doesn't list are missing, not zero.
Absorption studies
Studies of how much of a nutrient gets in; those done in animals are marked. This page quotes a figure only from a study that passes our screen: adults, graded A, of this food in this preparation, with a test dose on record and a source that has passed our evidence check. The exception is calcium on our calcium card: its figure comes from the card’s own study, checked with the card, and is marked “used” even where that study misses a step of this screen. The others are listed so nothing is hidden, each with the first check it fails.
No study of this food passes the screen yet, so no absorption figure is quoted.
| Study | Nutrient | Absorbed | Test dose | People | Grade | On this page |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Doscherholmen et al. 1978: chicken breast chicken (not stated) · not stated · not stated full text read | Vitamin B12 | 60 % | not reported | – | A | Not used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study. |
Hazard rows as the dataset rates them
- Campylobacter · Worth knowing · Not dose-rated. Health Canada: cook breasts to 74 C (165 F), never rinse raw poultry · CFIA 2012 · A
- Purines and gout · Not rated yet · Not rated for people with gout or hyperuricemia: the only reference is a Japanese dietary recommendation of 400 mg purines a day, seen through Kaneko 2014 rather than an agency document, so no reference is established. Chicken breast measures 141.2 mg purines per 100 g (HPLC, Kaneko 2014, four purine bases). A 125 g serving carries about 176 mg. For scale only, 400 mg would be reached at about 283 g. · Kaneko 2014 · B
- Safe cooking temperature · Worth knowing · Flagged: cook chicken breasts to 74 °C (165 °F) in the thickest part, using a digital thermometer; Health Canada's chart gives 74 °C for poultry pieces, breasts included. · Health Canada, safe cooking temperatures · A
- Salmonella · Worth knowing · Not dose-rated. Health Canada: cook breasts to 74 C (165 F), never rinse raw poultry · CFIA 2012 · A
Oxalate, phytate and gut-tolerance measurements
- histamine: not detected in fresh raw breast (day 0); 2.88 mg/kg after 24 h, 5.26 after 48 h, 10.8 after 96 h at 4 C mg/kg · fresh weight, raw · raw chicken breast, uncoated control, bought fresh at a local market in Poland, stored at 4 C · grade A · PubMed 38611289
- histamine: mean 2.88 · standard deviation 0.18 · n see notes mg/kg · fresh weight · raw, fresh breast, stored at 4 C, 24 h · grade A · Jastrzebska 2024
- histamine: mean 5.26 · standard deviation 0.14 · n see notes mg/kg · fresh weight · raw, fresh breast, stored at 4 C, 48 h · grade A · Jastrzebska 2024
- histamine: mean 9.51 · standard deviation 0.1 · n see notes mg/kg · fresh weight · raw, fresh breast, stored at 4 C, 72 h · grade A · Jastrzebska 2024
- histamine: mean 10.8 · standard deviation 0.12 · n see notes mg/kg · fresh weight · raw, fresh breast, stored at 4 C, 96 h · grade A · Jastrzebska 2024
- histamine: mean 0.88 · range 0.6–1.4 · n=160 mg/kg · fresh weight (mg/kg or mg/L as the review's table header) · not stated (label 'Breast') · grade B · Diniz 2025
- histamine: ND in all samples mg/kg · fresh weight · fresh meat · grade B · Sanchezperez 2021
- histamine: not detected (nd) mg/kg · fresh weight (mg/kg or mg/L as the review's table header) · not stated (label 'Breast') · grade B · Diniz 2025
- histamine: mean 5.01 · range 3.35–6.06 · n=84 mg/kg · fresh weight (mg/kg or mg/L as the review's table header) · not stated (label 'Breast') · grade B · Diniz 2025
- histamine: mean 0.03 · range nd–0.1 · n=39 mg/kg · fresh weight (mg/kg or mg/L as the review's table header) · not stated (label 'Breast'); aged · grade B · Diniz 2025
- histamine: uncooked about 185 x10^-3 ppm (about 0.19 mg/kg), figure-read, approximate x10^-3 ppm · fresh weight (1 g portion) · raw (uncooked), grilled (150 C pan, no oil) and boiled (90 C) chicken; cut not stated · grade B · Chung 2017
- tyramine: not detected (nd) mg/kg · fresh weight · raw, fresh breast, stored at 4 C, Day 0 (first, unlabelled CM row of Table 4, before the '24 h' label) · grade A · Jastrzebska 2024
- tyramine: mean 2.47 · standard deviation 0.18 · n see notes mg/kg · fresh weight · raw, fresh breast, stored at 4 C, 24 h · grade A · Jastrzebska 2024
- tyramine: mean 2.71 · standard deviation 0.16 · n see notes mg/kg · fresh weight · raw, fresh breast, stored at 4 C, 48 h · grade A · Jastrzebska 2024
- tyramine: mean 2.78 · standard deviation 0.12 · n see notes mg/kg · fresh weight · raw, fresh breast, stored at 4 C, 72 h · grade A · Jastrzebska 2024
- tyramine: mean 5.48 · standard deviation 0.06 · n see notes mg/kg · fresh weight · raw, fresh breast, stored at 4 C, 96 h · grade A · Jastrzebska 2024
- tyramine: mean 4.32 · standard deviation 8.62 · range nd–38.77 · n=199 mg/kg · fresh weight · fresh meat · grade B · Sanchezperez 2021
Sources
- CFIA, National Microbiological Baseline Study in Broiler Chicken, December 2012 - December 2013 (page dated 2016-08-16)
cfia-broiler-baseline-2012-13· page · Government of Canada terms (Crown copyright) - Chung BY, Park SY, Byun YS, Son JH, Choi YW, Cho YS, Kim HO, Park CW. Effect of different cooking methods on histamine levels in selected foods. Ann Dermatol 2017;29(6):706-714. · doi:10.5021/ad.2017.29.6.706 · PMID 29200758
chung2017· full text read · CC BY-NC 4.0 - Health Canada, Canadian Nutrient File 2026 (14th edition)
cnf-2026· dataset · Open Government Licence – Canada 2.0 - Public Health England, Composition of Foods Integrated Dataset (CoFID) 2021
cofid-2021· dataset · Open Government Licence v3.0 - Diniz FB, Dala-Paula BM, et al., Gloria MBA. Histamine in Brazilian Foods: A Comprehensive Review of Occurrence and Risk Assessment for Intoxication and Intolerance. Food Sci Nutr 2025;13(11):e71151. · doi:10.1002/fsn3.71151
diniz2025· full text read · CC BY 4.0 - USDA FoodData Central, Foundation Foods, release 2026-04-30
fdc-foundation-2026-04-30· dataset · CC0 1.0 (public domain) - USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy, 2018-04
fdc-sr-legacy-2018-04· dataset · CC0 1.0 (public domain) - Health Canada, Safe cooking temperatures (published 2024-06-04; page details 2020-05-29)
hc-safe-cooking-temps· page · Government of Canada terms (Crown copyright; not OGL) - Jastrzebska A, Kmieciak A, Gralak Z, Brzuzy K, Nowaczyk J, Cichosz M, Krzeminski MP, Szlyk E. Determination of Biogenic Amine Level Variations upon Storage, in Chicken Breast Coated with Edible Protective Film. Foods 2024;13(7):985. · doi:10.3390/foods13070985
jastrzebska2024· full text read · CC BY 4.0 - Kaneko K, et al. (2014) Total purine and purine base content of common foodstuffs for facilitating nutritional therapy for gout and hyperuricemia. Biol Pharm Bull 37(5):709-721 · doi:10.1248/bpb.b13-00967 · PMID 24553148
kaneko-2014-purines· secondary source · J-STAGE open access - Jastrzebska A, Kmieciak A, Gralak Z, Brzuzy K, Nowaczyk J, Cichosz M. Determination of Biogenic Amine Level Variations upon Storage, in Chicken Breast Coated with Edible Protective Film. Foods 2024;13(7):985 · doi:10.3390/foods13070985 · PMID 38611289
pmid:38611289· full text read · MDPI open access (licence not checked this session) - Doscherholmen A, McMahon J, Ripley D. Vitamin B12 assimilation from chicken meat. Am J Clin Nutr 1978;31:825-30 · doi:10.1093/ajcn/31.5.825 · PMID 645629
pmid:645629· abstract only · Publisher copyright (journal article) - Sánchez-Pérez S et al. 2021, Nutrients 13:1395, Table 1 (histamine)
sanchezperez2021· full text read · CC BY 4.0
Body map 2026-10-25.1: each nutrient’s job comes from an agency fact sheet, linked beside it under Good for.
The plain words: “a lot” means one serving (100 g when the food has no serving size) gives at least 20% of the daily amount (the reference intake), “some” at least 10%, “a little” at least 2% (the cut-offs are ours, one set for every page: 20% and 10% are borrowed from the US labelling terms “high” and “good source” and applied to Health Canada’s daily amount, whereas Health Canada’s own shopper rule says 15%; provisional: they may change in a later method version). The daily amount is Health Canada’s Dietary Reference Intake for adults 19–30; where men and women need different amounts we use the higher one (protein: 56 g for men, 46 g for women). The percentage printed under each nutrient is the printed amount as a share of that daily amount, rounded to the nearest whole number, and the word is read from that percentage, so the amount, the percentage and the word always agree. Calcium with a measured absorption is scaled by how well it gets in compared with milk.
The scale: “Nothing to watch” means a serving a day stays under the limit at ordinary amounts; “Go easy” means a serving a day can push past the limit for adults who already take in the most, or fewer than 2 servings reach it; “Limit it” means once a week or less. The dataset’s own rating is under “How we got this”. Provisional: the scale may change in a later method version.
Measured absorption under Good for: grade-A studies in adults that tested this preparation of this food, as a share of the listed amount (the share digested, for protein), quoted once each source has passed our evidence check; animal studies and other variants stay in the table above. Provisional: this screen may change in a later method version.