
Banana, raw
Checked by us One serving: 140 g (about 1 large banana) · 136 kcal
Lots of vitamin B6.
Nothing to watch for most people.
Worth knowing for some people: latex-fruit syndrome.
Good for
How we counted this
What one serving (140 g) gives you.
Your body needs enough of each of these. Past enough, more doesn’t help. Amounts are what the food databases list, not what your body absorbs, unless a row says it was measured.
The words: “A lot” means one serving gives 20% or more of Health Canada’s daily amount, “Some” 10% to 19%, “A little” 2% to 9%, “Almost none” under 2%. Strongest word first; within a word, protein and fibre lead, then the biggest share. ?
A milligram (mg) is a thousandth of a gram, and a microgram (µg) a thousandth of a milligram: 1,000 µg make 1 mg.
- A lot
Vitamin B6
Helps you use protein, and your brain needs it to make its chemical messengers.
Learn more
0.29 mg in one serving: 22% of the 1.3 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin B6 fact sheet for health professionals
21 more nutrients below “a lot”
- Some
Vitamin C
Your body makes collagen with it, which wounds need to heal. It also helps you absorb iron from plants.
Learn more
17.2 mg in one serving: 19% of the 90 mg a day men need, 23% of the 75 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin C fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Potassium
Your nerves, muscles and kidneys need it to work.
Learn more
456 mg in one serving: 13% of the 3,400 mg a day men need, 18% of the 2,600 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, potassium fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Magnesium
Your muscles and nerves need it to work.
Learn more
39.2 mg in one serving: 10% of the 400 mg a day men need, 13% of the 310 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, magnesium fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents)
More than 400 of your enzymes need it to work.
Learn more
1.14 mg in one serving: 7% of the 16 mg a day men need, 8% of the 14 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, niacin fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Thiamin (B1)
Your cells use it to get energy from food, and so to grow and work.
Learn more
0.08 mg in one serving: 7% of the 1.2 mg a day men need, 7% of the 1.1 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, thiamin fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Fibre
Keeps your gut moving.
Learn more
2.38 g in one serving: 6% of the 38 g a day men need, 10% of the 25 g women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. Institute of Medicine 2005, Dietary Reference Intakes for Energy, Carbohydrate, Fiber, Fat, Fatty Acids, Cholesterol, Protein, and Amino Acids
- A little
Folate
Your body needs it to make DNA and to divide new cells.
Learn more
19.6 µg in one serving: 5% of the 400 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, folate fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Choline
Your cells need it for their membranes, and to make acetylcholine, a messenger for memory, mood and muscle control.
Learn more
13.7 mg in one serving: 2% of the 550 mg a day men need, 3% of the 425 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, choline fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Omega-3: ALA
The one omega-3 your body can’t make: it must come from food. Your cells build it into their membranes and burn it for energy.
Learn more
37.8 mg in one serving: 2% of the 1,600 mg a day men need, 3% of the 1,100 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, omega-3 fatty acids fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Zinc
Your immune system and healing wounds depend on it.
Learn more
0.22 mg in one serving: 2% of the 11 mg a day men need, 3% of the 8 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, zinc fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Protein
Your muscles, and every other tissue, are built and repaired from it.
Learn more
1.04 g in one serving: 2% of the 56 g a day men need, 2% of the 46 g women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. Institute of Medicine 2005, Dietary Reference Intakes for Energy, Carbohydrate, Fiber, Fat, Fatty Acids, Cholesterol, Protein, and Amino Acids
- Almost none
Vitamin E
Shields the fats in your cells from damage; your immune system uses it too.
Learn more
0.14 mg in one serving: 1% of the 15 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin E fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Calcium
Builds your bones and teeth.
Learn more
7 mg in one serving: 1% of the 1,000 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, calcium fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin A
Your eyes need it to see in dim light.
Learn more
Getting enough matters; more than enough doesn’t sharpen your sight.
1.4 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 900 µg a day men need, under 1% of the 700 µg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin A fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin K1
Your blood needs it to clot.
Learn more
0.14 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 120 µg a day men need, under 1% of the 90 µg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin K fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Omega-3: EPA + DHA
Long-chain omega-3s, built into your cell membranes. DHA is concentrated in your brain and retinas.
Learn more
0 mg in one serving: under 1% of the 250 mg a day.
Health Canada sets no daily amount for these fats, so the daily figure here is the European Food Safety Authority’s.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, omega-3 fatty acids fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Iron
Carries oxygen in your blood.
Learn more
0 mg in one serving: under 1% of the 8 mg a day men need, under 1% of the 18 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Listed amount only. 1 absorption study of this nutrient is on file for this food, but none is quoted yet. Each one is in The numbers, with the reason. See the studies
Source: NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, iron fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Riboflavin (B2)
Your cells use it to make energy and handle fats. It also helps turn tryptophan into niacin and activate vitamin B6.
Learn more
0 mg in one serving: under 1% of the 1.3 mg a day men need, under 1% of the 1.1 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, riboflavin fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Selenium
Your thyroid uses it to make its hormones.
Learn more
0 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 55 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, selenium fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin B12
Your body needs it to make red blood cells and keep nerves working.
Learn more
0 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 2.4 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin B12 fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin D
Your body needs it to absorb calcium and keep your bones hard.
Learn more
Your skin also makes it in sunlight, so food is only one of its sources.
0 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 15 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin D fact sheet for health professionals
Watch out
How we counted this
Checked for cadmium and lead: fine at normal amounts.
Cadmium
Nothing to watchYou’d need about 98 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to use up what an average adult’s intake leaves under the limit.
Learn more
One serving carries 0.07 µg
How we got this
A serving a day adds 0.4% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 71% of the limit.
An average adult already takes in about 71% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.
Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 330,000 g a week would reach the limit.
Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 980 g a week, which stays within the 96,000 g of room left before the limit.
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit
A daily serving adds 0.42% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap.
Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade A
Lead
Nothing to watchYou’d need more than 100 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the lead an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.
Learn more
A serving a day adds 0.3% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.
One serving carries 0.1 µg
How we got this
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake
Adds 0.28% to the average adult lead intake (0.50 µg/kg body weight/day = 35 µg/day, EFSA 2012), far from doubling it, so no cap. Without the 1999 composite the mean is 0.623 µg/kg (n = 16); the three most recent composites 0.513; FDA Total Diet Study item 80: 0 of 27 detected, reporting limit 4 µg/kg.
Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade A
For some people
Banana is one of the four fruits most often involved in latex-fruit syndrome (review; prevalence among latex-allergic patients 4-88% by method and region). A separate Turkish series of 47 children with a banana reaction history and positive banana IgE reacted in 13% of double-blind challenges.
Worth knowing
No limit applies, so none is rated.
Sugar
17 g of sugar in a 140 g serving, natural and added together.
Learn more
Shown, not rated. The food tables we read give total sugar, and few give added sugar, so the site can’t yet tell sugar added in making a food from the sugar in fruit or milk.
Also measured in it
Figures from the dataset. None has a limit to be rated against, so none is a verdict.
Tyramine: 0–1.9 mg per kg fresh weight, so about 0–0.26 mg in a 140 g serving. (mean 0.53 (standard deviation 0.79), range ND-1.85) · Sanchezperez 2021 · grade B
For scale, EFSA found no reported ill effects at 6 mg of tyramine in a meal for people on the older MAO-inhibitor antidepressants, 50 mg for those on the newer ones and 600 mg for healthy people not taking them, based on limited data. EFSA 2011
Also checked (nothing to act on) · 1
Noted for context, or not measured in this food yet.
Shown as context: one serving carries 456 mg potassium, about 13% of the 3,400 mg adequate intake for men or 17.5% of 2,600 mg for women. Relevant to people with kidney disease or on potassium-raising drugs, not a general hazard. A case report exists, 'Hyperkalemia and hyperdopaminemia induced by an obsessive eating of banana in an anorexia nervosa adolescent' (title only read).
Better options
How we counted this
“Better” here always means better at something the row names: more of one nutrient, more nutrients per serving, or the goal you pick. It never means better in every way.
Every amount below is for the same weight, 140 g, the size of one serving of this food, so a swap compares like with like. A serving of another food can be bigger or smaller.
A food is listed only if it gives clearly more: at least a fifth more than this food, and at least 10% of the daily amount more.
More of what it’s good for
For vitamin B6: no other fruits we’ve checked give clearly more, in the same 140 g.
More nutrients per serving, counted together
The other fruits we’ve checked with more nutrients per serving than this one, counting at most 100 kcal. One score ranks them all, so the same few often lead.
Kiwi, raw- More vitamin C (105 mg vs 17.2 mg)
- More vitamin K1 (56.4 µg vs 0.14 µg)
- More vitamin E (1.82 mg vs 0.14 mg)
- Less vitamin B6 (0.09 mg vs 0.29 mg)
Mango, raw- More vitamin C (51 mg vs 17.2 mg)
- More folate (60.2 µg vs 19.6 µg)
Pineapple, raw- More vitamin C (82.1 mg vs 17.2 mg)
- Less vitamin B6 (0.15 mg vs 0.29 mg)
Where the calcium card measured that less calcium gets in than from milk, calcium counts for less; everything else is as listed.
Your goal
Your goal changes only this list, not what the food gives you or what to watch.
Losing weight: fewer calories, and more nutrients, protein and fibre for each calorie.
Raspberries, raw- 72 kcal in 140 g (this food: 136)
- More fibre (9.1 g vs 2.38 g)
- More vitamin C (32.3 mg vs 17.2 mg)
- Less vitamin B6 (0.08 mg vs 0.29 mg)
Raspberries, frozen- 78 kcal in 140 g (this food: 136)
- More riboflavin (0.14 mg vs 0 mg)
- Less vitamin B6 (0.09 mg vs 0.29 mg)
Strawberries, raw- 46 kcal in 140 g (this food: 136)
- More vitamin C (83.5 mg vs 17.2 mg)
- Less vitamin B6 (0.07 mg vs 0.29 mg)
Building muscle: more protein and more calories, per 100 g. In a typical diet most protein comes from other foods; among fruits, these help most.
Raisins3.3 g protein · 299 kcal per 100 g
Avocado, raw1.8 g protein · 206 kcal per 100 g
2 foods out of the 20 other fruits we’ve checked and could compare give clearly more protein, and more calories, per 100 g.
Bring a tracker export or describe your usual week. The same rules check all of it.
The numbers
Open every value
Name in the database: Banana, raw
How the serving was set: 140 g edible (peeled) weight (Health Canada TRA row J.1, fruit, fresh; the edible weight is used)
Listed nutrients, per 100 g
For each nutrient, the value this page uses is marked “used”. A row marked “second database” is another database’s figure for a matching food, kept so you can see how far databases disagree (they can differ in the samples analysed, lab methods and rounding). Its own cells are worked out from it, but none of the page’s words or scores are.
| Nutrient | Per serving | Per 100 calories | How | Source | Grade | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Omega-3: ALA | 0.027 g | 0.04 g | 0.03 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| Calcium | 5 mg | 7 mg | 5.15 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1105314 | C |
| 6 mg | 8.4 mg | 6.19 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-318 | C | |
| 5 mg | 7 mg | 5.15 mg | copy of USDA · not used | Canadian Nutrient File 2026 #1704 | C | |
| Carbohydrate | 23 g | 32.2 g | 23.71 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1105314 | C |
| Choline | 9.8 mg | 13.72 mg | 10.1 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| Energy | 97 kcal | 135.8 kcal | – | FDC Energy (kcal) used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) | – |
| Omega-3: EPA + DHA | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| Fat | 0.29 g | 0.41 g | 0.3 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1105314 | C |
| 0.1 g | 0.14 g | 0.1 g | second database · not used · 2.9× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-318 | C | |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| Fatty acids, total saturated | 0.112 g | 0.16 g | 0.12 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| Fibre | 1.7 g | 2.38 g | 1.75 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1105314 | C |
| 1.4 g | 1.96 g | 1.44 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-318 | C | |
| Folate | 14 µg | 19.6 µg | 14.43 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1105314 | C |
| 14 µg | 19.6 µg | 14.43 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-318 | C | |
| Iron | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1105314 | C |
| 0.27 mg | 0.38 mg | 0.28 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-318 | C | |
| Magnesium | 28 mg | 39.2 mg | 28.87 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1105314 | C |
| 27 mg | 37.8 mg | 27.84 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-318 | C | |
| Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents) | 0.815 mg | 1.14 mg | 0.84 mg | listed used | Canadian Nutrient File 2026 #1704 | C |
| Phosphorus | 22 mg | 30.8 mg | 22.68 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1105314 | C |
| 23 mg | 32.2 mg | 23.71 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-318 | C | |
| Potassium | 326 mg | 456.4 mg | 336.08 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1105314 | C |
| 330 mg | 462 mg | 340.21 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-318 | C | |
| Protein | 0.74 g | 1.04 g | 0.76 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1105314 | C |
| 1.2 g | 1.68 g | 1.24 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-318 | C | |
| Riboflavin (B2) | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1105314 | C |
| 0.04 mg | 0.06 mg | 0.04 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-318 | C | |
| Selenium | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1105314 | C |
| Sodium | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1105314 | C |
| Sugars | 12.23 g | 17.12 g | 12.61 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| 18.1 g | 25.34 g | 18.66 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-318 | C | |
| Thiamin (B1) | 0.056 mg | 0.08 mg | 0.06 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1105314 | C |
| 0.15 mg | 0.21 mg | 0.15 mg | second database · not used · 2.7× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-318 | C | |
| Vitamin A | 1 µg | 1.4 µg | 1.03 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1105314 | C |
| Vitamin B12 | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-318 | C | |
| Vitamin B6 | 0.209 mg | 0.29 mg | 0.22 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1105314 | C |
| 0.31 mg | 0.43 mg | 0.32 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-318 | C | |
| Vitamin C | 12.3 mg | 17.22 mg | 12.68 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1105314 | C |
| 9 mg | 12.6 mg | 9.28 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-318 | C | |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-318 | C | |
| Vitamin E | 0.1 mg | 0.14 mg | 0.1 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| 0.16 mg | 0.22 mg | 0.16 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-318 | C | |
| Vitamin K1 | 0.1 µg | 0.14 µg | 0.1 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1105314 | C |
| 0.06 µg | 0.08 µg | 0.06 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-318 | C | |
| Water | 75.3 g | 105.42 g | 77.63 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1105314 | C |
| 75 g | 105 g | 77.32 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-318 | C | |
| Zinc | 0.16 mg | 0.22 mg | 0.16 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1105314 | C |
| 0.2 mg | 0.28 mg | 0.21 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-318 | C |
| Nutrient | Per 100 g | Per serving | Per 100 calories | How | Source | Grade |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Beta-carotene | 8 µg | 11.2 µg | 8.25 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1105314 | C |
| 20 µg | 28 µg | 20.62 µg | second database · not used · 2.5× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-318 | C | |
| Copper | 0.101 mg | 0.14 mg | 0.1 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1105314 | C |
| 0.1 mg | 0.14 mg | 0.1 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-318 | C | |
| Energy (Atwater general) | 98 kcal | 137.2 kcal | 101.03 kcal | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1105314 | C |
| Energy (Atwater specific) | 88 kcal | 123.2 kcal | 90.72 kcal | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1105314 | C |
| Nitrogen | 0.12 g | 0.17 g | 0.12 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1105314 | C |
| Ash | 0.7 g | 0.98 g | 0.72 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1105314 | C |
| Starch | 3.66 g | 5.12 g | 3.77 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1105314 | C |
| Sucrose | 4.18 g | 5.85 g | 4.31 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1105314 | C |
| Glucose | 5.55 g | 7.77 g | 5.72 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1105314 | C |
| Fructose | 6.09 g | 8.53 g | 6.28 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1105314 | C |
| Maltose | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1105314 | C |
| Alcohol, ethyl | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| Citric acid | 341 mg | 477.4 mg | 351.55 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1105314 | C |
| Malic acid | 369 mg | 516.6 mg | 380.41 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1105314 | C |
| Carbohydrate, by summation | 21.2 g | 29.68 g | 21.86 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1105314 | C |
| Caffeine | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| Theobromine | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| Energy | 408 kj | 571.2 kj | 420.62 kj | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1105314 | C |
| Sugars, Total | 15.8 g | 22.12 g | 16.29 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1105314 | C |
| Galactose | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1105314 | C |
| Fluoride, F | 2.2 µg | 3.08 µg | 2.27 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| Vitamin A, IU | 64 iu | 89.6 iu | 65.98 iu | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| Carotene, alpha | 7 µg | 9.8 µg | 7.22 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1105314 | C |
| Vitamin D (D2 + D3), International Units | 0 iu | 0 iu | 0 iu | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| Cryptoxanthin, beta | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1105314 | C |
| Lycopene | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| Tocopherol, beta | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| Tocopherol, gamma | 0.02 mg | 0.03 mg | 0.02 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| Tocopherol, delta | 0.01 mg | 0.01 mg | 0.01 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| Tocotrienol, alpha | 0.06 mg | 0.08 mg | 0.06 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| Tocotrienol, beta | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| Tocotrienol, gamma | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| Tocotrienol, delta | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| cis-beta-Carotene | 1 µg | 1.4 µg | 1.03 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1105314 | C |
| cis-Lycopene | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1105314 | C |
| cis-Lutein/Zeaxanthin | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1105314 | C |
| Biotin | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1105314 | C |
| Vitamin K (Menaquinone-4) | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1105314 | C |
| Vitamin K (Dihydrophylloquinone) | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1105314 | C |
| Folic acid | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| Folate, food | 20 µg | 28 µg | 20.62 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| Folate, DFE | 20 µg | 28 µg | 20.62 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| Betaine | 0.1 mg | 0.14 mg | 0.1 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| Tryptophan | 0.009 g | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| Threonine | 0.028 g | 0.04 g | 0.03 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| Isoleucine | 0.028 g | 0.04 g | 0.03 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| Leucine | 0.068 g | 0.1 g | 0.07 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| Lysine | 0.05 g | 0.07 g | 0.05 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| Methionine | 0.008 g | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| Cystine | 0.009 g | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| Phenylalanine | 0.049 g | 0.07 g | 0.05 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| Tyrosine | 0.009 g | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| Valine | 0.047 g | 0.07 g | 0.05 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| Arginine | 0.049 g | 0.07 g | 0.05 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| Histidine | 0.077 g | 0.11 g | 0.08 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| Alanine | 0.04 g | 0.06 g | 0.04 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| Aspartic acid | 0.124 g | 0.17 g | 0.13 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| Glutamic acid | 0.152 g | 0.21 g | 0.16 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| Glycine | 0.038 g | 0.05 g | 0.04 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| Proline | 0.028 g | 0.04 g | 0.03 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| Serine | 0.04 g | 0.06 g | 0.04 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| Vitamin E, added | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| Vitamin B-12, added | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| Fatty acids, total trans | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| SFA 4:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| SFA 6:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| SFA 8:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| SFA 10:0 | 0.001 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| SFA 12:0 | 0.002 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| SFA 14:0 | 0.002 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| SFA 16:0 | 0.102 g | 0.14 g | 0.11 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| SFA 18:0 | 0.005 g | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| MUFA 18:1 | 0.022 g | 0.03 g | 0.02 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| PUFA 18:2 | 0.046 g | 0.06 g | 0.05 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| PUFA 18:3 | 0.027 g | 0.04 g | 0.03 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| PUFA 20:4 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| PUFA 22:6 n-3 (DHA) | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| MUFA 16:1 | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| PUFA 18:4 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| MUFA 20:1 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| PUFA 20:5 n-3 (EPA) | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| MUFA 22:1 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| PUFA 22:5 n-3 (DPA) | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| Phytosterols | 16 mg | 22.4 mg | 16.49 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| Fatty acids, total monounsaturated | 0.032 g | 0.04 g | 0.03 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| Fatty acids, total polyunsaturated | 0.073 g | 0.1 g | 0.08 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| trans-beta-Carotene | 7 µg | 9.8 µg | 7.22 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1105314 | C |
| trans-Lycopene | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1105314 | C |
| Cryptoxanthin, alpha | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1105314 | C |
| Total dietary fiber (AOAC 2011.25) | 4.62 g | 6.47 g | 4.76 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1105314 | C |
| Iodine | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1105314 | C |
| 3 µg | 4.2 µg | 3.09 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-318 | C | |
| Lactose | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1105314 | C |
| 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-318 | C | |
| Lutein + zeaxanthin | 22 µg | 30.8 µg | 22.68 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| Manganese | 0.258 mg | 0.36 mg | 0.27 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1105314 | C |
| 0.36 mg | 0.5 mg | 0.37 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-318 | C | |
| Niacin (B3, preformed) | 0.662 mg | 0.93 mg | 0.68 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1105314 | C |
| 0.7 mg | 0.98 mg | 0.72 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-318 | C | |
| Pantothenic acid (B5) | 0.334 mg | 0.47 mg | 0.34 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| 0.35 mg | 0.49 mg | 0.36 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-318 | C | |
| Retinol | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173944 | C |
| 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-318 | C |
Change the amount to rescale the first column. Nutrients a database doesn't list are missing, not zero.
Absorption studies
Studies of how much of a nutrient gets in; those done in animals are marked. This page quotes a figure only from a study that passes our screen: adults, graded A, of this food in this preparation, with a test dose on record and a source that has passed our evidence check. The exception is calcium on our calcium card: its figure comes from the card’s own study, checked with the card, and is marked “used” even where that study misses a step of this screen. The others are listed so nothing is hidden, each with the first check it fails.
No study of this food passes the screen yet, so no absorption figure is quoted.
| Study | Nutrient | Absorbed | Test dose | People | Grade | On this page |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sripanyakorn 2009 study 2: ripe peeled banana, 250 g (silicon, 6 h urinary recovery) not stated (bought at a London supermarket) · ripe, peeled, ingested without further preparation or dilution (raw) full text read | silicon | 3.9 % | 14 mg | 5 | A | Not used: its source hasn’t passed our evidence check yet. |
| Faisant 1995: freeze-dried GREEN banana flour, 30 g, with a mixed meal (starch, ileal digestibility) green (unripe) banana, freeze-dried flour · green banana PULP, peeled, sliced, freeze-dried and milled to flour, eaten raw (not cooked), 30 g in a meal of yoghurt, ham, egg, oil, sugar, orange juice; the flour was the only starch and fibre source full text read | Starch | 16.3 % | 23,100 mg | 6 | B | Not used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study. |
| Garcia 2015: ripe raw Cavendish banana, 480 g/day for 6 days, iron (58Fe extrinsic label, RBC incorporation) Cavendish; ripeness yellow peel (no stage score) · raw ripe banana ('served ripe, which was determined by their yellow peel'), Cavendish, bought in the Queretaro market on the day; extrinsically labelled with 58Fe full text read | Iron | 49.3 % | 2 mg | 15 | A | Not used: its source hasn’t passed our evidence check yet. |
| Garcia 2015: green Cavendish banana steamed 45 min in banana leaves (matooke style), 500 g/day for 4 days, iron (58Fe extrinsic label) green (unripe) Cavendish, steamed 45 min · green bananas peeled, chopped, wrapped in banana leaves and steamed for 45 min, served warm without sauce (traditional Ugandan matooke) full text read | Iron | 33.9 % | 3 mg | 14 | B | Not used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study. |
| Bills 1990 (Oregon State PhD thesis): pureed banana fed to men on a constant diet, vitamin B-6 bioavailability from 24-h urinary 4-pyridoxic acid response, against a pyridoxine-HCl dose-response line not stated · 'Bananas were pureed prior to the study, aliquots were frozen and consumed after thawing' full text read | Vitamin B6 | – | 1 mg | 7 | A | Not used: it measures something other than the share absorbed. |
Hazard rows as the dataset rates them
- Cadmium · Nothing to watch: under the limit · A daily serving adds 0.42% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · A
- Latex-fruit syndrome · Worth knowing · Banana is one of the four fruits most often involved in latex-fruit syndrome (review; prevalence among latex-allergic patients 4-88% by method and region). A separate Turkish series of 47 children with a banana reaction history and positive banana IgE reacted in 13% of double-blind challenges. · PubMed 39064262 · B
- Lead · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · Adds 0.28% to the average adult lead intake (0.50 µg/kg body weight/day = 35 µg/day, EFSA 2012), far from doubling it, so no cap. Without the 1999 composite the mean is 0.623 µg/kg (n = 16); the three most recent composites 0.513; FDA Total Diet Study item 80: 0 of 27 detected, reporting limit 4 µg/kg. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · A
- Potassium-restricted diets · Context · Shown as context: one serving carries 456 mg potassium, about 13% of the 3,400 mg adequate intake for men or 17.5% of 2,600 mg for women. Relevant to people with kidney disease or on potassium-raising drugs, not a general hazard. A case report exists, 'Hyperkalemia and hyperdopaminemia induced by an obsessive eating of banana in an anorexia nervosa adolescent' (title only read). · US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) · C
Oxalate, phytate and gut-tolerance measurements
- fodmap excess fructose: none: fructose 3.21 < glucose 5.93 (excess fructose cell is '-') g/100 g · fresh weight · raw fresh banana, enzymatic kits · grade A · PubMed 29706489
- fodmap excess fructose: fructose 6.08 - glucose 6.03 (means, n = 7) g/100 g · fresh weight · raw, peeled · grade A · PubMed 34237070
- fodmap excess fructose: fructose 6.23 - glucose 5.33 (means, n = 7); glucose range <0.2-9.49 g/100 g · fresh weight · raw, peeled · grade A · PubMed 34237070
- fodmap excess fructose: fructose 6.72 - glucose 6.96 = -0.24 (means, n = 7) g/100 g · fresh weight · raw, peeled · grade A · PubMed 34237070
- fodmap excess fructose: fructose 6.09 (3.33-9.43) - glucose 5.55 (0-9.49); 12 data points g/100 g · fresh weight · raw, peeled · grade A · US food database (USDA Foundation Foods)
- fodmap fos: FOS (kestose + nystose class) 0.15; GOS not detected g/100 g of sample · fresh weight (the paper says g/100 g of sample) · raw fresh banana, edible portion, Megazyme kits · grade A · PubMed 29706489
- fodmap fructan: contested (banana fructan: one source 0.11 g/100 g, others 0.15 and up to 0.7): LMWSDF (fructans, stachyose, raffinose) not detected above 0.8 g/100 g in any banana sample g/100 g · fresh weight · raw, peeled · grade A · PubMed 34237070
- fodmap fructan: contested (banana fructan: one source 0.11 g/100 g, others 0.15 and up to 0.7): 0.42 +/- 0.04% of dry weight; 0.14 g per 126 g portion g/100 g · fresh weight (water 74%) · composite of >= 3 subsamples of retail banana, edible part, enzymatic assay · grade B · Ferjancic 2024
- fodmap fructan: contested (banana fructan: one source 0.11 g/100 g, others 0.15 and up to 0.7): about 6,000 µg per g dry matter (banana, fructans total, HPAEC-PAD) g/100 g (converted) · fresh weight, converted from dry matter using 24.7% dry matter (Foundation water 75.3%) · fresh banana, water extraction, HPAEC-PAD · grade B · PubMed 11453012
- fodmap fructan: contested (banana fructan: one source 0.11 g/100 g, others 0.15 and up to 0.7): Indian cultivars: not detected in Morris, Poovan and Red banana; 470.0 (Rasthali), 665.7 (Karpooravalli), 696.4 (Hill banana), 1433.3 mg/100 g FW (Nendran, a cooking banana) g/100 g · fresh weight · raw edible pulp, Megazyme Fructan HK assay · grade B · PubMed 26604400
- fodmap polyols: mannitol ND, sorbitol ND g/100 g · fresh weight · raw fresh banana · grade A · PubMed 29706489
- histamine: ND (not detected) in all 8 samples mg/kg · fresh weight · banana, Spanish market samples; method not given in this paper (authors' own database of Spanish market products) · grade B · Sanchezperez 2021
- lactose: ND g/100 g · fresh weight · raw · grade A · PubMed 29706489
- tyramine: mean 0.53 (standard deviation 0.79), range ND-1.85 mg/kg · fresh weight · as above · grade B · Sanchezperez 2021
Sources
- Bills ND. In vivo and in vitro determination of the bioavailability of vitamin B-6 from plant foods containing pyridoxine glucoside. PhD thesis, Oregon State University, 11 June 1990 (adviser JE Leklem)
bills1990· full text read · institutional repository, open PDF - Health Canada, Canadian Nutrient File 2026 (14th edition)
cnf-2026· dataset · Open Government Licence – Canada 2.0 - Public Health England, Composition of Foods Integrated Dataset (CoFID) 2021
cofid-2021· dataset · Open Government Licence v3.0 - USDA FoodData Central, Foundation Foods, release 2026-04-30
fdc-foundation-2026-04-30· dataset · CC0 1.0 (public domain) - USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy, 2018-04
fdc-sr-legacy-2018-04· dataset · CC0 1.0 (public domain) - Ferjancic B et al. 2024, Fructan content in most commonly consumed Slovenian foods, Front Nutr (PMC11327153)
ferjancic2024· full text read · CC BY 4.0 - Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites)
hc-tds-trace-elements· dataset · Open Government Licence – Canada 2.0 - L'homme C, Peschet JL, Puigserver A. Evaluation of fructans in various fresh and stewed fruits by high-performance anion-exchange chromatography with pulsed amperometric detection. J Chromatogr A 2001 Jun 22 · PMID 11453012
pmid:11453012· abstract only · PubMed abstract - Sripanyakorn S, Jugdaohsingh R, Dissayabutr W, et al. The comparative absorption of silicon from different foods and food supplements. Br J Nutr 2009 (pubdate 10 Sep 2009) · doi:10.1017/S0007114509311757 · PMID 19356271
pmid:19356271· full text read · author manuscript on PMC (not open-access licence) - Garcia OP, Martinez M, Romano D, Camacho M, de Moura FF, Abrams SA, Khanna HK, Dale JL, Rosado JL. Iron absorption in raw and cooked bananas: a field study using stable isotopes in women. Food Nutr Res 2015;59:25976 · doi:10.3402/fnr.v59.25976 · PMID 25660254
pmid:25660254· full text read · CC BY (per PMC) - Shalini R, Antony U. Fructan distribution in banana cultivars and effect of ripening and processing on Nendran banana. J Food Sci Technol 2015;52(12):8244-8251 · doi:10.1007/s13197-015-1927-8 · PMID 26604400
pmid:26604400· full text read · author manuscript on PMC - Chumpitazi BP, Lim J, McMeans AR, Shulman RJ, Hamaker BR. Evaluation of FODMAP carbohydrates content in selected foods in the United States. J Pediatr 2018 (pages 252-255) · doi:10.1016/j.jpeds.2018.03.038 · PMID 29706489
pmid:29706489· full text read · author manuscript on PMC - Phillips KM, McGinty RC, Couture G, et al. Dietary fiber, starch, and sugars in bananas at different stages of ripeness in the retail market. PLoS One 2021 · doi:10.1371/journal.pone.0253366 · PMID 34237070
pmid:34237070· full text read · CC0 (per Europe PMC) - Gromek W, Kolodziejczyk N, et al. Revisiting latex-fruit syndrome after 30 years of research: a comprehensive literature review and description of two cases. J Clin Med 2024;13(14):4222 · doi:10.3390/jcm13144222 · PMID 39064262
pmid:39064262· full text read · CC BY 4.0 - Faisant N, Buleon A, Colonna P, et al. Digestion of raw banana starch in the small intestine of healthy humans: structural features of resistant starch. Br J Nutr 1995 Jan · doi:10.1079/bjn19950013 · PMID 7857906
pmid:7857906· full text read · Cambridge University Press (open access PDF) - Sánchez-Pérez S et al. 2021, Nutrients 13:1395, Table 1 (histamine)
sanchezperez2021· full text read · CC BY 4.0
Body map 2026-10-25.1: each nutrient’s job comes from an agency fact sheet, linked beside it under Good for.
The plain words: “a lot” means one serving (100 g when the food has no serving size) gives at least 20% of the daily amount (the reference intake), “some” at least 10%, “a little” at least 2% (the cut-offs are ours, one set for every page: 20% and 10% are borrowed from the US labelling terms “high” and “good source” and applied to Health Canada’s daily amount, whereas Health Canada’s own shopper rule says 15%; provisional: they may change in a later method version). The daily amount is Health Canada’s Dietary Reference Intake for adults 19–30; where men and women need different amounts we use the higher one (protein: 56 g for men, 46 g for women). The percentage printed under each nutrient is the printed amount as a share of that daily amount, rounded to the nearest whole number, and the word is read from that percentage, so the amount, the percentage and the word always agree. Calcium with a measured absorption is scaled by how well it gets in compared with milk.
The scale: “Nothing to watch” means a serving a day stays under the limit at ordinary amounts; “Go easy” means a serving a day can push past the limit for adults who already take in the most, or fewer than 2 servings reach it; “Limit it” means once a week or less. The dataset’s own rating is under “How we got this”. Provisional: the scale may change in a later method version.
Measured absorption under Good for: grade-A studies in adults that tested this preparation of this food, as a share of the listed amount (the share digested, for protein), quoted once each source has passed our evidence check; animal studies and other variants stay in the table above. Provisional: this screen may change in a later method version.