
Flaxseed, whole
Checked by us One serving: 30 g (about 3 tablespoons) · 160 kcal
Lots of fibre, omega-3: ALA and thiamin. Rich in 1 more nutrient: see Good for.
Go easy: cadmium can add up.
Good for
How we counted this
What one serving (30 g) gives you.
Your body needs enough of each of these. Past enough, more doesn’t help. Amounts are what the food databases list, not what your body absorbs, unless a row says it was measured.
The words: “A lot” means one serving gives 20% or more of Health Canada’s daily amount, “Some” 10% to 19%, “A little” 2% to 9%, “Almost none” under 2%. Strongest word first; within a word, protein and fibre lead, then the biggest share. ?
A milligram (mg) is a thousandth of a gram, and a microgram (µg) a thousandth of a milligram: 1,000 µg make 1 mg.
- A lot
Fibre
Keeps your gut moving.
Learn more
8.19 g in one serving: 22% of the 38 g a day men need, 33% of the 25 g women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. Institute of Medicine 2005, Dietary Reference Intakes for Energy, Carbohydrate, Fiber, Fat, Fatty Acids, Cholesterol, Protein, and Amino Acids
- A lot
Omega-3: ALA
The one omega-3 your body can’t make: it must come from food. Your cells build it into their membranes and burn it for energy.
Learn more
6,844 mg in one serving: 428% of the 1,600 mg a day men need, 622% of the 1,100 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, omega-3 fatty acids fact sheet for health professionals
- A lot
Thiamin (B1)
Your cells use it to get energy from food, and so to grow and work.
Learn more
0.49 mg in one serving: 41% of the 1.2 mg a day men need, 45% of the 1.1 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, thiamin fact sheet for health professionals
- A lot
Magnesium
Your muscles and nerves need it to work.
Learn more
118 mg in one serving: 30% of the 400 mg a day men need, 38% of the 310 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, magnesium fact sheet for health professionals
18 more nutrients below “a lot”
- Some
Protein
Your muscles, and every other tissue, are built and repaired from it.
Learn more
5.49 g in one serving: 10% of the 56 g a day men need, 12% of the 46 g women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. Institute of Medicine 2005, Dietary Reference Intakes for Energy, Carbohydrate, Fiber, Fat, Fatty Acids, Cholesterol, Protein, and Amino Acids
- Some
Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents)
More than 400 of your enzymes need it to work.
Learn more
2.41 mg in one serving: 15% of the 16 mg a day men need, 17% of the 14 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, niacin fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Selenium
Your thyroid uses it to make its hormones.
Learn more
7.62 µg in one serving: 14% of the 55 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, selenium fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Zinc
Your immune system and healing wounds depend on it.
Learn more
1.3 mg in one serving: 12% of the 11 mg a day men need, 16% of the 8 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, zinc fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Vitamin B6
Helps you use protein, and your brain needs it to make its chemical messengers.
Learn more
0.14 mg in one serving: 11% of the 1.3 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin B6 fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Iron
Carries oxygen in your blood.
Learn more
1.72 mg in one serving: 22% of the 8 mg a day men need, 10% of the 18 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, iron fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Calcium
Builds your bones and teeth.
Learn more
76.5 mg in one serving: 8% of the 1,000 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, calcium fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Potassium
Your nerves, muscles and kidneys need it to work.
Learn more
244 mg in one serving: 7% of the 3,400 mg a day men need, 9% of the 2,600 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, potassium fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Folate
Your body needs it to make DNA and to divide new cells.
Learn more
26.1 µg in one serving: 7% of the 400 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, folate fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Choline
Your cells need it for their membranes, and to make acetylcholine, a messenger for memory, mood and muscle control.
Learn more
23.6 mg in one serving: 4% of the 550 mg a day men need, 6% of the 425 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, choline fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Riboflavin (B2)
Your cells use it to make energy and handle fats. It also helps turn tryptophan into niacin and activate vitamin B6.
Learn more
0.05 mg in one serving: 4% of the 1.3 mg a day men need, 5% of the 1.1 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, riboflavin fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin K1
Your blood needs it to clot.
Learn more
1.29 µg in one serving: 1% of the 120 µg a day men need, 1% of the 90 µg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin K fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin E
Shields the fats in your cells from damage; your immune system uses it too.
Learn more
0.09 mg in one serving: 1% of the 15 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin E fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin C
Your body makes collagen with it, which wounds need to heal. It also helps you absorb iron from plants.
Learn more
0.18 mg in one serving: under 1% of the 90 mg a day men need, under 1% of the 75 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin C fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Omega-3: EPA + DHA
Long-chain omega-3s, built into your cell membranes. DHA is concentrated in your brain and retinas.
Learn more
0 mg in one serving: under 1% of the 250 mg a day.
Health Canada sets no daily amount for these fats, so the daily figure here is the European Food Safety Authority’s.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, omega-3 fatty acids fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin A
Your eyes need it to see in dim light.
Learn more
Getting enough matters; more than enough doesn’t sharpen your sight.
0 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 900 µg a day men need, under 1% of the 700 µg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin A fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin B12
Your body needs it to make red blood cells and keep nerves working.
Learn more
0 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 2.4 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin B12 fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin D
Your body needs it to absorb calcium and keep your bones hard.
Learn more
Your skin also makes it in sunlight, so food is only one of its sources.
0 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 15 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin D fact sheet for health professionals
Watch out
How we counted this
Cadmium
Go easyBuilds up in the kidneys over years.
Learn more
140 g a week takes an average adult to the limit
You’d need about 4.7 servings a week of this food alone to use up what an average adult’s intake leaves under the limit.
“Go easy” here because, for adults who already take in the most from other food, a serving a day can push past the limit.
One serving carries 11 µg
How we got this
A serving a day adds 62% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 115% of the limit.
An average adult already takes in about 71% of the limit. One serving a day uses up the room left in about 4.7 days of the week.
Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 480 g a week would reach the limit.
Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 210 g a week, which is more than the 140 g of room left before the limit.
The dataset’s rating: Go easy: can push past the limit
The dataset’s original note, counted from zero and kept as written: A daily serving adds 62% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), short of doubling it, so no cap.
Checked for lead: fine at normal amounts.
Lead
Nothing to watchA serving a day adds 0% to the lead an average adult already gets from all food. No dose is known to be safe, so we’d flag a food only if a daily serving doubled that intake.
Learn more
A serving a day adds 0% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.
One serving carries 0 µg
How we got this
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake
All eight CFIA samples report 0 (not quantified), so only a lower bound exists; the detection limit for flax is not given. CFIA's general limit range is 0.0005-0.02 ppm: at the top of it, 30 g carries 0.6 µg, under 2% of the average adult's 35 µg/day, so no cap.
Worth knowing
No limit applies, so none is rated.
Sugar
0.5 g of sugar in a 30 g serving, natural and added together.
Learn more
Shown, not rated. The food tables we read give total sugar, and few give added sugar, so the site can’t yet tell sugar added in making a food from the sugar in fruit or milk.
Also measured in it
Figures from the dataset. None has a limit to be rated against, so none is a verdict.
Oxalate: 9 mg per 100 g in the sources we hold. · Oxalosis and Hyperoxaluria Foundation 2024 · grade C
We haven’t rated this food for oxalate. We count only a figure that comes from a grade A or B source and says it was measured per 100 g of the food as eaten, and none of the figures here does both.
Phytate, as the source gives it: 997 ± 141 (787-1,232) mg phytate/100 g dry matter (phytic acid basis: the paper uses 660.3 g/mol for its molar ratios) (dry matter); mean 103.94 across 8 varieties mg/100 g (wet base as the paper states) (as stated 'wet base') · Castro alba2019, Deme 2017 · grade A, B
These come from different samples and are given on different bases (as the food was analysed, or per gram of dry matter), so the figures can’t be compared with each other.
Phytate (also written InsP6, IP6 or phytic acid), the form in which plants store phosphorus, is found in whole grains, beans and nuts. It binds zinc in the gut and lowers how much zinc and plant (non-heme) iron you absorb. No limit applies.
Source: NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, Zinc fact sheet · NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, Iron fact sheet
Also checked (nothing to act on) · 1
Noted for context, or not measured in this food yet.
Shown as context: whole flaxseed largely passes through undigested, and EFSA expects very little of its cyanide to be absorbed; Austria's food agency considers harm from whole, unground seed excluded. Neither has been measured in people. Ground flaxseed is rated separately.
Better options
How we counted this
“Better” here always means better at something the row names: more of one nutrient, more nutrients per serving, or the goal you pick. It never means better in every way.
Every amount below is for the same weight, 30 g, the size of one serving of this food, so a swap compares like with like. A serving of another food can be bigger or smaller.
A food is listed only if it gives clearly more: at least a fifth more than this food, and at least 10% of the daily amount more.
More of what it’s good for
For fibre: no other toppings we’ve checked give clearly more, in the same 30 g.
For omega-3: ALA: no other toppings we’ve checked give clearly more, in the same 30 g.
For thiamin: no other toppings we’ve checked give clearly more, in the same 30 g.
More nutrients per serving, counted together
The other toppings we’ve checked with more nutrients per serving than this one, counting at most 100 kcal. One score ranks them all, so the same few often lead.
Chia seeds, ground- More selenium (16.6 µg vs 7.62 µg)
- More niacin (4.83 mg vs 2.41 mg)
- More calcium (189 mg vs 76.5 mg)
- Less omega-3: ALA (5,349 mg vs 6,844 mg)
- Less thiamin (0.19 mg vs 0.49 mg)
Chia seeds- More selenium (16.6 µg vs 7.62 µg)
- More niacin (4.83 mg vs 2.41 mg)
- More calcium (179 mg vs 76.5 mg)
- Less omega-3: ALA (5,349 mg vs 6,844 mg)
- Less thiamin (0.15 mg vs 0.49 mg)
2 foods out of the 7 other toppings we’ve checked and could compare give clearly more nutrients per serving.
Where the calcium card measured that less calcium gets in than from milk, calcium counts for less; everything else is as listed.
Your goal
Your goal changes only this list, not what the food gives you or what to watch.
Losing weight: fewer calories, and more nutrients, protein and fibre for each calorie.
Chia seeds, ground- More selenium (16.6 µg vs 7.62 µg)
- More niacin (4.83 mg vs 2.41 mg)
- More calcium (189 mg vs 76.5 mg)
- Less omega-3: ALA (5,349 mg vs 6,844 mg)
- Less thiamin (0.19 mg vs 0.49 mg)
Chia seeds- More selenium (16.6 µg vs 7.62 µg)
- More niacin (4.83 mg vs 2.41 mg)
- More calcium (179 mg vs 76.5 mg)
- Less omega-3: ALA (5,349 mg vs 6,844 mg)
- Less thiamin (0.15 mg vs 0.49 mg)
Parmesan- 118 kcal in 30 g (this food: 160)
- More calcium (355 mg vs 76.5 mg)
- More vitamin B12 (0.36 µg vs 0 µg)
- Less omega-3: ALA (89.1 mg vs 6,844 mg)
- Less thiamin (0.01 mg vs 0.49 mg)
None of the 7 other toppings we could compare gives clearly more protein, and more calories, per 100 g.
Bring a tracker export or describe your usual week. The same rules check all of it.
The numbers
Open every value
Name in the database: Flaxseed, whole (raw)
How the serving was set: 30 g shelled (Health Canada TRA row O.1, nuts and seeds, whole; flaxseed itself not named in the table, so O.1 by inference) (corrected by checker, 2026-10-17)
Listed nutrients, per 100 g
For each nutrient, the value this page uses is marked “used”. A row marked “second database” is another database’s figure for a matching food, kept so you can see how far databases disagree (they can differ in the samples analysed, lab methods and rounding). Its own cells are worked out from it, but none of the page’s words or scores are.
| Nutrient | Per serving | Per 100 calories | How | Source | Grade | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Omega-3: ALA | 22.813 g | 6.84 g | 4.27 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Calcium | 255 mg | 76.5 mg | 47.75 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| 255 mg | 76.5 mg | 47.75 mg | copy of USDA · not used | Canadian Nutrient File 2026 #4528 | C | |
| Carbohydrate | 28.88 g | 8.66 g | 5.41 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Choline | 78.7 mg | 23.61 mg | 14.74 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Energy | 534 kcal | 160.2 kcal | – | FDC Energy (kcal) used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) | – |
| Omega-3: EPA + DHA | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Fat | 42.16 g | 12.65 g | 7.9 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Fatty acids, total saturated | 3.663 g | 1.1 g | 0.69 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Fibre | 27.3 g | 8.19 g | 5.11 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Folate | 87 µg | 26.1 µg | 16.29 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Iron | 5.73 mg | 1.72 mg | 1.07 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Magnesium | 392 mg | 117.6 mg | 73.41 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents) | 8.03 mg | 2.41 mg | 1.5 mg | listed used | Canadian Nutrient File 2026 #4528 | C |
| Phosphorus | 642 mg | 192.6 mg | 120.22 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Potassium | 813 mg | 243.9 mg | 152.25 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Protein | 18.29 g | 5.49 g | 3.43 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Riboflavin (B2) | 0.161 mg | 0.05 mg | 0.03 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Selenium | 25.4 µg | 7.62 µg | 4.76 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Sodium | 30 mg | 9 mg | 5.62 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Sugars | 1.55 g | 0.47 g | 0.29 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Thiamin (B1) | 1.644 mg | 0.49 mg | 0.31 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Vitamin A | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Vitamin B12 | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Vitamin B6 | 0.473 mg | 0.14 mg | 0.09 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Vitamin C | 0.6 mg | 0.18 mg | 0.11 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Vitamin E | 0.31 mg | 0.09 mg | 0.06 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Vitamin K1 | 4.3 µg | 1.29 µg | 0.81 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Water | 6.96 g | 2.09 g | 1.3 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Zinc | 4.34 mg | 1.3 mg | 0.81 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Nutrient | Per 100 g | Per serving | Per 100 calories | How | Source | Grade |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Beta-carotene | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Copper | 1.22 mg | 0.37 mg | 0.23 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Energy (Atwater general) | 545.084 kcal | 163.53 kcal | 102.08 kcal | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2262075 | C |
| Energy (Atwater specific) | 514.443 kcal | 154.33 kcal | 96.34 kcal | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2262075 | C |
| Nitrogen | 3.403 g | 1.02 g | 0.64 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2262075 | C |
| Ash | 3.72 g | 1.12 g | 0.7 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Sucrose | 1.15 g | 0.35 g | 0.22 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Glucose | 0.4 g | 0.12 g | 0.07 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Fructose | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Maltose | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Alcohol, ethyl | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Caffeine | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Theobromine | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Energy | 2,234 kj | 670.2 kj | 418.35 kj | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Galactose | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Vitamin A, IU | 0 iu | 0 iu | 0 iu | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Carotene, alpha | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Vitamin D (D2 + D3), International Units | 0 iu | 0 iu | 0 iu | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Cryptoxanthin, beta | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Lycopene | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Tocopherol, beta | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Tocopherol, gamma | 19.95 mg | 5.99 mg | 3.74 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Tocopherol, delta | 0.35 mg | 0.11 mg | 0.07 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Tocotrienol, alpha | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Tocotrienol, beta | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Tocotrienol, gamma | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Tocotrienol, delta | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Biotin | 33.8 µg | 10.14 µg | 6.33 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2262075 | C |
| Vitamin K (Dihydrophylloquinone) | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Folic acid | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Folate, food | 87 µg | 26.1 µg | 16.29 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Folate, DFE | 87 µg | 26.1 µg | 16.29 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Betaine | 3.1 mg | 0.93 mg | 0.58 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Tryptophan | 0.297 g | 0.09 g | 0.06 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Threonine | 0.766 g | 0.23 g | 0.14 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Isoleucine | 0.896 g | 0.27 g | 0.17 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Leucine | 1.235 g | 0.37 g | 0.23 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Lysine | 0.862 g | 0.26 g | 0.16 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Methionine | 0.37 g | 0.11 g | 0.07 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Cystine | 0.34 g | 0.1 g | 0.06 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Phenylalanine | 0.957 g | 0.29 g | 0.18 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Tyrosine | 0.493 g | 0.15 g | 0.09 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Valine | 1.072 g | 0.32 g | 0.2 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Arginine | 1.925 g | 0.58 g | 0.36 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Histidine | 0.472 g | 0.14 g | 0.09 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Alanine | 0.925 g | 0.28 g | 0.17 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Aspartic acid | 2.046 g | 0.61 g | 0.38 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Glutamic acid | 4.039 g | 1.21 g | 0.76 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Glycine | 1.248 g | 0.37 g | 0.23 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Proline | 0.806 g | 0.24 g | 0.15 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Serine | 0.97 g | 0.29 g | 0.18 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Hydroxyproline | 0.175 g | 0.05 g | 0.03 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Cysteine | 0.553 g | 0.17 g | 0.1 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2262075 | C |
| Vitamin E, added | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Vitamin B-12, added | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| SFA 4:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| SFA 6:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| SFA 8:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| SFA 10:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| SFA 12:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| SFA 14:0 | 0.008 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| SFA 16:0 | 2.165 g | 0.65 g | 0.41 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| SFA 18:0 | 1.33 g | 0.4 g | 0.25 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| SFA 20:0 | 0.052 g | 0.02 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| MUFA 18:1 | 7.359 g | 2.21 g | 1.38 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| PUFA 18:2 | 5.903 g | 1.77 g | 1.11 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| PUFA 18:3 | 22.813 g | 6.84 g | 4.27 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| PUFA 20:4 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| PUFA 22:6 n-3 (DHA) | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| SFA 22:0 | 0.052 g | 0.02 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| MUFA 16:1 | 0.024 g | 0.01 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| PUFA 18:4 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| MUFA 20:1 | 0.067 g | 0.02 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| PUFA 20:5 n-3 (EPA) | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| MUFA 22:1 | 0.013 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| PUFA 22:5 n-3 (DPA) | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Stigmasterol | 11 mg | 3.3 mg | 2.06 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Campesterol | 45 mg | 13.5 mg | 8.43 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Beta-sitosterol | 90 mg | 27 mg | 16.85 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Fatty acids, total monounsaturated | 7.527 g | 2.26 g | 1.41 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Fatty acids, total polyunsaturated | 28.73 g | 8.62 g | 5.38 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| SFA 15:0 | 0.005 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| SFA 17:0 | 0.018 g | 0.01 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| SFA 24:0 | 0.031 g | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| MUFA 24:1 c | 0.064 g | 0.02 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| PUFA 20:2 n-6 c,c | 0.007 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| MUFA 18:1 c | 5.761 g | 1.73 g | 1.08 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2262075 | C |
| PUFA 18:2 n-6 c,c | 5.265 g | 1.58 g | 0.99 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2262075 | C |
| Daidzein | 20.16 mg | 6.05 mg | 3.78 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2262075 | C |
| Genistein | 0.013 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2262075 | C |
| PUFA 18:3 n-3 c,c,c (ALA) | 19.42 g | 5.83 g | 3.64 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2262075 | C |
| MUFA 20:1 c | 0.158 g | 0.05 g | 0.03 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2262075 | C |
| Daidzin | 30.18 mg | 9.05 mg | 5.65 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2262075 | C |
| Genistin | 1.947 mg | 0.58 mg | 0.36 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2262075 | C |
| Glycitin | 31.55 mg | 9.47 mg | 5.91 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2262075 | C |
| Lactose | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Lutein + zeaxanthin | 651 µg | 195.3 µg | 121.91 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Manganese | 2.482 mg | 0.74 mg | 0.46 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Niacin (B3, preformed) | 3.08 mg | 0.92 mg | 0.58 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Pantothenic acid (B5) | 0.985 mg | 0.3 mg | 0.18 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
| Retinol | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169414 | C |
Change the amount to rescale the first column. Nutrients a database doesn't list are missing, not zero.
Hazard rows as the dataset rates them
- Cadmium · Go easy: can push past the limit · A daily serving adds 62% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), short of doubling it, so no cap. · CFIA 2018 · A
- Cyanogenic glycosides · Context · Shown as context: whole flaxseed largely passes through undigested, and EFSA expects very little of its cyanide to be absorbed; Austria's food agency considers harm from whole, unground seed excluded. Neither has been measured in people. Ground flaxseed is rated separately. · EFSA 2019 · B
- Lead · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · All eight CFIA samples report 0 (not quantified), so only a lower bound exists; the detection limit for flax is not given. CFIA's general limit range is 0.0005-0.02 ppm: at the top of it, 30 g carries 0.6 µg, under 2% of the average adult's 35 µg/day, so no cap. · CFIA 2018 · A
Oxalate, phytate and gut-tolerance measurements
- fodmap fructan: 0.64 ± 0.22 (table header: 'Fructan and Galactooligosaccharides') g/100 g dry matter · g/100 g sample dry matter (as the table states); as-eaten basis not given · flax seeds, raw (ground to <500 um for the analysis) · grade A · Rados 2022
- histamine: none found not stated in the draft · not stated · not stated · grade C · Searches for measured FODMAP and histamine values in flaxseed: none…
- oxalate total: 9 per 100 g (compiled list); flaxseed meal 8 mg/100 g · as listed; method unstated · seeds, flax (linseed); and 'Flour, Flaxseed meal or ground Flaxseed' 8 · grade C · Oxalosis and Hyperoxaluria Foundation 2024
- phytate: 997 ± 141 (787-1,232) mg phytate/100 g dry matter (phytic acid basis: the paper uses 660.3 g/mol for its molar ratios) · dry matter · flaxseeds boiled 5 min as porridge, defatted for the phytate analysis, dried 60 C · grade A · Castro alba2019
- phytate: mean 103.94 across 8 varieties mg/100 g (wet base as the paper states) · as stated 'wet base' · whole-seed flour, Ethiopian linseed varieties · grade B · Deme 2017
- phytate: 770-920 (quoted literature range) mg/100 g · not stated · not stated · grade C · Duarte 2025
Sources
- Castro-Alba V, Lazarte CE, Bergenstahl B, Granfeldt Y. Phytate, iron, zinc, and calcium content of common Bolivian foods and their estimated mineral bioavailability. Food Sci Nutr 2019;7(9):2854-2865 · doi:10.1002/fsn3.1127 · PMID 31572579
castro-alba2019· full text read · CC BY (Wiley OA) - CFIA. Pesticides and Metals in Selected Foods, April 1, 2018 to March 31, 2019 (open.canada.ca dataset e4194282-102a-40ec-ac4c-0ce20e9a33cf, resource 35516ebc-f2f1-4e4b-9843-f57e8fa36ce6, product 'Seed - Flax', 8 samples)
cfia-2018-19-pesticides-metals· secondary source · Open Government Licence - Canada - Health Canada, Canadian Nutrient File 2026 (14th edition)
cnf-2026· dataset · Open Government Licence – Canada 2.0 - Deme T, Haki GD, Retta N, Woldegiorgis A, Geleta M. Mineral and anti-nutritional contents of niger seed (Guizotia abyssinica), linseed (Linum usitatissimum) and sesame (Sesamum indicum) varieties grown in Ethiopia. Foods 2017;6(4):27 · doi:10.3390/foods6040027
deme2017· full text read · licence not recorded - Duarte S, Shah MA, Sanches Silva A. Flaxseed in diet: a comprehensive look at pros and cons. Molecules 2025;30(6):1335 · doi:10.3390/molecules30061335 · PMID 40142110
duarte2025· full text read · CC BY (MDPI) - EFSA CONTAM Panel (2019). Evaluation of the health risks related to the presence of cyanogenic glycosides in foods other than raw apricot kernels. EFSA Journal 17(4):5662 · doi:10.2903/j.efsa.2019.5662
efsa-2019-cyanogenic-glycosides· full text read · EFSA Journal: CC BY-ND 4.0 (per EFSA policy; not checked on the page) - USDA FoodData Central, Foundation Foods, release 2026-04-30
fdc-foundation-2026-04-30· dataset · CC0 1.0 (public domain) - USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy, 2018-04
fdc-sr-legacy-2018-04· dataset · CC0 1.0 (public domain) - Searches for measured FODMAP and histamine values in flaxseed: none found
flaxseed-gut-search· secondary source · n/a - Oxalosis and Hyperoxaluria Foundation. Oxalate list (022724), 2024
ohf-oxalate-list-2024· full text read · copyright OHF - Rados K, Sukelj Mustac N, Varga K, Drakula S, Voucko B, Curic D, Novotni D. Development of high-fibre and low-FODMAP crackers. Foods 2022;11(17):2577 · doi:10.3390/foods11172577 · PMID 36076763
rados2022· full text read · CC BY (MDPI)
Body map 2026-10-25.1: each nutrient’s job comes from an agency fact sheet, linked beside it under Good for.
The plain words: “a lot” means one serving (100 g when the food has no serving size) gives at least 20% of the daily amount (the reference intake), “some” at least 10%, “a little” at least 2% (the cut-offs are ours, one set for every page: 20% and 10% are borrowed from the US labelling terms “high” and “good source” and applied to Health Canada’s daily amount, whereas Health Canada’s own shopper rule says 15%; provisional: they may change in a later method version). The daily amount is Health Canada’s Dietary Reference Intake for adults 19–30; where men and women need different amounts we use the higher one (protein: 56 g for men, 46 g for women). The percentage printed under each nutrient is the printed amount as a share of that daily amount, rounded to the nearest whole number, and the word is read from that percentage, so the amount, the percentage and the word always agree. Calcium with a measured absorption is scaled by how well it gets in compared with milk.
The scale: “Nothing to watch” means a serving a day stays under the limit at ordinary amounts; “Go easy” means a serving a day can push past the limit for adults who already take in the most, or fewer than 2 servings reach it; “Limit it” means once a week or less. The dataset’s own rating is under “How we got this”. Provisional: the scale may change in a later method version.
Measured absorption under Good for: grade-A studies in adults that tested this preparation of this food, as a share of the listed amount (the share digested, for protein), quoted once each source has passed our evidence check; animal studies and other variants stay in the table above. Provisional: this screen may change in a later method version.