FoodtopsyFrançais
A small glass bowl of stewed rhubarb

Rhubarb, stewed

Checked by us One serving: 140 g

Some potassium and calcium.

Nothing to watch for most people.

Had calcium-oxalate kidney stones? The usual advice: limit oxalate-rich foods; ask your care team how much suits you.

Good for

How we counted this

What one serving (140 g) gives you.

Your body needs enough of each of these. Past enough, more doesn’t help. Amounts are what the food databases list, not what your body absorbs, unless a row says it was measured.

The words: “A lot” means one serving gives 20% or more of Health Canada’s daily amount, “Some” 10% to 19%, “A little” 2% to 9%, “Almost none” under 2%. Strongest word first; within a word, protein and fibre lead, then the biggest share.

A milligram (mg) is a thousandth of a gram, and a microgram (µg) a thousandth of a milligram: 1,000 µg make 1 mg.

13 more nutrients at a little or less

Missing from our databases for this food, so left out, not counted as zero: vitamin A, vitamin K1, niacin, selenium, choline, omega-3: ALA and omega-3: EPA + DHA.

Watch out

How we counted this

Nothing here reaches a limit at ordinary amounts.

For some people

Worth knowing

No limit applies, so none is rated.

  • Sugar

    1.7 g of sugar in a 140 g serving, natural and added together.

    Learn more

    Shown, not rated. The food tables we read give total sugar, and few give added sugar, so the site can’t yet tell sugar added in making a food from the sugar in fruit or milk.

Better options

How we counted this

“Better” here always means better at something the row names: more of one nutrient, more nutrients per serving, or the goal you pick. It never means better in every way.

Every amount below is for the same weight, 140 g, the size of one serving of this food, so a swap compares like with like. A serving of another food can be bigger or smaller.

Compared with the other fruits we’ve checked.

A food is listed only if it gives clearly more: at least a fifth more than this food, and at least 10% of the daily amount more.

More of what it’s good for

For potassium: Raisins would lead, in the same 140 g, but is left out (portions too different to compare by weight).

For calcium: no other fruits we’ve checked give clearly more, in the same 140 g.

Not enough nutrient values for this food to compare it.

Your goal

Your goal changes only this list, not what the food gives you or what to watch.

Not enough nutrient values for this food to compare it.

Why some foods aren’t suggested

Left out: Raisins (portions too different to compare by weight).

Bring a tracker export or describe your usual week. The same rules check all of it.

The numbers

Open every value

Name in the database: Rhubarb, stems only, stewed without sugar

How the serving was set: Reference amount: nearest row. 140 g (Health Canada J.1, fruit), as for raw rhubarb.

Listed nutrients, per 100 g

For each nutrient, the value this page uses is marked “used”. A row marked “second database” is another database’s figure for a matching food, kept so you can see how far databases disagree (they can differ in the samples analysed, lab methods and rounding). Its own cells are worked out from it, but none of the page’s words or scores are.

NutrientPer servingHowSourceGrade
Calcium76 mg106.4 mglisted usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-389C
Fat0.6 g0.84 glisted usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-389C
Fibre1.3 g1.82 glisted usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-389C
Folate4 µg5.6 µglisted usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-389C
Iron0.2 mg0.28 mglisted usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-389C
Magnesium12 mg16.8 mglisted usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-389C
Phosphorus26 mg36.4 mglisted usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-389C
Potassium261 mg365.4 mglisted usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-389C
Protein1 g1.4 glisted usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-389C
Riboflavin (B2)0.02 mg0.03 mglisted usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-389C
Sodium1 mg1.4 mglisted usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-389C
Sugars1.2 g1.68 glisted usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-389C
Thiamin (B1)0.03 mg0.04 mglisted usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-389C
Vitamin B120 µg0 µglisted usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-389C
Vitamin B60.02 mg0.03 mglisted usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-389C
Vitamin C5 mg7 mglisted usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-389C
Vitamin D0 µg0 µglisted usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-389C
Vitamin E0.18 mg0.25 mglisted usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-389C
Water93.7 g131.18 glisted usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-389C
Zinc0.18 mg0.25 mglisted usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-389C
NutrientPer 100 gPer servingHowSourceGrade
Beta-carotene30 µg42 µglisted usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-389C
Copper0.04 mg0.06 mglisted usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-389C
Iodine1 µg1.4 µglisted usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-389C
Lactose0 g0 glisted usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-389C
Manganese0.18 mg0.25 mglisted usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-389C
Niacin (B3, preformed)0.2 mg0.28 mglisted usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-389C
Pantothenic acid (B5)0.08 mg0.11 mglisted usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-389C
Retinol0 µg0 µglisted usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-389C

Change the amount to rescale the first column. Nutrients a database doesn't list are missing, not zero.

Absorption studies

Studies of how much of a nutrient gets in; those done in animals are marked. This page quotes a figure only from a study that passes our screen: adults, graded A, of this food in this preparation, with a test dose on record and a source that has passed our evidence check. The exception is calcium on our calcium card: its figure comes from the card’s own study, checked with the card, and is marked “used” even where that study misses a step of this screen. The others are listed so nothing is hidden, each with the first check it fails.

No study of this food passes the screen yet, so no absorption figure is quoted.

StudyNutrientAbsorbedTest dosePeopleGradeOn this page
Weaver et al. 1997: rhubarb

45Ca endogenously (intrinsically) labelled; cultivar, origin, season not stated. A Purdue dissertation abstract from the same group says hydroponic · not stated for rhubarb; a review (Shkembi & Huppertz 2022) words the meal for the whole study as 'cooked and pureed vegetables', with two pieces of white bread toast with butter or margarine and coffee, after an overnight fast

secondary source

Calcium9.2 %120 mg–BNot used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study.
Weaver et al. 1997: rhubarb, absorption index vs milk (an index, not a fraction)

45Ca endogenously labelled; cultivar not stated · not stated · load not reported ('compared to milk at the same calcium level')

abstract only

Calcium–not reported–ANot used: it measures something other than the share absorbed.

Oxalate, phytate and gut-tolerance measurements

  • oxalate soluble: 80.7 (boiled stalks); insoluble 675.6 mg/100 g · fresh weight · boiled stalks · grade A · Salgado 2023
  • oxalate soluble: 238.0 (SE 2.3); 52.5% of total; insoluble 215.4 (SE 4.1): cooked with water 1:1, homogenised with liquid mg/100 g · fresh weight · as the previous row · grade A · Nguyen 2012
  • oxalate total: 260 (Victoria, forced, stewed) to 620 (Victoria, end of season, stewed); Crimson end of season, stewed 460 mg/100 g · fresh weight · stewed (compiled) · grade B · Noonan savage1999
  • oxalate total: 756.3 (boiled stalks) mg/100 g · fresh weight · boiled stalks; boiling time and water ratio not seen · grade A · Salgado 2023
  • oxalate total: 309 (standard deviation 7), boiled 15 min; steamed 15 min 505 (standard deviation 2) mg/100 g · wet weight · boiled stalks, 15 min · grade A · Shkembi 2022
  • oxalate total: 453.4 (SE 2.5): cooked with water 1:1 w/v, homogenised WITH the liquid mg/100 g · fresh weight · 2 cm pieces, 1:1 (w/v) with tap water, lidded, boiled then 5 more min, homogenised (liquid included) · grade A · Nguyen 2012

Sources

Body map 2026-10-25.1: each nutrient’s job comes from an agency fact sheet, linked beside it under Good for.

The plain words: “a lot” means one serving (100 g when the food has no serving size) gives at least 20% of the daily amount (the reference intake), “some” at least 10%, “a little” at least 2% (the cut-offs are ours, one set for every page: 20% and 10% are borrowed from the US labelling terms “high” and “good source” and applied to Health Canada’s daily amount, whereas Health Canada’s own shopper rule says 15%; provisional: they may change in a later method version). The daily amount is Health Canada’s Dietary Reference Intake for adults 19–30; where men and women need different amounts we use the higher one (protein: 56 g for men, 46 g for women). The percentage printed under each nutrient is the printed amount as a share of that daily amount, rounded to the nearest whole number, and the word is read from that percentage, so the amount, the percentage and the word always agree. Calcium with a measured absorption is scaled by how well it gets in compared with milk.

The scale: “Nothing to watch” means a serving a day stays under the limit at ordinary amounts; “Go easy” means a serving a day can push past the limit for adults who already take in the most, or fewer than 2 servings reach it; “Limit it” means once a week or less. The dataset’s own rating is under “How we got this”. Provisional: the scale may change in a later method version.

Measured absorption under Good for: grade-A studies in adults that tested this preparation of this food, as a share of the listed amount (the share digested, for protein), quoted once each source has passed our evidence check; animal studies and other variants stay in the table above. Provisional: this screen may change in a later method version.