
Fresh cheese, calcium-retaining process (study product)
Checked by us One serving: 100 g
Too little nutrient data to say what it’s good for.
Nothing to watch for most people.
Worth knowing for some people: Listeria.
Good for
How we counted this
What one serving (100 g) gives you.
Too few nutrient values to say. Missing nutrients are left out, not counted as zero.
Watch out
How we counted this
Nothing here reaches a limit at ordinary amounts.
For some people
Health Canada names "fresh cheese, like cottage cheese" among uncooked cheeses made from pasteurized milk that may be selected; whether the tested Danone product was pasteurized is not stated in the paper
Better options
How we counted this
“Better” here always means better at something the row names: more of one nutrient, more nutrients per serving, or the goal you pick. It never means better in every way.
Every amount below is for the same weight, 100 g, the size of one serving of this food, so a swap compares like with like. A serving of another food can be bigger or smaller.
Not enough nutrient values for this food to compare it.
Your goal
Your goal changes only this list, not what the food gives you or what to watch.
Not enough nutrient values for this food to compare it.
Not enough nutrient values for this food to compare it.
Bring a tracker export or describe your usual week. The same rules check all of it.
The numbers
Open every value
Name in the database: Fresh cheese, new Ca-retaining process (Danone, as tested)
How the serving was set: 100 g (Health Canada D.5, quark, fresh cheese and fresh dairy desserts)
Listed nutrients, per 100 g
For each nutrient, the value this page uses is marked “used”. A row marked “second database” is another database’s figure for a matching food, kept so you can see how far databases disagree (they can differ in the samples analysed, lab methods and rounding). Its own cells are worked out from it, but none of the page’s words or scores are.
| Nutrient | Per serving | How | Source | Grade |
|---|
Change the amount to rescale the first column. Nutrients a database doesn't list are missing, not zero.
Absorption studies
Studies of how much of a nutrient gets in; those done in animals are marked. This page quotes a figure only from a study that passes our screen: adults, graded A, of this food in this preparation, with a test dose on record and a source that has passed our evidence check. The exception is calcium on our calcium card: its figure comes from the card’s own study, checked with the card, and is marked “used” even where that study misses a step of this screen. The others are listed so nothing is hidden, each with the first check it fails.
No study of this food passes the screen yet, so no absorption figure is quoted.
| Study | Nutrient | Absorbed | Test dose | People | Grade | On this page |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Van Dokkum 1996: new Ca-rich fresh cheese, treatment B Ca-retaining process fresh cheese (Danone) · new fresh cheese processed by a technology that keeps the natural Ca of milk (1600 mg Ca/kg); no Ca or Fe added; not cooked full text read | Calcium | 37.7 % | 150 mg | 12 | A | Not used: it tested a different variety or form of the food. |
Hazard rows as the dataset rates them
- Listeria · Worth knowing · Health Canada names "fresh cheese, like cottage cheese" among uncooked cheeses made from pasteurized milk that may be selected; whether the tested Danone product was pasteurized is not stated in the paper · Health Canada, Safer food choices for people at greater risk of food… · A
- Milk allergy · Worth knowing · Milk is a Health Canada priority allergen; casein stays in cheese · Health Canada, priority allergens · A
Sources
- Health Canada, Common food allergens (priority allergens list)
hc-priority-allergens· page · Government of Canada terms (Crown copyright; not OGL) - Health Canada, Safer food choices for people at greater risk of food poisoning (page details 2026-09-29)
hc-safer-food-choices· page · Government of Canada terms (Crown copyright; not OGL) - Van Dokkum W, De La Gueronniere V, Schaafsma G, Bouley C, Luten J, Latge C. Bioavailability of calcium of fresh cheeses, enteral food and mineral water. A study with stable calcium isotopes in young adult women. Br J Nutr 1996;75:893-903 · doi:10.1079/bjn19960195 · PMID 8774234
pmid:8774234· full text read · Publisher copyright (journal article)
Body map 2026-10-25.1: each nutrient’s job comes from an agency fact sheet, linked beside it under Good for.
The plain words: “a lot” means one serving (100 g when the food has no serving size) gives at least 20% of the daily amount (the reference intake), “some” at least 10%, “a little” at least 2% (the cut-offs are ours, one set for every page: 20% and 10% are borrowed from the US labelling terms “high” and “good source” and applied to Health Canada’s daily amount, whereas Health Canada’s own shopper rule says 15%; provisional: they may change in a later method version). The daily amount is Health Canada’s Dietary Reference Intake for adults 19–30; where men and women need different amounts we use the higher one (protein: 56 g for men, 46 g for women). The percentage printed under each nutrient is the printed amount as a share of that daily amount, rounded to the nearest whole number, and the word is read from that percentage, so the amount, the percentage and the word always agree. Calcium with a measured absorption is scaled by how well it gets in compared with milk.
The scale: “Nothing to watch” means a serving a day stays under the limit at ordinary amounts; “Go easy” means a serving a day can push past the limit for adults who already take in the most, or fewer than 2 servings reach it; “Limit it” means once a week or less. The dataset’s own rating is under “How we got this”. Provisional: the scale may change in a later method version.
Measured absorption under Good for: grade-A studies in adults that tested this preparation of this food, as a share of the listed amount (the share digested, for protein), quoted once each source has passed our evidence check; animal studies and other variants stay in the table above. Provisional: this screen may change in a later method version.